We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs Updating”
Review of Chapman Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chapman Inn
Ranked #7 of 15 Bethel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2006

Old and in need of updating.

Little annoyances, but enough that I probably won't go back. Our room had two double beds, one squeaked so badly when you just sat on it and the mattress felt like it had seen better days. The other bed had two very large (and I'm sure quite nice) daddy long legs hanging out behind it. Light fixture and smoke alarm were very loosely attached to the ceiling, I kept thinking a good breeze and they would fall. Light blew out in the bathroom.

I guess I was expecting more of an updated inn. I paid more to stay here than I would have paid in one of the two Sunday River hotels.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank scorz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 187 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Hebron, ME
13
Reviewed 26 May 2006

My wife and I were given a wedding gift certificate for a stay at the Chapman Inn. We checked out the website and were anxious for our visit. When we arrived we inquired about the fitness room. Reluctantly, the hostess showed us the "gym". An absolute joke. Poor residential quality, run down, junk. Period. When we returned to the lobby/kitchen, we looked into the dining room. A large long haired cat was sitting in the middle of a dining table that was set with place settings. Our room was small, the bed was a double....not queen--oh well. But the floor was so uneven that the foot of the bed was higher than the head...and the head of the bed was shimmed with blocks. The bath was recently remodeled by an inexperienced rough "carpenter". Even the caulking used to hide all the errors was not applied smoothly...a complete joke. We decided to find another place after having dinner at a local restaurant...about 2 1/2 hours after checking in. The owners would not refund our certificate.

Stayed: July 2003
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Chicago, Ill
14
Reviewed 13 March 2005

We stayed here over President's week, and could not have been happier. In spite of being very busy, the owners, Fred & Sandra, took time with all of the guests, making sure that we felt comfortable and "at home". The room was comfortable, sparking clean, and even the housekeeper took pride in making the guests happy. As everyone has said, the breakfast was out of this world. So many choices, it made everyone happy, including the hard-to-please child. We took a sauna every night after skiing, and that really helped our sore muscles. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2005

What a find! Fred & Sandra were the most helpful and accommodating people we met on our entire trip. The inn was spotless, and the rooms were very comfortable. We had a very nice room and could not have been happier with the accommodation. The breakfast was killer! By far the best we found in New England. All kinds of juices, a beautiful fresh fruit display, homemade breads, muffins and pastries, and all kinds of omelettes, pancakes, french toast. The french toast was our favorite! Our kids loved it even without the syrup. They really do love kids here, too. When they say they are family friendly, they mean it. Could not recommend it more.

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank margie541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2004

What a wonderful B & B. My travel partner and I had an exceptional bedroom with 3 beds in the front of the house overlooking the street and the parking lot (great to watch the car!) Breakfast was excellent. Everything was perfect. I recommend the made to order 3 egg omelet with fresh mushrooms. Tasty, tasty, tasty, along with the homefried potatos. We had the most wonderful old New England experience staying there and highly recommend it. Sandra and her husband were just down right knee-slapping friendly. thanks again.

1  Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2004

Be sure you're comfortable with staying inside people's house.

They were really nice and made us feel at home. They let us use anything we asked for.
The room was quite old and made us feel like we were in some kind of time machine.

we didn't really understand at first that we're going to be staying in a room inside a big house. Their kids woke us up in the morning, when we wanted to sleep, and we could basically hear everything going on outside as if it was in the room.

The breakfast was good though.

  • Stayed: September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank isthisit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ElenaMatteo2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethel
20.0 mi away
Mt Madison Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
The Bethel Inn Resort
0.2 mi away
Holidae House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Inn at the Rostay
The Inn at the Rostay
#4 of 15 in Bethel
172 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Jolly Drayman at The Briar Lea Inn
0.1 mi away
The Victoria Inn
The Victoria Inn
#9 of 15 in Bethel
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chapman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chapman Inn

Address: 2 Church St, Bethel, ME 04217-3806
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Bethel
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Bethel
Price Range: £79 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chapman Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightfully charming inn with unbeatable location, in the heart of the Historic District overlooking the town commons. The inn offers great rooms, a world famous full breakfast, and warm genuine hospitality, all at sane rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Chapman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chapman Inn Bethel, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing