We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy restaurant & a little antique shopping too.......”
Review of S.S. Milton - CLOSED

S.S. Milton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Yummy restaurant & a little antique shopping too.......”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We enjoyed a yummy lobster roll and an amazing grilled cheese lobster sandwich. My husband & I try to enjoy all the wonderful foods of New England. I will search for the grilled cheese/lobster recipe to try back home in Texas. Also enjoyed the fiddlefern (sp?) soup. Desserts also wonderful--loved the blueberry crisp.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank LMomG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    44
    20
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Norridgewock, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice experience”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We have a pleasant dinner here, liked that it wasn't too noisy, you could hear conversation at your own table. Good service, pleasant staff. The SS salad (with mandarins, dried cranberry, etc) was wonderful. Hot rolls to go with it, just delicious. Was a little disappointed in my entree (baked seafood) because the sauce was so thin. Desserts were great, be sure to save some room for that! Would go again and try a different choice for the entree, since everything else was so good.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Granitegneiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food!”
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

The title says it all! This restaurant has amazing food and a nice atmosphere. Really cozy and cute! Visit it when you go to Bethel! Really nice people too!

Helpful?
Thank AmeliaOnVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethel, Maine
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our favorite place in Bethel and most everywhere”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

"The Milton" as we call it in Bethel is a wonderful small and intimate place for the best seafood (those Nantucket scallops!!!) anywhere in Maine. The lobster roll is our favorite lunch on the deck during summer, and when the cold weather comes, we snuggle inside with chowders and bisque, or perhaps a steamed lobster. Good draft beer and a small but excellent wine list add to the delights of this cozy spot, as does the courteous wait-staff. Don't miss the Milton!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bruce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, England
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Absolutely brilliant, so good we went back twice”
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for a quiet, homely atmosphere with some great seafood and friendly ambience, this is the place. Our conclusion is that if we die and go to heaven, then they will serve Nantucket scallops there! We were so impressed that we went again. Don't miss out on visiting here if you get the chance. Special note from my wife is try the Blueberry Martini, it's Devine.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank mutsnuts01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing