We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect spot for lunch on the road!”
Review of S.S. Milton - CLOSED

S.S. Milton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Leverett, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
164 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 388 helpful votes
“Perfect spot for lunch on the road!”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We were passing through Bethel on our way across the state and after reading Trip Advisor reviews, we stopped at Stan and Sue Milton's restaurant in the little downtown. We four sat on the porch and were served by a chatty local gal who was funny and helpful. We started our lunch with hot mulled-cider, which was simply wonderful, we then had tuna melts, a lobster grilled cheese sandwich, and a lobster roll - all of which were super yummy. For what it's worth, our dear server told us that they were about to close for the season (for 6 weeks) - so you will have to wait until mid-December to enjoy their fare again in 2013!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RQP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    44
    20
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We were referred to this place by several locals and it exceeded our expectations. The seafood is fantastic and the blueberry desert is a must try!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jim N Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundalk, Ireland
Level Contributor
138 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great steaks and seafood”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Delicious food in a nice homely surrounding. We ate on the front porch. I had seafood starter and a steak for mains - delicous food at a reasonable price. Very happy with the SS Milton !

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank K1Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
96 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Another good place for a seafood dinner!”
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

We are going to miss being in Maine with such yummy seafood meals! How can you miss with a lobster casserole and scallop filled Sole. The salad was bright and colorful with a good blue cheese dressing. Butternut squash and red potatoes rounded out our meals. We didn't have room left to even think about dessert. The service was extremely attentive and cheerful. A good recommendation from our hostess at The Perennial Inn in nearby Rumford Point.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BadurekL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
87 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Delicious Food”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Very nice homey restaurant. Very delicious food and attentive servers. Right on the main drag close to bed and breakfast's.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank RoseC49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed S.S. Milton also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing