We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pet friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Inn at the Rostay
Ranked #3 of 15 Bethel B&B and Inns
Gananoque, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pet friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Thank goodness someone in the area is pet friendly. After being turned down by 3 other places we were very glad that the Inn has some pet friendly rooms. My little dog appreciated the big yard at the back and I was glad that someone recognized that pets can be good guests.

Room Tip: If you are travelling with a pet as a companion call ahead, these rooms are hard to come by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1999Chester123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    40
    13
    4
    11
See reviews for
45
53
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newmarket, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for weekend in a motel unit. The room was dark and smelled musty. The bathroom sink and toilet are tiny and old fashioned. It just seems worn out. And no hair dryer? ?? That's just cheap. Every unit had exactly one chair outside of the door. We did not take advantage of the $9 breakfast but I overheard other guests say it was good. I could go on. I am sure it's a lot of work to run a motel but seems like little things make a big difference.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank jblb4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rostayowner, Owner at The Inn at the Rostay, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
We are sorry you were not as impressed as most of our other guests have been. We pride ourselves in not being a "cookie cutter" motel, owned by a non existent corporation. Our bathroom sinks and toilets are standard size, sold at Home Depot or Lowes. If you needed a hair dryer all you needed to do was to come in and ask for one at the desk. We have plenty, but do not keep them in the rooms anymore due to theft. Yes, we have 1 chair in front of each room, but that doesn't mean you can't bring another one over to your room if you both want to sit there. Many of our guests do just that. We also have chairs at the pool, hot tub, and at the picnic pavilion. When you stay at an independently owned motel you can expect more personal treatment than at a chain hotel. You may not get as fancy a room, but trust me we do have all of the same amenities at a lower cost. Our rooms are always clean and kept up to date with frequent renovations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenland, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
205 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Pet Friendly, breakfast offered. This is a cute little motel on the main road between Bethel and Sunday River. The room was spotless, if small by modern standards, very quiet and the staff is very friendly. There is a quilting shop in the same building as the motel office, and a mini-mart/gas station across the road is very handy if you are just passing through on a trek in these scenic woodlands.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

I rode up with my cousins husband for 3 days to ride around the area on our HD sportsters. We didn't make plans on exactly wear to stay just the area so we rode up and started looming for a place to stay when we got in the are. We found the Inn at Rostay a and decided to stay here because we like to stay at motels we can keep our bikes outside the room. The staff was very friendly, the rooms were adequate for us. If your looking for the plaza hotel your in the wrong area but it was clean and had everything we were looking for. They even give you a good free breakfast in the morning and there is a good restaurant within walking distance of the motel. It is a great area for riding because you can head out in any direction and take a nice loop around and end up back at the inn at the end of the night on some good roads to ride on. If I am ever in the area again I will definetly stay here again. I love small mom pop motels. They just seem more friendly. They also have chairs outside so after a long days ride you can hangout outside and talk and socialize with other guests as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weare, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

The Inn is a great family owned place, it's well appointed & exceptionally clean, we stayed in one of the motel type units and it was decorated in a woodys type theme that was adorable. They have a nice pool and hot tub area, the quilt shop is great for quilters or just buying a quilt. We were served a wonderful homemade breakfast by the owner. I travel all over the US and it's always great to find one of these type places, instead of the big chains. I hope to get back up that way for fall foliage and will look forward to staying with them again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladtvtxrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandwich
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

We arrived on a Saturday late afternoon to check in with my family after a 4 hour drive only to be told that "they gave our room away". When we asked why or how this could have happened we were told when they tried to run the credit card through there was a problem because the number was incorrect?? So we asked why they wouldn't call us to reconfirm the number, to which she had no answer?!?? When asked where or what we should do with our kids at this point we were offered no help or suggestions! I have never seen such horrible customer service in my life!!! Fortunately we went to eat and asked the waitress for a suggestion she suggested the Sudsbury Inn down the street. Sometimes things happen for a reason and after being treated like that I'm glad I didn't give them our money, or our businesses!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amshel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rostayowner, Owner at The Inn at the Rostay, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Unfortunately there is disturbing trend in the lodging industry.
I do have reservations about pointing this out to the public.

When guests are booking rooms and if it's questionable as to what the weather may be, or their time frame of travel, they'll appropriately inquire about an establishments cancellation policy. In this case, booking 24 hrs prior to arrival you are responsible 100% unless we re-book it; then you'll only be charge a $25 booking fee.
More and more potential quests who's plans that are not 100% definite have found a way to avoid such charges by giving an invalid credit card number. When you don't show or cancel last minute your card will come up as a bad account we are left unable to charge it. There nothing worst than turning away guests because you are full, only to find out the room you are holding never shows up or cancels.
When taking reservations, we have learned there are a number of red flags that pop up that a person may not be being honest about making a reservation. If you do this once to us, we flag your name to make us aware. On day of arrival we ran the guest card and as we predicted came back bad account number. We checked our file and his name was there so we did not hold the room. The first time might be an accident, the second time not so much.
We are running a business. This is not a hobby; it is our livelihood. We pride ourselves in doing a great job with what we do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed one night at the inn and found the motel room dark and cold. The day temperature outside was 55°F, inside the room the temperature didn't get above 63°F while the heater was on. Even though we made reservations months before, we were unfortunate enough to stay there when a wedding event was planned. We arrived early in the afternoon, we checked in found out there was a large group of people, who were there for a wedding event. The people were walking around all the time, shouting to eachother and drinking beer from cans outside our room.
This was not the quiet and quaint motel we expected. As we requested the owner to refund us so we could leave and look for a room elsewhere, he said we were free to leave but he wouldn't refund us. We are sure that the new Barn is a wonderful opportunity for the owner of the inn, but independent travelers don't always want to be part of some one else's event. At this motel you won't find out if anevent is going on, as the unfriendly owner said he didn't have to tell us who he was renting the rooms to. Just beware.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theJetsons2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rostayowner, Owner at The Inn at the Rostay, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
We are sorry you didn't like your stay at The Rostay. You made your reservation 6 months before any of the other guests made their reservation. We have no way of knowing who will be making reservations on any given day. All of the rooms rented were for the wedding party, but were all made individually. Yes, many had arrived around the same time you did. Yes, many were happy and excited to see relatives they had not seen in a while. It was 3PM when you checked in. You didn't want to stay because you said you were afraid it might get noisy, not because it was already. We offered to let you go and if we re rented the room would refund you your money, as stated in our cancellation policy. You said you were going to stay because "we would never give you your money back even if we rented the room". You opted to stay.

We try our best to rent as many rooms as we can every day! Sometimes we get lucky and sell out! That is the idea behind our business. If you do not want other people around you you do have a few options. 1. rent all of the rooms around you. 2. stay in places that only have 1 or 2 rooms. 3. stay in a motel no one else wants to stay at. We are proud that many people like staying here and we do have a high occupancy rate. I never know who is going to rent my rooms, but 90% of the time they are wonderful people who I am happy to have met. I also expect them to enjoy all of my amenities if they want. This group happened to have a picnic at our pavilion. That actually kept the area around your room quieter. If they were all guests that didn't know each other they might have opted to sit in the chairs in front of their rooms!
Every lodging establishment is not suited for everyone. We are sorry you didn't like ours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethel
18.0 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Resort
19.0 mi away
Royalty Inn
Royalty Inn
#3 of 7 in Gorham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Bethel Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holidae House Bed & Breakfast
0.8 mi away
Norseman Inn
Norseman Inn
#10 of 15 in Bethel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Victoria Inn
The Victoria Inn
#8 of 15 in Bethel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at the Rostay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at the Rostay

Property: The Inn at the Rostay
Address: 186 Mayville Rd, Bethel, ME 04217-4443
Region: United States > Maine > Bethel
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Bethel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at the Rostay 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at the Rostay in Bethel, Maine is the affordable place to stay when visiting Sunday River Ski and Golf Resort. We are conveniently located just minutes from the ski area and beautiful Bethel Village, The #1 rated Ski Town in East by SKI Magazine.Each of our rooms has been carefully furnished and decorated for your enjoyment and comfort. The Inn at the Rostay is great for groups, families, businesses and all vacationers. We have clean, quiet rooms with cable TV, VCR, free video library, free WIFI, complimentary coffee, microwaves and refrigerators, along with a picnic area, fire pit, and free shuttle during the winter on our grounds. The Inn at the Rostay does not charge any extra resort fees. Enjoy our delicious, hot breakfast before you start your day's activities.Located on the ITS snowmobile trail ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Inn at the Rostay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At The Rostay Bethel, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing