We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real B&B few miles away from Sunday River”
Review of Crocker Pond House

Crocker Pond House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bethel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Crocker Pond House
Ranked #15 of 16 Bethel B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 January 2012

We stayed at CPH for 1 night and we were very pleased with the place. It is a beautiful house nested in the hills of Bethel, very quiet and quaint. Our rooms were in loft style which I believe it could sleep up to 4 people with very comfortable bed.

Common areas also well equipped with books, games, comfortable living room.

Breakfast was not gourmet, innovate, but it was tasty and plenty. We had blueberries pancakes, oatmeal, bacon, juices.

It was a very convenient pitstop for SR, way better than the outdated rooms at the base.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bcmitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2012

Custom-designed home that includes 5 guest rooms (for couples or families).
Great breakfasts including blueberry pancakes, bacon, coffee, tea, oatmeal, fruit salad.
Convenient to Sunday River ski area, 15 min drive.
Beautiful house and property.
We've stayed here 3 times.

Rates run about $125 a room a night.

Room Tip: All rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank feed0me0seymour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

My first stay and I was so happy with this BB! Stuart and Ellen built this stunning home on a beautiful piece of land. Their love of the Maine woods is evident as is their knowledge of the area by suggesting some wonderful drives and places to see. They are wonderful hosts and very accommodating. I only wish my stay had not been so short! I hope to be back next year and highly recommend!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnniesBlackLab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

The setting is picture perfect. The host were very friendly, accommodating , and served a delicious breakfast. We hope to go back again.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CUinMoab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Friends gave us a gift certificate for two nights at the Crocker Pond House as a wedding gift, and we had such a wonderful time that I was inspired to write this review (something I think I've never done before). Ellen and Stuart, who built the house themselves, were kind and helpful. They gave us the great idea of spending the day hiking at Sunday River. It turns out that this ski resort keeps a lift open during the summer for mountain bikers and hikers, and it was the perfect way to do some real hiking with great views without having to be in ultra hiker mode. We also had wonderful breakfasts both mornings -- the pancakes were particularly delicious. In the afternoons, we read quietly by the pond. This is a great spot, and I recommend it wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carrie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2011

Stuart and Ellen built this impressive home themselves, and their love for the Maine woods really comes through. The house is elegant yet homey, with music, books, and jigsaw puzzles to browse at your leisure. The toasty great room and balcony library are comfortable spaces to spend evenings after a full day of skiing. And the healthful breakfasts and good coffee fuel you up again in the morning. While the rooms have showers only (there is a tub room to take a soak), they are a good size with sitting chair, dresser, and open floor space (ours had an additional loft for kids). Stuart and Ellen are lovely conversationalists but also know when to get you on your way with maps, tips, snowshoes, etc. The house is a few minutes' drive away from Bethel's main street of shops and restaurants, but that just enhances the sense of quiet and remoteness that is the Maine woods. We'd like to head back in summer to canoe the Androscoggin.

Room Tip: 2nd floor with easy access to the balcony library
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CandPnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2011

We stayed at Crocker Pond House for 3 days/nights in January, and had a lovely time. There were lovely views of the snow-covered fields and woods from our rooms, as well as the main living area, where we spent a lot of time lounging about in front of the fireplace, chatting, reading magazines & playing with the two (very friendly) cats. The building is thoughtfully designed and well-situated, and the rooms are spacious, clean and warm. Stuart & Ellen were fantastic hosts, and provided us with hearty & delicious breakfasts (including cardamom-flecked waffles with lingonberry jam!) as well as snowshoes for tramping around on the trails starting outside their doorstep. It's also only about a 15 minute drive to Sunday River, and 10 minutes to the town of Bethel. Just about perfect for a winter getaway into snowy Maine.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank autopi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bethel hotels
4.4 mi away
The Bethel Inn Resort
4.1 mi away
The Jolly Drayman at The Briar Lea Inn
4 mi away
Norseman Inn
Norseman Inn
#10 of 16 in Bethel
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Holidae House Bed & Breakfast
4.1 mi away
The Inn at the Rostay
The Inn at the Rostay
#4 of 16 in Bethel
172 reviews
4.1 mi away
River View Resort
River View Resort
#13 of 16 in Bethel
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crocker Pond House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crocker Pond House

Address: 917 North Rd, Bethel, ME 04217-3214
Region: United States > Maine > Bethel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Bethel
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Crocker Pond House Bethel, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing