We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the Best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holidae House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 16 Bethel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2008

This was our second stay at this perfectly charming B&B. We felt like royalty in the beautifully furnished rooms and were treated to the most delicious breakfasts each morning. Perks like Starbucks coffee, fresh eggs from free-range chickens, and tasty turkey bacon set this breakfast apart from any other. The apricot-ginger scones are to die for and Laurence is quick to share his culinary secrets along with a his humor. Located in a beautiful part of Maine any time of the year. We're planning to return in the fall.

Stayed: April 2008
Thank Cindymc-v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (557)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

504 - 510 of 557 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2008

At the end of March, my 15-year-old son and I made our second-annual "spring break" visit to Austin's Holidae House B & B in Bethel, Maine. As expected, Lawrence and Marsha, the proprietors, anticipated our every need. There was plenty of time for rest and relaxation in their comfortable rooms. And they steered us in the direction of great recreational opportunities in the area. There was skiing, snow tubing, and the now famous World Book of Records-breaking Snow Woman.
Lawrence also made arrangements with another local establishment for us to use their swimming pool. We are always impressed and grateful for the friendliness and
cooperation of people in the area. It is refreshing to be among people who support each other in this way.
I would be remiss if I didn't compliment Lawrence and Marsha on their superb breakfacts. Whatever you want is made to order with the finest fresh supplies available. It is hard not to over-indulge!
Before leaving. I thanked Lawrence for arranging a light dusting on new snow that awaited us each morning of our stay. but in his humility, he refused to accept credit for that.
All in all, we had another restful, healthful,and thoroughly enjoyable "Spring Break", and we are already making plans for next year.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank groucoulet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2008

We are Australians and stayed at Austin's Holidae House in Bethel for one night. We were driving through from Portland to Buffalo, NY and the local tourist bureau recommended Austin's.

The accommodation was comfortable and superbly fitted with period furniture. It was self contained with an en-suite.

The house itself is right in the middle of town which meant that we could walk to all of the shops rather than having to drive.

The overall atmosphere was very welcoming both from the 'feel' of the house and the owners. I have to thank Laurence for re-introducing me to Irish Mist as part of the after dinner drinks available.

Breakfast was scrumptious. No other word for it. When we left there were no empty crannies.

We would have loved to have stayed longer but our travel plans couldn't be altered.

We'd thoroughly recommend Austin's to anybody who wants good accommodation at a reasonable price with friendly hosts.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank KambahYan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2008

This was by far the best B&B around. Laurence was a wonderful host and made us the best breakfast.
We stayed in Room #2 which was the cleanest room I've ever seen. You felt like you were at home.

Every room has it's own Private bath.

If you are going to Ski at Sunday River you HAVE to stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank A_J_Mitch08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2008

We loved this place, very quiet, affordable, very hospitable hosts, great breakfast. The room was wonderful and the old house was very traditionally decorated and furnished. Nice touch with the after dinner drinks, too. We ate dinner at the Bethel Country Inn which was fine but we were glad not to have stayed there as there were a lot of people and children.

We would definitely stay at the Holidae House again!

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bigwhaleshark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2008

Read all the reviews on tripadvisor and went ahead and booked 3 nights at the Holidae House. The Inn bascially made our trip. Facilities were clean, cozy and welcoming; and the breakfast was just excellent. We were able to ski all the way through 3pm without having to stop for lunch.

The free shutle to the ski lodge is great and convenient and picks up about 7 feet from the Inn's front door.

Lawrence and Martia do their best to make you absolutely comfortable.

I'm already thinking of going back next year.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cxjr25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2008

Laurence and Marcia are wonderful, gracious, generous hosts. We felt very much at home throughout our 3-night stay and felt like we were leaving old friends rather than innkeepers by the end. As others have noted, Laurence's breakfasts are a highlight, as are Marcia's scones and afternoon cookies. One of the things we're always looking for in B&B innkeepers is a good sense for gauging guests' wants and needs-- i.e., how much we do or don't want to hang out and socialize, whether we're interested in their recommendations or not, etc. Laurence and Marcia have great radar along these lines, which is a big part of what made it feel homey. Having been at other B&Bs where the hosts have either completely ignored us or hovered and wouldn't leave us alone, it's always great to find innkeepers who obviously know how to do it right.

A few details worth mentioning-- They have a wonderful parlor with a variety of games, books, crossword puzzles, and other distractions. It's definitely worth asking for recommendations for places to eat. There are some very good places to eat in the area, but also some seriously overpriced duds-- and more of the latter than the former. Laurence and Marcia can and will steer you in the right direction.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MaineGuy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethel
0.3 mi away
The Bethel Inn Resort
1 mi away
The Jolly Drayman at The Briar Lea Inn
0.1 mi away
The Victoria Inn
The Victoria Inn
#9 of 16 in Bethel
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Inn at the Rostay
The Inn at the Rostay
#4 of 16 in Bethel
173 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chapman Inn
Chapman Inn
#8 of 16 in Bethel
190 reviews
19.8 mi away
Top Notch Inn
Top Notch Inn
#1 of 7 in Gorham
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holidae House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holidae House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 85 Main St, PO Box 475, Bethel, ME 04217-4016 (Formerly Holidae House B&B)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Bethel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Bethel
Price Range: £104 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holidae House Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your soft landing awaits with a restorative stay at the Holidae House Bed & Breakfast located in the center of quaint downtown Bethel, Maine. Fluffy and oh-so-comfortable, the white towels, comforters, sheets and draperies are of posh hotel quality and the embodiment of luxury in contemporary bath, body and bedding amenities. Sublime sleep is achieved complements of comfortable temperature controlled rooms for healthy, happy slumbers. For the ultimate in at-home coziness, the Holidae House B&B is sure to bring you many sweet dreams, timeless memories and a yearning desire to return for more. Comfy mattresses, elegant bed-dressings, beautiful silver tea trays, oriental rugs and carpets invite guests to relax in the well-appointed rooms. Each room has its own private bath, some with showers only and others with full bath tub and shower. Enjoy a delicious, home cooked gourmet breakfast during your stay with us. Start your day off with Jeanette's creations including Cream Cheese Stuffed French Toast with blueberries, strawberries and raspberries, Made From Scratch Blueberry Pancakes, Apple Cinnamon French Toast and others. We use free range organic eggs and maple syrup, both sourced locally. We also pick our own blueberries and apples and use them as long as the supply lasts. Jeanette's fresh baked breads are used in many of our breakfasts. For coffee lovers we grind beans each morning to provide you with the freshest coffee possible, and we even have decaf beans! For tea lovers we offer over 20 Twinings Teas, including black, herbal and green teas. We also have hot chocolate and spiced apple cider packets. A selection of juices is offered including orange, grapefruit and grape. Fresh fruit is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Holidae House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holidae House Bed & Breakfast Bethel, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing