We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem of a place to relax!”
Review of Crocker Pond House

Crocker Pond House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bethel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Crocker Pond House
Ranked #15 of 16 Bethel B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 January 2010

Nestled away in the hills of Western Maine & very close to Sunday River Ski area is this lovely bed & breakfast. It actually reminds me of a Swiss or European hotel. Very intimate with radiant heated bathroom floors and caretakers who are intelligent, caring and make a wonderful breakfast, with coffee that would rival Starbucks, if there were one around. Outside, there is snow shoeing, hiking & skiing in winter. During the rest of the year, swimming in Crocker Pond, hiking & canoeing are available. Year round, you can watch the deer. This is a gem that’s worth visiting!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sailor34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 28 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2009

Hi,

I don't write many reviews, but I thought I would for Crocker Pond. First of all, the house is beautiful and the forest around it is amazing. But you can get that anywhere. The owners of the home (Mr Crocker designed the house) are excellent hosts; there were games for my kids, a pot of coffee for me for reading in the early morning, and a big homemade breakfast each morning. The owners know what they are doing, as it is sometimes hard to be a guest. They offer great conversation, but also you have your space when you want it. Naturally the rooms are great, clean- everything you expect. Hat's off to the Crockers.
In the area, we had a great time. There is Gibby's apple orchard for apple picking- he is quite a character and part of what Maine is. Then there is Mo and her alpaca farm, and Bob's BBQ. Bethel Maine is a place that I would like to move to, if it weren't so cold in the winter. But the Fall was great, and I can only say nice things about our 2-day stay at the Crockers in Bethel Maine.
Tracy Dove

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracydove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2009

my husband and I got married at the crocker pond house a year ago and could not have had a better experience-- we had only met the proprietess, ellen, once or twice before the wedding, but with the warmth of her greeting at the beginning of our wedding weekend, we were already beginning to feel treated as family, and this was confirmed by the end of the weekend. we could not think of a place where we would rather spend our anniversary!

the crocker pond house is not your typical b&b, in a good way. the house itself was designed and built by stuart, ellen's husband, and complements the nature and serenity that surrounds it (40 acres worth!). the rooms are clean and simple, and you can smell the pine tress through the windows. the house blends contemporary architecture with antique furniture pieces and norwegian curiosities here and there, without feeling at all cluttered or overdone like most b&b's. it's a relatively short and lovely drive either into town or to Sunday River.

stuart's blueberry pancakes are divine, and we gladly spent long leisurely breakfasts chatting with them on both the days of our anniversary weekend- though we could have just as easily spent the weekend in privacy. we will definitely go back- for the beauty and comfort of the b&b, the surrounding woods and pond, and for stuart and ellen's company.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shellstarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2007

Crocker Pond House is located about 10 minutes outside of Bethel, ME and about 10 minutes from Sunday River ski resort.

The rooms are a bit small but clean and comfortable. Two resident cats, Rocky and Willie, greet each guest. Breakfast was average and served at a large table where all of the guests gather. The inn offers 6 rooms on a large wooded plot.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Win N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bethel hotels
4.4 mi away
The Bethel Inn Resort
4.1 mi away
The Jolly Drayman at The Briar Lea Inn
4 mi away
Norseman Inn
Norseman Inn
#10 of 16 in Bethel
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Holidae House Bed & Breakfast
4.1 mi away
The Inn at the Rostay
The Inn at the Rostay
#4 of 16 in Bethel
172 reviews
4.1 mi away
River View Resort
River View Resort
#13 of 16 in Bethel
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crocker Pond House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crocker Pond House

Address: 917 North Rd, Bethel, ME 04217-3214
Region: United States > Maine > Bethel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Bethel
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Crocker Pond House Bethel, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing