We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, Clean and very comfy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Inn at the Rostay
Ranked #4 of 15 Bethel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Waterbury CT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cozy, Clean and very comfy”
Reviewed 2 October 2007

This is my third time staying at the Rostay in 2 years. I would never stay anywhere else in Maine. The rooms are all very clean and nicely decorated. Kathy and Al, the owners are very friendly and helpful with anything we needed from directions to eating,shopping and where to find moose. The breakfasts are the best around and Al makes a great waiter/cook. The pool and hot tub were always very clean and enjoyable. Everytime we stayed we asked for a different room because they are all decorated with a different theme. We will be back...for sure!!!!!

  • Liked — Hand made quilts in all the rooms
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Skipingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    40
    14
    5
    11
See reviews for
46
57
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
laconia, nh
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2007

This was my 5th year staying at The Inn at Rostay. I have traveled with a group of friends, and every time I call to make my reservations, Kathy remembers who I am. Upon arrival you are greeted pleasantly and with a smile. The rooms are always pleasant, clean and well decorated. Kathy and Al make a special point to make us feel at home and even bring us extra firewood for the fire pit where we spend nights hanging out. That is after sitting in the hot tub for a while. The breakfast is great and you will not leave the table hungry. YUMMY pancakes! If you are in Bethel and you want to stay at a friendly place at a reasonable price stay at The Inn at Rostay.

  • Liked — the frienliness of the owners
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank policeroadking42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed 1 October 2007

We are first time customers, however my brother and friends have been going to the Inn for 5-6 years now. They had told us the owners were wonderful and the Inn is great. That is what we found when we got there. Al and Kathy the owners were polite, kind and very helpful. The breakfast they cooked for us each morning at a very reasonable price was delicious! The rooms and grounds were clean. The owners even provided wood enough for us to use the fire pit the two nights we were there. It was a very relaxing enjoyable weekend with family and friends and we can't wait to do it again next year!

  • Liked — The freindly service
  • Disliked — There is nothing not to like!
  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Hondamama2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meredith, NH
1 review
Reviewed 1 October 2007

Every year for the past 5 or 6 years, my husband and I have gone on our fall motorcycle trip and stayed at the Rostay! Wouldn't stay anywhere else!!! This trip has become a favorite of many... we can always count on 10 to 14 others joining us! This is mainly due to the amazing accomodations and atmosphere offered by the Inn at Rostay!!! This quaint country Inn/Motel has clean, comfortable and nicely decorated rooms. It's a homey feel. We love the Intel Rooms up front. A favorite of our group is the firepit area! Very relaxing when you just want to hang out, grab some snacks at the store across the street and set it up on the table under the awning! Not to mention the hot tub after a long chilly ride! AND, last, but certainly not least, we can't say enough about Kathy and Al! They are such kind, fun & accomodating people. Kathy has even offered to provide our group with a home-cooked dinner if we give her enough notice to plan and prepare. We haven't taken her up on it yet as we feel she has enough to do... BUT... if her dinners are anywhere as yummy as the breakfasts offered, we may just plan it for next year!!!

  • Liked — Everything! Just an overall enjoyable experience every time!!!
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ellainmeredith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tilton
1 review
Reviewed 1 October 2007

This was our second stay at Rostay, and it just keeps getting better! The owners make you feel like it's your own home away from home. Kathy and Al are so warm, friendly and accommodating. The rooms are clean and decorated tastfully with a cozy, country charm. They even have a firepit nestled at the woods edge to enjoy. But we looked forward to the delicious breakfast they served each morning....what a way to start the day.

Thank you to Kathy and Al, we cant wait to come back next year!!! Scott & Lori

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
Thank lanswd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord
1 review
Reviewed 29 September 2007

I have been staying at the inn every year for the past 5 years. I have always found the rooms to be comfortable, clean and well furnished. The service is excellent and I feel like I have been treated like a family member by the owners and staff. This is my favorite hotel and I look forward to my trip there every year! I highly recommend the inn to all!

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
Thank ConcordRoadking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NH
1 review
Reviewed 29 September 2007

This 2007 Sept. trip was a first for us at the Rostay, however are friends have stayed for the last 5 / 6 years, All of the wonderful atmosphere / service stories our friends shared prior to the stay proved to be positively true. the rooms where a pleasant surprise, Kathy is very kind and friendly to talk with, Al behind the scene makes a great morning breakfast
then there is Ruger (their dog) a playful fun to be around always at the ready to chase a ball and bring it back golden retriever.

The bottom line::::: I can't wait to go back next year!!

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
Thank gorillaNh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bethel hotels
1.4 mi away
The Bethel Inn Resort
0.2 mi away
The Jolly Drayman at The Briar Lea Inn
1.2 mi away
Holidae House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Victoria Inn
The Victoria Inn
#7 of 15 in Bethel
247 reviews
0.8 mi away
Norseman Inn
Norseman Inn
#10 of 15 in Bethel
49 reviews
0.8 mi away
River View Resort
River View Resort
#14 of 15 in Bethel
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at the Rostay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at the Rostay

Property: The Inn at the Rostay
Address: 186 Mayville Rd, Bethel, ME 04217-4443
Region: United States > Maine > Bethel
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Bethel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at the Rostay 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at the Rostay in Bethel, Maine is the affordable place to stay when visiting Sunday River Ski and Golf Resort. We are conveniently located just minutes from the ski area and beautiful Bethel Village, as well as an abundance of hiking and various outdoor activities. Each of our rooms has been carefully furnished and decorated for your enjoyment and comfort. The Inn at the Rostay is great for groups, families, businesses and all vacationers. We have clean, quiet rooms with cable TV, VCR, free movie library, free WiFi, complimentary coffee, microwaves and refrigerators, along with a picnic area, fire pit, and free shuttle during the winter on our grounds. The Inn at the Rostay does not charge any extra resort fees. Enjoy our delicious, hot breakfast before you start your day's activities. Come visit the Rostay, where you can kick back in a place that says 'Welcome Home'! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Inn at the Rostay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At The Rostay Bethel, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing