We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Breakfasts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holidae House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 15 Bethel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“Great Breakfasts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

The innkeeper (and breakfast cook) Laurence made this a worthwhile stay. He is a wonderful host and the French toast was the best we've ever had. We enjoyed chatting with him and we also took advantage of the complimentary after-dinner libations. The room was comfy, although the shower in our room was a little tight. We also detected a slight odor coming from 'the loo.' I enjoyed sitting on the front porch and relaxing even though the landscape in the front could use some attention. Mrs. Austin was a bit fussy, but she was nursing a bum leg. All-in-all, it was worth the money and I would recommend this to friends and family. I can't always say that about some of the other 'highly rated' properties on Tripadvisor.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HV-Tiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaurenceandMarcia, Owner at Holidae House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and our breakfasts. As you rightly stated we have had a real challenge with our landscaping this summer- with torrential rains alternating with super heat, coupled with Marcia's recovering from foot surgery, as she usually is gardening whenever possible. As far as the odor from the loo, had you let us know we would have done everything to remedy the situation, as we do with any complaint that is brought to our attention. We wish you well and truly hope to see you again. Happy travels. Laurence and Marcia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    476
    45
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
100
308
34
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

My husband and I scrambled to find a place in Bethel Maine last minute. I found Holidae House on the Gould Academy website and gave Laurence a call. He was very pleasant to deal with and gave me the Carpe Diem rate which was extremely reasonable. I was very happy when I saw our room which was very spacious with a large bath with jacuzzi tub. Although our room was on the main road it was very quiet and I actually slept in!!!!. The breakfast was delicious and Laurence made available to me some different choices as I have some food allergies. I found it a nice touch that Laurence and Marcia made available to their guest beverage nightcaps (although I did not indulge). All in all I would return to Holidae House on my next visit to Bethel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Voorheesville, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

Our stop at Austin's Holidae House B&B began with an introduction to Laurence, the innkeeper. Being not busy, he upgraded us to another room for "not a ha'penny more". The rooms and amenities were fine and the array of beverage nightcaps were welcome. He provided us with information about dining and a wonderful pub down the street where one will meet everyone that lives in Bethel at one time or another. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bykasaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Setauket, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Austin Holidae B&B three nights and it was the most enjoyable stay we have ever experienced. Laurence and Marcia Austin are wonderful hosts. The room was comfortable and clean. The breakfasts, marvelous, served in a manner befitting royalty; down to the scones and homemade granola. And Laurence is really a great cook. I can't say enough about the ambiance of a Victorian setting; the lighting in the rooms, the furnture, the rugs and decorated walls. The living room was a peaceful place to relax and enjoy good conversations and a spot Baily"s!! It was a most wonderful time. And with our friends in the area, we will definately stay no other place when we come to visit again.

Room Tip: First floor rooms are spacious and comfotable
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

We have just spent four nights with hosts Laurence and Marcia at Austin's Holidae House and it was wonderful. The breakfasts alone are worth the trip. It's an elegant, comfortable B&B with very kind and gracious hosts who provide excellent service. The location is perfect - close to restaurants and a nice local coffee shop (great coffee and gelato). The house itself has lots of charm and the rooms are beautifully decorated and have all the amenities you'd expect and want! Our two kids (3 and 5) loved the experience as well.

If you want a home base to explore the region from or are just passing through, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macdougg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solingen, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

we called late afternoon for a double room for just one night on our journey across the northern
New England states on the way to Ontario. Lawrence invited us on his Carpe Diem rate
and we were extremly positive surprised to get such a wonderful victorian room, absolutly
clean and with the personal touch you looking for on vacation.
Lawrence is a real english gentleman and the fresh cooked breakfast was fantastic.
This BnB is one of the best and it was a great pleasure to stay there.
Wunderbar. Vielen Dank!
Bettina und Kay Solingen/Germany

Room Tip: Wer einmal in einem victorianischen Himmelbett schlafen möchte wähle das Zimmer links nach dem Haup...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

and it was well worth it! Laurence is a perfect host. Our room was on the second floor but we found ourselves enjoying the bird book on the coffee table in the parlor. My daughter and I enjoyed conversing with Laurence and two other guests while sipping sherry together. We were on our way to Grand Manon Island for a bird watching week but wanted to stay at a cozy B & B on the way. I carefully researched and found this delightful place! The breakfast was truly the best I have ever had. Everything was perfectly delicious! Oh, yes! We shall return.

Room Tip: The B & B is very close to a stone and mineral museum and several good restaurants. A perfect to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethel
18.3 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Resort
19.3 mi away
Royalty Inn
Royalty Inn
#3 of 7 in Gorham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bethel Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Victoria Inn
The Victoria Inn
#8 of 15 in Bethel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Inn at the Rostay
The Inn at the Rostay
#3 of 15 in Bethel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.4 mi away
Norseman Inn
Norseman Inn
#10 of 15 in Bethel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holidae House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holidae House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Holidae House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 85 Main St, PO Box 475, Bethel, ME 04217-4016 (Formerly Holidae House B&B)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Bethel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Bethel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holidae House Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your soft landing awaits with a restorative stay at the Holidae House Bed & Breakfast located in the center of quaint downtown Bethel, Maine. Fluffy and oh-so-comfortable, the white towels, comforters, sheets and draperies are of posh hotel quality and the embodiment of luxury in contemporary bath, body and bedding amenities. Sublime sleep is achieved complements of comfortable temperature controlled rooms for healthy, happy slumbers. For the ultimate in at-home coziness, the Holidae House B&B is sure to bring you many sweet dreams, timeless memories and a yearning desire to return for more. Comfy mattresses, elegant bed-dressings, beautiful silver tea trays, oriental rugs and carpets invite guests to relax in the well-appointed rooms. Each room has its own private bath, some with showers only and others with full bath tub and shower. Enjoy a delicious, home cooked gourmet breakfast during your stay with us. Start your day off with Jeanette's creations including Cream Cheese Stuffed French Toast with blueberries, strawberries and raspberries, Made From Scratch Blueberry Pancakes, Apple Cinnamon French Toast and others. We use free range organic eggs and maple syrup, both sourced locally. We also pick our own blueberries and apples and use them as long as the supply lasts. Jeanette's fresh baked breads are used in many of our breakfasts. For coffee lovers we grind beans each morning to provide you with the freshest coffee possible, and we even have decaf beans! For tea lovers we offer over 20 Twinings Teas, including black, herbal and green teas. We also have hot chocolate and spiced apple cider packets. A selection of juices is offered including orange, grapefruit and grape. Fresh fruit is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Holidae House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holidae House Bed & Breakfast Bethel, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing