We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of Chapman Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chapman Inn
Ranked #7 of 16 Bethel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here for an overnight stay and loved it. The inn is very homey and cozy. We loved our room and enjoy the breakfast in the morning. Our only complaint was that the pillow on my husband's side was very flat and needed to be replaced. The owners were vey nice and made you feel welcomed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leah Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2013

We have been staying at the Chapman Inn for about 6 years and have found it to be the best value around. It has incredible character, a wonderful sense of community and an unbeatable breakfast. Sandy and Fred are always helpful and friendly. The Inn has the same feel as the town of Bethel. Old New England, comfortable, full of history, and welcoming.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank riley-rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We chose this inn because of its close location to New Hampshire and the White Mountains. We were traveling from Maine and wanted a place to stay the night before heading out in the morning. We stayed in Room #3, which was a corner room facing the front and side of the inn. The room was very spacious and clean. The attached bathroom was not the best addition that I've seen in older historic homes. It was clean, but there was no window or fan, which could explain the mildew at the bottom of the shower curtain. There was an odd step up to the shower, which my husband tripped on a few times. The toilet was at the end of the narrow room, facing the wrong way so that when you used it, you felt cramped with not enough room for your legs. There was soap provided, but no other amenities. I was told later that if you needed a hair dryer, they would provide one, but it would have been nice to have been told that the night before. All in all, the room was adequate, but nothing to rave about. On the other hand, the breakfast was outstanding. Frank does make fabulous french toast. And the blueberry muffins were wonderful. The breakfast makes this inn a good choice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Never2MuchTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

The Chapman Inn is a beautiful, historical, typical Maine house--it feels old, but is very clean. Great hospitality by Fred & Sandra--they go out of your way to get you what you need. Delicious breakfast options, including for this gluten-free girl. My mom and I stayed in a private bedroom, but we also checked out the dorms, which would be a blast if I were going solo or with friends to go skiing or enjoy all the outdoor activities in the area.

Bethel is a cute, small town--has a nice variety of restaurants and gift shops, and is right in the middle of so many outdoor pursuits!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen0004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

My husband, my 10 year old grandson, and I visited the Chapman Inn last weekend. It was absolutely perfect. My grandson didn't know what a B and B was, and Fred made him feel comfortable and "at home." Our room and bath were very clean; the breakfast was delicious: homemade bread and muffins, special cheese omelets, Fred's French Toast. We will go back when we are in the area for sure. the Inn is also in a quiet location in Bethel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greengram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Fred and Sandra are down to earth and very glad to offer their hospitality. They made my family of three felt like home during our 2-day stay. First, the room was of the right size, the bed was comfortable, and cozy. Second, the breakfast. Oh the breakfast - Fred was not kidding when he said he offered world's best french toasts. The blueberry pancakes were fluffy and plentiful. The omelet my wife had was made with tasty eggs and cheese (from Vermont - as Fred emphasized). Third - the service. My daughter dropped a stuffed space monkey on the floor one morning before we left and we came back to find it comfortably tucked in the newly made bed. Thanks!
Everyone was happy at Chapman Inn. We talked to other friendly travelers spontaneously in the dining room. We also had great conversations with Fred about his past etc. We had a very nice stay and you will too.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bowser321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We arrived by bicycle from the Sebago area. Were greeted very kindly, given cups of tea and shown to our lovely room. Upgraded due to the room we booked being needed for another group! the place was quiet and clean and very friendly. Breakfast was superb. Fred very funny man. Didn't get to see the ghost though. Expensive compared to other lodgings.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank eggphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bethel hotels
0.1 mi away
The Bethel Inn Resort
0.2 mi away
Holidae House Bed & Breakfast
1.2 mi away
The Jolly Drayman at The Briar Lea Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Victoria Inn
The Victoria Inn
#9 of 16 in Bethel
256 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Inn at the Rostay
The Inn at the Rostay
#4 of 16 in Bethel
172 reviews
2.2 mi away
River View Resort
River View Resort
#13 of 16 in Bethel
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chapman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chapman Inn

Address: 2 Church St, Bethel, ME 04217-3806
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Bethel
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Bethel
Price Range: £76 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chapman Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightfully charming inn with unbeatable location, in the heart of the Historic District overlooking the town commons. The inn offers great rooms, a world famous full breakfast, and warm genuine hospitality, all at sane rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Chapman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chapman Inn Bethel, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing