We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lake Cottage”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bethel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bethel Hill Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 15 Bethel B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Helena, Montana
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lake Cottage”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Because of an extension in stay requested by other guests, Carol asked if we would like to stay at the Lake Cottage and we agreed. We pulled into Bethel on a beautiful fall afternoon and met Scott mowing the lawn of the B&B. He showed us around the B&B which looked beautiful and then gave us the keys to the Lake Cottage. The Lake Cottage is fantastic. It is situated on a point at a beautiful small lake about 6 miles from Bethel. I could not believe the workmanship on the cottage. It is first rate. Scott and Carol did not cut corners anywhere in rebuilding this cottage. From the glass of wine on the deck in the evening to the cup of coffee on the deck the next morning everything was perfect. The bedrooms and bathrooms are spacious, clean, comfortable, and very nicely decorated as was the rest of the house. The lake is beautiful. I awoke to the sound a loon early in the morning and we were lucky to have a bald eagle land in the tree right off the deck. There was a little bit of highway noise in the afternoon but we did not notice this in the evening and night. The bed and breakfast in Bethel looked like a great place to stay and I know the Lake Cottage is. I would not hesitate to book with Scott and Carol the next time we pass through Bethel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duffer724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skia, Owner at Bethel Hill Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
We are so glad that you were happy with your stay at the Lake House. I just wanted to also note for others reading this that it was the Lake House as we also have a vacation rental called the Lake Cottage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
63
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed a few nights in this B&B as part of a three week tour of New England. It was certainly one of our favourites. Scott and Carol have done a lovely job of renovating a 70s house so that it has all mod cons. After a while Victorian chintz can pall so we enjoyed this contrast. We had the Dogwood Suite on the upper floor which has its own sitting room - lovely. Both hosts were helpful with suggestions for activities (especially as it rained one day and we were a bit stuck) and where to eat. (Make it 22 Broad.) Top marks for breakfast too.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Belmarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pepperell, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Scott was extremely accomodating to our family as we made our way from NH to Baxter State Park for a camping trip. Plans were made in haste for a variety of reasons and when we thought we had booked a room, we hadn't done so correctly. No problem. On our arrival, Scott calmly put my husband, myself and one of our adult children up, in 2 separate rooms, without any hassle. BHBB could not have been more welcoming. This is the greatest place to stay in this corner of Maine.

Room Tip: No tips, they're all great.
See more room tips
Green Features: BHBB seemed aware of and committed to envio-friendly practices.
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

My husband and I just returned from a wonderful week in Bethel and the Moosehead Lake region. We stayed two nights at the Bethel Hill B & B and enjoyed every minute of it. The house was decorated beautifully and our room was very nice with an outdoor patio. I wish we could have used the fire pit, but the weather was not cooperating. Scott gave us much helpful information in knowing what to do in the area. I had no idea that this little town and surrounding area had so much to offer. The breakfasts were delicious and both Scott and Carol went out of their way to make our stay as special as possible. I would highly recommend this B & B to anyone going to this part of Maine for any season of the year.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drileyTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, TN
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

My wife and I stayed here just this past week and had a great experience! Scott and Carol were warm and welcoming and very helpful to us in recommending a dinner location in Bethel as well as helping us navigate our journey the next day. The breakfast was great and the quite, quaint setting was fabulous - we highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueHaggard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We arrived late at Bethel Hill B&B after driving through rain and moose signs on unfamiliar two-lane roads. Needless to say, the offer of a quiet place and a glass of wine was most welcome. Carol met us and showed us around their home for us. She and Scott have done a wonderful job of providing a homey feel with modern amenities. Our bedroom was well-appointed and the bath was spacious and had everything we needed. Breakfast was scrumptuous! We had local Macintosh apples, sauteed and seasoned with cinnamon and sugar. Doesn't get much better than that! But wait...we had pancakes with local maple syrup and bacon. The coffee was stout and plentiful. It was a great start to another day of driving. If we visit this area again, we'll definitely book a room at Bethel Hill.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TAW7507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
273 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Our only complaint about an otherwise nice B&B was the tub that was not clean. The property offers bath salts and the previous occupant has obviously used them. They were still in the tub. We were too tired to raise it with our hosts.

The breakfast was very nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ResearcherMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skia, Owner at Bethel Hill Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Thank you for bringing this to our attention. At the time of your visit we were training new house keeping staff for the summer season. You can be assured this will be addressed as we pride ourselves in a meticulously clean environment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethel
20.2 mi away
Mt Madison Inn & Suites
0.5 mi away
Holidae House Bed & Breakfast
0.2 mi away
The Bethel Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Victoria Inn
The Victoria Inn
#8 of 15 in Bethel
243 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Inn at the Rostay
The Inn at the Rostay
#3 of 15 in Bethel
167 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chapman Inn
Chapman Inn
#7 of 15 in Bethel
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bethel Hill Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bethel Hill Bed and Breakfast

Property: Bethel Hill Bed and Breakfast
Address: 66 Broad St, Bethel, ME 04217-4009
Region: United States > Maine > Bethel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Bethel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Bethel Hill Bed & Breakfast.A fresh and eco-friendly Bethel Lodging Choice Our home is located just beyond the Bethel Hill Common, surrounded by the historic homes of Bethel Village. We enjoy a quiet location at the end of Broad Street. Renovated specifically to be a bed and breakfast in 2005, we feature guest suites with comfortable sitting areas and private baths; each has a whirlpool tub with shower. Unique ambiance is created with a blend of antique furnishings and custom drapes and duvets. We offer a common living area exclusively for our guest’s use or you may relax in the adirondack chairs on the front porch overlooking the gardens. Each of our guest suites feature cable television, free WIFI access and long distance calling upon request. All of our rooms have ceiling fans and are air conditioned. The Bethel Hill Bed & Breakfast provides a smoke free environment and has a fire alarm and sprinkler system for your safety. Our rooms do not have adjoining walls and all feature sound proofing in the walls and floors for your privacy. A gourmet country breakfast with hot entrée is enjoyed in the sun room by the cozy gas fireplace. We are happy to accommodate dietary restrictions, including Vegetarian and Gluten-free diets. Our common rooms overlook the historic Bingham House and the Bethel Inn and Country Club’s eighteenth fairway beyond, providing wonderful sunset views. Our B&B is EPA Certified as an Enviornmental Leader and offers Eco-friendly green lodging; leave your car and walk or bike through out the village or in the winter take the free Mountain Explorer Bus from just down the street at the commom. Scott is a level 3 PSIA Ski Pro. WIFI, TV,AC,Handicap Room Available ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bethel Hill Bed And Breakfast Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing