We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Property but some maintenance needed on older townhouse units”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Bethel Inn Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bethel
Reviewed 31 August 2014

My husband and I visited in late August for the first time and found the property, staff, and location of this resort wonderful. We did stay in one of the older town house units and though comfortable, spacious and well equipped, it was ready for some attention in terms of window/door maintenance and decor updates. Compared with the newer units, they were quite dark and a fair distance from the pool and main Inn which was about a 10 minute walk away.

We found both the main dining room and tavern on site to be quite expensive for food that we considered somewhat mediocre and bland. We'd recommend other establishments in the area for more favourable dining experiences. The atmosphere and serving staff in both though, were great.

Our major disappointment was the distance away from the pool and main resort. Though it was a pleasant walk, it was further than we would have anticipated and would have been difficult if we'd had young children with us. The other related concern was the deck was not particularly user friendly in summer because of the bright sun and no umbrella. The pool area had only two of four
patio umbrellas in working order which was unfortunate because of the hot weather.

All that being said, we would definitely return but would request a newer town house unit. It's well worth a visit to this scenic and unspoiled area....lots to do and enjoy!

Room Tip: ask for newer town house unit near pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sebim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (362)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 362 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2014

I came with two sons in their twenties for two days of golf school. Our pro, Harry Andrews, was excellent and made our weekend a success. Harry broke down the swing for my two sons, each of whom had homemade swings formed in the last two years. He helped them enormously and their interest in golf and the improvement in their has grown as a result. I am an experienced mid -teen handicapper and Harry gave me four or five things to help me; most importantly he has given me the key to allow me to control the club face of my woods. This was a life long issue for me. Harry was both good company and a true professional who helped us all.
The Hotel is very nice. The food was very good. We had an issue with our room the first night-- we had one of us on a pull out couch (no mention of this when we registered) and the TV was not viewable from one bed and not controllable with the remote from the other! We were upgraded nicely for the second night. Ask about your room when you make your reservation. I found the person on the phone not easy to deal with when making the reservation. It was a bit like pulling teeth to get business done, which certainly was strange. Nonetheless, we were very pleased with our experience and would go back for more golf school with Harry.

Room Tip: Ask if the room has beds that all have a view of the TV. This was an issue for us!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank massbayreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

My husband and I went with another couple this weekend for a golf get away. SO... worth it and we did not even have the opportunity to take advantage of the pool, exercise room or lake activities.
We stayed on the second floor of Oaks ( 352) and it was very spacious and updated. complete with sitting area and fire place. Our friends across the way had a similar room. Had 2 double beds which I would have preferred a queen or king, but for a weekend it was fine. The package deal included 2 night stay, one dinner in the main dining room or tavern, buffet breakfast both days and unlimited golf. We ate dinner in the main dinning room and the food was superb. Many choices included and four courses to boot. I had the duck which was to die for. Breakfast buffet was very large and delicious. the golf course was in good shape except for the water drainage problems. there were some sand traps that still were half full of water from a storm several days before. Greens were fast and several holes long par fours. Easy course to walk. No beverage cart available at any time. We played 3 rounds and enjoyed each one very much . We will definitely be back to golf and stay. Might try winter time too

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PVANH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

My wife and I just returned from our honeymoon at the Bethel Inn Resort and it was wonderful! Our two bedroom townhome was clean, spacious, and comfortable. We took advantage of our private kitchen and made many of our own meals, but we also enjoyed a delicious, well-prepared dinner and breakfast at the Inn. The lake house was beautiful and the time we spent canoeing and swimming was one of the highlights of our trip (and George at the lake house was incredibly helpful and provided great service!). We enjoyed the heated pool every day, played bean bag toss on the lawn, and relaxed while walking around the property. We also took a trip to Sunday River, where we took a trip up the mountain in their ski lifts and had a great outing. The staff at the Bethel were so welcoming and kind - we even got to know a few by name (thanks for the great service, Trish!). We definitely recommend visiting the Bethel and staying in the townhomes if you can. The only thing we would like to see updated in the future is consistent Wifi access throughout the property. Other than that, everything was great and we loved our honeymoon so much!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emily L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed on the second floor of the Oak Building in a gloomy room. The room was very small, old furniture, worn bedspread and carpet. The wifi went off & on which was very frustrating. Bathroom was small but updated. We were in the room as little time as possible. The dining room was very nice and the older woman at breakfast was very pleasant and efficient. The continental breakfast was good. We enjoyed the golf course.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jewel72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Some great aspects to the Bethel Inn. Swimming and Kayaking at Sango Lake was serene. The outdoor pool and tennis at the resort kept the kids very happy and the missus had a great massage! However rooms are dated and need upgrading, no WIFI in rooms is disappointing and on-site food is bland - suggest eating off-site if you stay here,

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TarzansBIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BethelInn, General Manager at The Bethel Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

We must agree that our smaller “lockout” one room condo units lack the ambiance of our other accommodations but we price them accordingly and do our best to prepare guests seeking budget lodging that they lack some amenities. Our full condos offer large living spaces, full kitchens, Jacuzzi tubs, fire places, outside decks and all the amenities of a private home. Thank you for your comments and complements on our resort and the town of Bethel. On your next visit we will be happy to show you one of our full condominiums and we think you might change your mind about this type of accommodation at our resort.

Allen Connors
Managing Partner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The good: quiet, relaxing resort in town; nice size room with furniture attractively arranged; the polite staff; the 4 course meal served in the Tavern for those folks on the meal plan; and the offerings at breakfast.
The average: the 4 course meal while served hot lacked "punch" - seasonings seemed something forgotten; the breakfast which for the most part was very good but many of the selections were not hot; and housekeeping not replenishing toiletries, glasses and cleaning coffee maker on our second day.
The UGLY: the carpeting in the room was stained and spotted - certainly a sore spot and in need of replacement.
The pool is a good size with picnic tables and plenty of lounge chairs. Too bad there are no tables with umbrellas (other than the picnic tables with umbrellas) around the lounge chairs. The golf course has some interesting holes but the fairways were like the first cut of rough and some of the greens were not cut evenly - short around the edges and longer in the middle.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank pearl33814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BethelInn, General Manager at The Bethel Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. We appreciate the positive comments as well as the suggestions for improvements. We have been in the process of remodeling many of our traditional inn guest rooms, including new carpeting and I am sure yours was one of the rooms on our list. Sometimes our green and fairway mowers miss some spots but I can assure you that overall, our course conditions will rank very high in northern New England (see adjacent review). Please look me up on your next visit to The Bethel Inn Resort.

Allen Connors
Managing Partner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethel
20 mi away
Mt Madison Inn & Suites
18.2 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Resort
0.3 mi away
Holidae House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Top Notch Inn
Top Notch Inn
#1 of 7 in Gorham
724 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Victoria Inn
The Victoria Inn
#9 of 16 in Bethel
256 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Jolly Drayman at The Briar Lea Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bethel Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bethel Inn Resort

Address: 21 Broad St, On the Common, P.O. Box 49, Bethel, ME 04217-4007
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Bethel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bethel
Price Range: £116 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bethel Inn Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience The Bethel Inn Resort in Bethel, Maine, honored with the 2014 Award of Excellence by TripAdvisor. Just 6 miles from Sunday River Ski Resort, The Inn was recently named "Best of New England" -Top Resorts for Outdoor Sports by New England Travel Magazine. Find guest rooms from traditional Inn rooms to luxury townhomes, many with fireplaces during the winter season. Choose from the comfortable fine dining setting of our Main Dining Room or our casual Millbrook Tavern and Grille with live weekend entertainment. Rela at our health club, featuring a 90° outdoor heated pool, whirlpool, saunas, fitness center and spa services. Plus, enjoy resort activities this summer at our 200 acre resort including our 18 hole, 6,700 yard championship golf course, lake house with canoes & kayaks, tennis, lawn games and more! Sunday River & Mt. Abram Resorts, the Androscoggin River and scenic State Parks are less than 10 minutes away. With an array of professional guide services, world-class fly fishing, canoe/kayak river treks, hiking, ATV mountain adventures, scenic chairlift rides, mountain biking and more just minutes from The Inn. The Bethel Inn Resort is the clear choice for those who love skiing, golf and outdoor recreation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bethel Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bethel Hotel Bethel
Bethel Hotel
The Bethel Inn Resort Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing