We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quiet place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Inn at the Rostay
Ranked #4 of 15 Bethel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

While on vacation we came across the inn at the rostay. The rates were resonable..room was clean...it was a nice queit place to stay. Was close to local attractions but not right in town. The staff was very friendly And very helpful when looking for a good place to eat.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessbrown523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
There are newer reviews for The Inn at the Rostay
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2014

I stayed at the Inn at the Rostay and was very pleasantly surprised. Overall the room was very well kept and very clean. You can tell they recently renovated the room. The location was very convenient and the staff was extremely hospitable:) In addition the complementary morning breakfast was very good- hot pancakes with bacon.

Room Tip: Ask for the bunk bed with the queen size bed.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Our room was a low-end budget motel room: cheap threadbare towels, tiny unusable desk, sparce bathroom (no cabinets, small sink, and cheap materials), and paper-thin walls (we could hear conversations next door clearly. thank goodness they went to bed early). But it was clean, the desk manager was very pleasant and the location is convenient to Sunday River. We wouldn't return even if there was nothing else in town mostly because the prices are high (given the level of accommodation) and there are many other nicer places in town like the millhillinn and holidea house, which are similarly or close in price and much nicer accommodations. Finally, I can't speak for the breakfast, but its an extra $9 per person.

Room Tip: I am told the Inn also has rooms in the Inn (we stayed in the motel rooms, which I can't recomme...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OpusBVD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Spent 2 days for a family of 3. Accomadations were clean and comfortable; but nothing great for the price. Inn keepers were nice. Could hear people walking outside the our door on the wooden deck early in the morning. A little loud. Towels were rough. Breakfast was 2 of 5 stars for me. Kind of gross. Tried the eggs on the 1st day, and blueberry pancakes on the 2nd.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

My family of 5 stayed here in February 2014. The owners are very welcoming and accommodating. The room was large enough for us to fit comfortably even with an extra cot in the room. The walls were pretty thin so I could see how noise might be an issue, however, we were there in the winter and the other guests seemed to go to bed early and rise early as we did, so while we could hear the other guest during the early evening and morning the noise did not negatively impact our stay. We loved the hot tub which was a great treat after a day of skiing. The only thing our stay lacked was a coffee maker in the room. I was able to get coffee in the office but I would have preferred to have a coffee maker in the room. Overall, this is a great, affordable place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashlea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

The positives: great location- close to Sunday River and Bethel activities. Hot tub was fun and nice in the snow. Breakfast was good.
The negatives: rooms are pretty gross. Although, we stayed in the 2 bedroom efficiency, so I did not see the regular rooms.
Service was average at best

Stayed: February 2014
Thank jarvis.lambert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We spent 5 days in the 2 bedroom apartment at the Rostay Inn, and it was fantastic. The Inn has a wonderful feeling of Maine and was super convenient to Sunday River. It is clean, well maintained, has a well equipped kitchen, and was extremely comfortable.

The Innkeepers Kathy and Alan are two of the nicest people you will ever meet. Each morning they have a hearty homemade breakfast waiting for guests including a variety of dishes for different tastes. Our son loved the blueberry and chocolate chip pancakes! Kathy has a wealth of great advice about local restaurants and attractions.

We felt the Rostay Inn was a good value and a lot of fun. It was exactly what we were looking for in terms of a nice relaxing place to rest up from long days on the ski slopes. We highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ARoadWarrior2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethel
19.0 mi away
Royalty Inn
Royalty Inn
#3 of 7 in Gorham
521 reviews
19.7 mi away
Mt Madison Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
The Jolly Drayman at The Briar Lea Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Bethel Inn Resort
1.2 mi away
Holidae House Bed & Breakfast
1.3 mi away
The Victoria Inn
The Victoria Inn
#8 of 15 in Bethel
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at the Rostay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at the Rostay

Address: 186 Mayville Rd, Bethel, ME 04217-4443
Region: United States > Maine > Bethel
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Bethel
Price Range: £83 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at the Rostay 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at the Rostay in Bethel, Maine is the affordable place to stay when visiting Sunday River Ski and Golf Resort. We are conveniently located just minutes from the ski area and beautiful Bethel Village, as well as an abundance of hiking and various outdoor activities. Each of our rooms has been carefully furnished and decorated for your enjoyment and comfort. The Inn at the Rostay is great for groups, families, businesses and all vacationers. We have clean, quiet rooms with cable TV, VCR, free movie library, free WiFi, complimentary coffee, microwaves and refrigerators, along with a picnic area, fire pit, and free shuttle during the winter on our grounds. The Inn at the Rostay does not charge any extra resort fees. Enjoy our delicious, hot breakfast before you start your day's activities. Come visit the Rostay, where you can kick back in a place that says 'Welcome Home'! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Inn at the Rostay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At The Rostay Bethel, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing