We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Inn at the Rostay
Ranked #4 of 15 Bethel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2012 via mobile

Lovely place. The appartment at the second floor is great for family with kids. It was fun to watch video movies again, and they have a great movies selection. The best breakfast ever had in hotel in the US. Don't miss the quilt shop!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hatul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rostayowner, Owners at The Inn at the Rostay, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2012

It's our pleasure to help you get your day off to a good start with a hearty breakfast! Kathy and I are delighted to hear how much fun you and your family had spending quality time together. Thank you for the kind words. We hope to welcome you back next year!

Best,
Alan & Kathy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2012

Wife and I stopped in without reservations, had one room left. We checked in, turns out owners have a home in same community as ours in Florida. Great home made breakfast in morning, and very good acommodations on such short notice. Al recommended a great place for dinner right down the street. Very enjoyable stay, wish we could have stayed longer.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Villagesre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rostayowner, Owners at The Inn at the Rostay, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2012

We're so glad you found us! It was our pleasure to offer you a relaxing refuge here in Bethel. Thank you for the kind words. We hope to welcome you back next time you're in our neck of the woods! See you in your neck of the woods soon!

Best,
Alan & Kathy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

This is a wonderful hotel! The people that own it are incredibly friendly, and were great hosts! They offer free breakfast with your stay and it is not just the old run of the mill continental breakfast. It is home made bread, jam wonderful pancakes, eggs bacon etc all served to you at a table in lovely resaurant surrounded by wood with a cottage like atmosphere. The rooms are very clean and with a comfortable bed. There is also a nice area to have fires and enjoy a evening by the woods.

I went to that area looking to see a moose and the kind man who owned the Inn directed us to them for a more personal experience (then taking the moose tours). Well that night we seen 2!! So thank you so much fo your advice!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rostayowner, Owners at The Inn at the Rostay, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2012

Noelle,

Those moose can be a little skittish, so we've always thought it was best to see them in a quieter, smaller crowd. Kathy and I are so glad you were able to see them up close! Searching for these majestic creatures can certainly work up and appetite in the morning, and it's our pleasure to help you fuel up for the rest of the day's activities. Thanks for staying with us, and for the kind words. We'd love to welcome you back again soon!

Regards,
Alan & Kathy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Recently, I returned to the The Inn at the Rostay for a second visit and absolutely love this place.It is in the perfect location, close to Sunday River and to many other scenic areas in Maine. The Inn is cozy, comfortable and clean. It isn't a generic motel/hotel. It has charm and has a "home away from home" feel. Once you step foot on the property, you can't help but relax and enjoy your stay. The Inn is surrounded by beautiful trees and across the street there are picturesque fields. You can catch glimpses of the mountains too! Great hospitality-Kathy and Al are wonderful Inn Keepers; they are friendly and accomodating. Al makes an amazing breakfast-don't miss it! I am drooling just thinking about it! And, check out Kathy's beautiful quilts in the quilt store! I highly recommend The Inn at the Rostay-a special, unique find that is tough to find these days.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rostayowner, Owners at The Inn at the Rostay, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2012

Amy,

It is wonderful to hear such kind words. I'm thrilled that you've enjoyed my breakfasts, and my wife's quilts really do brighten everything up. It's our pleasure to be your home-away-from-home here in Maine. Thank you for the lovely review. We look forward to seeing you again!

Regards,
Alan & Kathy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

The Inn at the Rostay was a great find. Kathy and Al are the perfect innkeepers. We were made to feel welcome and our room was comfortable and spotless. Kathy's quilts added a nice homey feel. Breakfast was delicious, complete with a gluten-free option. The Inn at the Rostay is our number one choice for a place to stay in the Bethel area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grafton208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rostayowner, Owners at The Inn at the Rostay, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2012

We're proud to be your home-away-from-home here in Bethel! It's lovely to hear how comfortable you were. Kathy and I are thrilled that you loved her quilts, and of course, our yummy breakfasts! Thanks for the kind words. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Regards,
Alan & Kathy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Another motel owner suggested the Inn at the Rostay to us during a recent drive through Maine & we're glad she did! Kathy was a wonderful host, making suggestions for dinner & telling us all about the quilt displays. If we had more time, I would have definitely checked out the quilt shop ... guess we'll have to make a return trip! :)
The motel room was clean & comfortable, the property well maintained & their rates were better than others in the same area. Breakfast was delicious ... all in all this place was a great find.
We ate at Rooster's Roadhouse ... extensive menu, great service & reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peggi0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rostayowner, Owners at The Inn at the Rostay, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

We're glad you took her advice, too! I'm thrilled that Alan and I cold make you feel so welcome here in Bethel. There's something for everyone around here. It sounds like you we'll be seeing you again soon! We'd be happy to welcome you back any time. Thank you for the wonderful review.

Best,
Kathy & Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

My sons and I stayed here for two nights to compete in Sunday River's Tough Mountain Challenge. I booked the Rostay Inn after seeing how outrageous the rates were at Sunday River and am so glad I did. The Inn is only a few minutes (4.5 miles) from Sunday River anyway. Kathy & Al are the most gracious of hosts. We were given a special military deal that was most appreciated. The rooms were very comfortable and clean. The outdoor pool was immaculate and freshing especially after the rigorous race! The breakfast was yummy and the boys enjoyed Al's chocolate chip pancakes. The town of Bethel was lovely and Kathy offered some great tips of things to do in the area. We're looking at coming again next year for the race and wouldn't stay any where else. the artes are very resonable and the property is well maintaines, best of all are the hosts. That's what made for a really outstanding stay!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tbird1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rostayowner, Owners at The Inn at the Rostay, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Wow! What a fantastic review! It's so nice to see that you all were pleasantly surprised. Kathy and I are thrilled that we could make you and your boys feel so welcome here in Bethel. Thank you again for the kind words. We look forwarding to seeing you next summer!

Regards,
Alan & Kathy, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethel
19.7 mi away
Mt Madison Inn & Suites
1.4 mi away
The Bethel Inn Resort
0.2 mi away
The Jolly Drayman at The Briar Lea Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holidae House Bed & Breakfast
1.3 mi away
The Victoria Inn
The Victoria Inn
#9 of 15 in Bethel
254 reviews
1.4 mi away
Chapman Inn
Chapman Inn
#7 of 15 in Bethel
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at the Rostay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at the Rostay

Address: 186 Mayville Rd, Bethel, ME 04217-4443
Region: United States > Maine > Bethel
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Bethel
Price Range: £81 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at the Rostay 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at the Rostay in Bethel, Maine is the affordable place to stay when visiting Sunday River Ski and Golf Resort. We are conveniently located just minutes from the ski area and beautiful Bethel Village, as well as an abundance of hiking and various outdoor activities. Each of our rooms has been carefully furnished and decorated for your enjoyment and comfort. The Inn at the Rostay is great for groups, families, businesses and all vacationers. We have clean, quiet rooms with cable TV, VCR, free movie library, free WiFi, complimentary coffee, microwaves and refrigerators, along with a picnic area, fire pit, and free shuttle during the winter on our grounds. The Inn at the Rostay does not charge any extra resort fees. Enjoy our delicious, hot breakfast before you start your day's activities. Come visit the Rostay, where you can kick back in a place that says 'Welcome Home'! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Inn at the Rostay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At The Rostay Bethel, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing