We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely country Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bethel Inn Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bethel
Beverly, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Lovely country Inn”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We love staying at the Bethel Inn. The food is always great, the people are very friendly, and the Inn itself is charming. All of the rooms are a little different, but all are spacious and clean. We love the fireplaces in the new wing of the Inn. The food in the dining room is elegant and tasty. The tavern is a great option for food and drinks as well, with friendly bartenders and fun drinks. The wifi is a little spotty at times, but usually is very strong in the lobby. There is also a computer for guest use. I highly recommend staying at the Bethel Inn.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eve1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BethelInn, General Manager at The Bethel Inn Resort, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review about your recent stay at The Bethel Inn Resort. Our 13 buildings spread over 200 acres make for some challenging wifi situations but thank you for noting it is solid and consistent in the public rooms of our Main Inn building.

Allen Connors, Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    85
    41
    31
    15
See reviews for
101
131
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

My wife and two kids (10 and 12) stayed at the Bethel Inn for three nights, departing Christmas Eve 2013. We loved the Inn. The room we stayed in was great - loved the gas fireplace which we used to both warm up and dry out our ski gear. The outdoor heated pool wasn't fancy but the kids loved it. Never overcrowded and often had it to ourselves. We heard that the high season starts right after Christmas and that things got busier then. We ate dinner each night in the pub downstairs - something for everyone. The kids played pool ($1 per game), darts (free) and used the small game room (would have liked a better selection - not a fan a deer shooting games).

We were on the meal plan, and think we roughly broke even on it. We were also on the ski plan but had some trouble there. The resort had no children's passes and Sunday River told us the Inn never got kids tickets. Would have saved a little if we had know this in advance.

One day the weather was bad and two of us did not ski. We had plenty of fun things to do around the Inn (see above), but there was no food to be had. The pub and main dining room did not open for lunch. We had to drive up near the ski resort to find lunch. There were a bunch of other folks looking for lunch at the Inn, but maybe they offer this during high season. not sure

Everyone there was really nice. Skiing was terrific. Trip from Boston was easy. We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Our room was in the main lodge, so we did not have to go outside to get to breakfast or dinner. You...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobsScreenName
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BethelInn, General Manager at The Bethel Inn Resort, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
If you were looking for a ski vacation during a relatively quiet time, the pre-Christmas period was a good choice, just a few days before the busy holiday period begins and we start breakfast, lunch and dinner service in our Main Dining rooms and Millbrook Tavern. Your comment about luncheon availability in the pre-Christmas period will be discussed at our next staff meeting. Also, we indeed offer savings on children’s ski passes as part of our ski and stay packages once the season cranks up, but not during your stay. Next time, if you are coming during our slow season, please let us know your ticket needs in advance and we will be happy to take care of them within your package. Thanks for your review and comments!

Allen Connors, Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walworth, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

Just a beautiful setting. Visited the tavern for dinner. Excellent service and food. Great setting live entertainmnet on weekend w/ pool table and dance floor.
Buffet breakfast comes w/ room. You won't go hungry. Food excellently cooked and seasoned. Pastry only complaint, cold no way to warm it.
Room clean. Linens very nice and bath is redone in marble floor and new bath/shower. You have what you need to sleep its not like you are spending all the time in your room.
It is a wonderful place for a romantic getaway for those who love the the finer dining and days gone by, only updated.
We loved it. Don't understand why the person said too expensive buffet is 15 $ /person or more in other places and its included. All in all a great value all the way aroundStaff all friendly too.


Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank masquiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BethelInn, General Manager at The Bethel Inn Resort, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thank you for your kind words about your stay with us. We are particularly pleased that you observed the renovation work recently completed. Our 100 year old resort has a wide variety of room types and a wide range of rates to meet almost any budget. We sincerely appreciate your taking the time to complement us on our value and our staff.

Allen Connors, Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Love the Bethel Inn...for many reasons.
The beauty of the Inn/Resort area and the town..
The great food, our Thanksgiving meal was superb and so was the service.
The dining room manager, Mitzie, remembered us after almost 24 years. She is wonderful. That is terrific.
The proximity to all the areas for skiing, dining, and shopping. People are so nice, too.
Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BethelInn, General Manager at The Bethel Inn Resort, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words. As we celebrate our 100th anniversary, we are particularly thankful for loyal staff members like our Mitzie and for considerate guests like you and your family.

Allen Connors, Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitman, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This is a very old Inn that we stay in each year in Bethel. We stay here for the Jeep Jamboree each fall and it is where the group stays. The inn is relatively clean and the rooms we have had were large. I find it to be overpriced however and I think some of the smaller inns would be nicer in the area. I will continue to stay here unless I find something better. Employees are all business. Don’t be afraid to stay here if you can afford it. Not one of my favorite places.

Room Tip: We prefer rooms in the main inn. This inn also has rooms in buildings next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rubitron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BethelInn, General Manager at The Bethel Inn Resort, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you taking the time to provide your thoughts. I can understand that as a Jeep Jamboree participant out on the trails each day, that you didn’t have the time to enjoy the golf course, tennis, complete health club, lake house and other resort activities which make our room rates somewhat higher than other B&B’s and motels in the area. Still, we hope the convenience of staying at the headquarters of the Jamboree will keep you coming back. We appreciate your patronage and look forward to seeing you next fall at the 25th anniversary of this wonderful event in Bethel.

Allen Connors, Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I stayed at the Bethel Inn last night with my son, who is a student at Gould Academy. It's a quiet week in Bethel, so unfortunately the restaurant was closed. The bar was open and had a very friendly environment to watch the end of the Patriots game, and the bartender provided some snacks.

The room was very clean and comfortable, and the two beds had good mattresses - they were a little bit firm with some comfy springiness to them. We both slept extremely well. Our room had a small sitting room area with a fantastic gas fireplace that was pleasant and provided a lot of heat. I like the fact that we can control the temperature in the room. The bathroom was small but functional, and they provided a coffee maker. The overall feel for the place was nice and homey to go along with comfort.

Room Tip: Church Street is not a busy street, so I suspect all the rooms are plenty quiet. We were on the sec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BethelInn, General Manager at The Bethel Inn Resort, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Your comments are appreciated and we are glad you were able to take advantage of our special rates for parents of Gould Academy students. By this spring, we will have completed the renovation of all our Standard and Select guest rooms and hope you will stay with us again to witness our progress first hand. It’s tough keeping this 100 year old Grande Dame in first class shape, but I promise we will keep working on it!

Allen Connors, Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We only stayed in the Bethel Inn Resort one night, and it was quite nice. The historic inn overlooks a lovely golf course. The victorian decorated interior is charming. It feels like you're spending the night at grandma's house. The room was not that remarkable, although it was clean and the bed was comfortable. We found the staff friendly. All in all, it is a very nice place to stay if you're visiting the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the golf course for a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TanyaLRoberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethel
18.2 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Resort
20.0 mi away
Mt Madison Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Holidae House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Inn at the Rostay
The Inn at the Rostay
#3 of 15 in Bethel
167 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Victoria Inn
The Victoria Inn
#8 of 15 in Bethel
243 reviews
0.6 mi away
Norseman Inn
Norseman Inn
#10 of 15 in Bethel
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bethel Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bethel Inn Resort

Property: The Bethel Inn Resort
Address: 21 Broad St, On the Common, P.O. Box 49, Bethel, ME 04217-4007
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Bethel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bethel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bethel Inn Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience The Bethel Inn Resort in Bethel, Maine, honored with the 2014 Award of Excellence by TripAdvisor. Just 6 miles from Sunday River Ski Resort, The Inn was recently named "Best of New England" -Top Resorts for Outdoor Sports by New England Travel Magazine. Find guest rooms from traditional Inn rooms to luxury townhomes, many with fireplaces during the winter season. Choose from the comfortable fine dining setting of our Main Dining Room or our casual Millbrook Tavern and Grille with live weekend entertainment. Rela at our health club, featuring a 90° outdoor heated pool, whirlpool, saunas, fitness center and spa services. Plus, enjoy resort activities this summer at our 200 acre resort including our 18 hole, 6,700 yard championship golf course, lake house with canoes & kayaks, tennis, lawn games and more! Sunday River & Mt. Abram Resorts, the Androscoggin River and scenic State Parks are less than 10 minutes away. With an array of professional guide services, world-class fly fishing, canoe/kayak river treks, hiking, ATV mountain adventures, scenic chairlift rides, mountain biking and more just minutes from The Inn. The Bethel Inn Resort is the clear choice for those who love skiing, golf and outdoor recreation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Bethel Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bethel Hotel Bethel
Bethel Hotel
The Bethel Inn Resort Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing