We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What A Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Inn at the Rostay
Ranked #4 of 15 Bethel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The Inn was stunning. Very clean rooms, great location to surrounding amenities, pool and hot tub. The workers were exceptional, especially the owner who helped me directly with tools needed to blow up a tube. With an owner like this I now understand why the Rostay is the way it is. Thanks again for a wonderful first trip to Bethel and Sunday River. We will be back very soon.

Thanks,

The Wilson's

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zachary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

We were getting close to the end of our travel day and after a quick search on the smart phone for hotels in Bethel, the Inn at the Rostay popped up with good reviews. We decided to take a chance and called them to reserve a room - Kathy was most pleasant over the phone and assured us she would hold the room.

While the Inn at the Rostay is an older motel, it was very, very clean and comfortable! We enjoyed the quiet atmosphere, too, as well as the recommendation for dinner at a restaurant just a few minutes walk away.

If I knew my friends were travelling in this area, I would recommend staying at the Inn at the Rostay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SandyNewf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We blocked all the rooms at The Rostay Inn for my daughter's guests for her wedding. She wanted her guest to have a laid back stress-free atmosphere within walking distance of her reception hall. When we were deciding where to go for the rehearsal dinner, I checked on prices at area restaurants but was pleasantly surprised when Kathy, the owner, suggested we use the picnic area which is part of the inn thereby keeping that laid back atmosphere intact. she and her employees went above and beyond to accommodate our every need. Every guest in our wedding list was extremely happy and many of them were as far away as California, Colorado, Nevada,therefore they were shown what Mainers were capable of. The rooms were clean and had the rustic feel of comfort at a very reasonable price. Thank You Kathy, for making my daughter's special day such a pleasant memory. Your Inn is truly a hidden treasure in Bethel that should be discovered by all.

Room Tip: rooms on the left side of the site are specialized for people with gait impairments. rooms on the ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rostayowner, Owner at The Inn at the Rostay, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for the kind review! I think we had just as good a time as your family did! The new wedding Barn is a great asset to our business and I want to be a great asset to theirs too! We now have the lit walkway from The Wedding Barn to our property so guests won't have to walk on the street going back and forth from The Barn! Hosting your family (who were all delightful!) gave us many new ideas for wedding guests etc. We look forward to the day when all those guests want to come back for a family reunion!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

While on vacation we came across the inn at the rostay. The rates were resonable..room was clean...it was a nice queit place to stay. Was close to local attractions but not right in town. The staff was very friendly And very helpful when looking for a good place to eat.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessbrown523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I stayed at the Inn at the Rostay and was very pleasantly surprised. Overall the room was very well kept and very clean. You can tell they recently renovated the room. The location was very convenient and the staff was extremely hospitable:) In addition the complementary morning breakfast was very good- hot pancakes with bacon.

Room Tip: Ask for the bunk bed with the queen size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Our room was a low-end budget motel room: cheap threadbare towels, tiny unusable desk, sparce bathroom (no cabinets, small sink, and cheap materials), and paper-thin walls (we could hear conversations next door clearly. thank goodness they went to bed early). But it was clean, the desk manager was very pleasant and the location is convenient to Sunday River. We wouldn't return even if there was nothing else in town mostly because the prices are high (given the level of accommodation) and there are many other nicer places in town like the millhillinn and holidea house, which are similarly or close in price and much nicer accommodations. Finally, I can't speak for the breakfast, but its an extra $9 per person.

Room Tip: I am told the Inn also has rooms in the Inn (we stayed in the motel rooms, which I can't recomme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OpusBVD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Spent 2 days for a family of 3. Accomadations were clean and comfortable; but nothing great for the price. Inn keepers were nice. Could hear people walking outside the our door on the wooden deck early in the morning. A little loud. Towels were rough. Breakfast was 2 of 5 stars for me. Kind of gross. Tried the eggs on the 1st day, and blueberry pancakes on the 2nd.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethel
19.7 mi away
Mt Madison Inn & Suites
1.4 mi away
The Bethel Inn Resort
0.2 mi away
The Jolly Drayman at The Briar Lea Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holidae House Bed & Breakfast
1.3 mi away
The Victoria Inn
The Victoria Inn
#9 of 15 in Bethel
254 reviews
1.4 mi away
Chapman Inn
Chapman Inn
#7 of 15 in Bethel
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at the Rostay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at the Rostay

Address: 186 Mayville Rd, Bethel, ME 04217-4443
Region: United States > Maine > Bethel
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Bethel
Price Range: £81 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at the Rostay 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at the Rostay in Bethel, Maine is the affordable place to stay when visiting Sunday River Ski and Golf Resort. We are conveniently located just minutes from the ski area and beautiful Bethel Village, as well as an abundance of hiking and various outdoor activities. Each of our rooms has been carefully furnished and decorated for your enjoyment and comfort. The Inn at the Rostay is great for groups, families, businesses and all vacationers. We have clean, quiet rooms with cable TV, VCR, free movie library, free WiFi, complimentary coffee, microwaves and refrigerators, along with a picnic area, fire pit, and free shuttle during the winter on our grounds. The Inn at the Rostay does not charge any extra resort fees. Enjoy our delicious, hot breakfast before you start your day's activities. Come visit the Rostay, where you can kick back in a place that says 'Welcome Home'! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Inn at the Rostay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At The Rostay Bethel, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing