We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic Budget accommodations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Inn at the Rostay
Ranked #3 of 15 Bethel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Marblehead, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Basic Budget accommodations”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Our room was a low-end budget motel room: cheap threadbare towels, tiny unusable desk, sparce bathroom (no cabinets, small sink, and cheap materials), and paper-thin walls (we could hear conversations next door clearly. thank goodness they went to bed early). But it was clean, the desk manager was very pleasant and the location is convenient to Sunday River. We wouldn't return even if there was nothing else in town mostly because the prices are high (given the level of accommodation) and there are many other nicer places in town like the millhillinn and holidea house, which are similarly or close in price and much nicer accommodations. Finally, I can't speak for the breakfast, but its an extra $9 per person.

Room Tip: I am told the Inn also has rooms in the Inn (we stayed in the motel rooms, which I can't recomme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OpusBVD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    40
    14
    5
    11
See reviews for
46
57
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hampton, New Hampshire, United States
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Spent 2 days for a family of 3. Accomadations were clean and comfortable; but nothing great for the price. Inn keepers were nice. Could hear people walking outside the our door on the wooden deck early in the morning. A little loud. Towels were rough. Breakfast was 2 of 5 stars for me. Kind of gross. Tried the eggs on the 1st day, and blueberry pancakes on the 2nd.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

My family of 5 stayed here in February 2014. The owners are very welcoming and accommodating. The room was large enough for us to fit comfortably even with an extra cot in the room. The walls were pretty thin so I could see how noise might be an issue, however, we were there in the winter and the other guests seemed to go to bed early and rise early as we did, so while we could hear the other guest during the early evening and morning the noise did not negatively impact our stay. We loved the hot tub which was a great treat after a day of skiing. The only thing our stay lacked was a coffee maker in the room. I was able to get coffee in the office but I would have preferred to have a coffee maker in the room. Overall, this is a great, affordable place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashlea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

The positives: great location- close to Sunday River and Bethel activities. Hot tub was fun and nice in the snow. Breakfast was good.
The negatives: rooms are pretty gross. Although, we stayed in the 2 bedroom efficiency, so I did not see the regular rooms.
Service was average at best

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank jarvis.lambert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We spent 5 days in the 2 bedroom apartment at the Rostay Inn, and it was fantastic. The Inn has a wonderful feeling of Maine and was super convenient to Sunday River. It is clean, well maintained, has a well equipped kitchen, and was extremely comfortable.

The Innkeepers Kathy and Alan are two of the nicest people you will ever meet. Each morning they have a hearty homemade breakfast waiting for guests including a variety of dishes for different tastes. Our son loved the blueberry and chocolate chip pancakes! Kathy has a wealth of great advice about local restaurants and attractions.

We felt the Rostay Inn was a good value and a lot of fun. It was exactly what we were looking for in terms of a nice relaxing place to rest up from long days on the ski slopes. We highly recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARoadWarrior2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Bank, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 31 December 2013

The innkeepers were welcoming, friendly and informative from second we checked in. Parking lot was well salted after ice storm. Free wi-fi was strong. Room was clean, basic but with a rustic touch that made it cozy, excellent bunk beds for our older kids and a really great area to hang clothes (especially wet stuff after skiing). Hot water and water pressure was great. Room has no hair dryer so we had to ask, but innkeepers happily loaned us one. We even borrowed a VHS movie to watch with our kids after a long day of skiing (cable TV is fine here, but there was nothing good on)
Breakfast was cooked to order and wonderful. Ski shuttle to Sunday River was convenient, painless, free and friendly.
The best barbecue in Maine is walking distance from Rostay - the little trailer - just ask the innkeepers. Also, the Red Rooster was good, as was every place we tried in Bethel. Just a nice little town with decent service and food.
You cannot go wrong with this place whether you are skiing Sunday River or doing something else in Bethel. We would return here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkiFam171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plattsburgh, New York, Usa
1 review
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Very Clean and homey.....beautiful setting with such a great location for us as mineral collectors....breakfast was great every day ! Loved the woods setting and being able to walk to the fireplace (which is well stocked with wood) and on some mowed paths in the woods....price was very reasonable and the best supply of hot water around !!

Room Tip: Hmm...maybe a hairdryer, some shampoo and body wash for the shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethel
18.0 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Resort
19.7 mi away
Mt Madison Inn & Suites
1.4 mi away
The Bethel Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holidae House Bed & Breakfast
0.2 mi away
The Jolly Drayman at The Briar Lea Inn
0.8 mi away
Norseman Inn
Norseman Inn
#10 of 15 in Bethel
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at the Rostay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at the Rostay

Property: The Inn at the Rostay
Address: 186 Mayville Rd, Bethel, ME 04217-4443
Region: United States > Maine > Bethel
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Bethel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at the Rostay 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at the Rostay in Bethel, Maine is the affordable place to stay when visiting Sunday River Ski and Golf Resort. We are conveniently located just minutes from the ski area and beautiful Bethel Village, The #1 rated Ski Town in East by SKI Magazine.Each of our rooms has been carefully furnished and decorated for your enjoyment and comfort. The Inn at the Rostay is great for groups, families, businesses and all vacationers. We have clean, quiet rooms with cable TV, VCR, free video library, free WIFI, complimentary coffee, microwaves and refrigerators, along with a picnic area, fire pit, and free shuttle during the winter on our grounds. The Inn at the Rostay does not charge any extra resort fees. Enjoy our delicious, hot breakfast before you start your day's activities.Located on the ITS snowmobile trail ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Inn at the Rostay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At The Rostay Bethel, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing