We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The French Toast and the home made granola!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holidae House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 16 Bethel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We had just one night there, way too a short but it was memorable.
We were given a warm welcome by Lawrence and as it was 6.30pm we were able to partake in an evening cap :-) I do love Baileys, but there are many choices available.

The room was very comfortable with a private bath. The shower was great.
Lawrence was a fanastic host. He told us about the bar down the street, Suds, and recommeded a few restaurants.
In the morning, we had the most delicious breakfast; I had home made ganola and french toast, good coffee and home made bread. My boyfriend had eggs with bacon, which were cooked to perfection. Even the OJ was great!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Majella K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (555)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 555 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013

The Austin Holidae House B&B is a wonderful bed and breakfast that was a highlight of our trip. We spent several days meandering around Vermont, New Hamshire and Maine for our own personal fall folliage tour. We spent two nights at this great little B&B. Lawrence and Marcia (the proprietors) are extremely friendly and customer service oriented folks. They went above and beyond to ensure we had a great visit with them. I asked for a room upgrade if possible. Lawrence moved things around to allow us the upgrade and then choose not to charge us for the larger room! The breakfasts were outstanding!!! Home-baked breakfasts breads, afternoon cookies, local pressed apple cider, everything was delicious. The house has a wonderful charm with each room decorated in Victorian style. There is also a wonderful front porch with several chairs to just sit and enjoy the day. We will definitely stay here again and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The only reason I rated the sleep quality is because the beds are queen size and we're used to k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mskayellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Months ago I booked room5 which was confirmed by management because it had 2 beds in it .We arrived early and went up the street to have some lunch .On return we were told room 5 wasn't available but we could have room 1 or 2 .As my wife explained she's a bad sleeper and that was the reason for wanting the 2 beds .They did offer a blow up mattress on the floor .

Management had ample time to email and explain they had made a mistake and double booked room 5 .When we first walked in there ,we could have been told allowing us time to search for other accommodation .They chose not to do so and I don't believe they made a mistake .
Apart from this the room was noisy .
We only booked this place on T A references
The breakfast in the morning was good
I would not recommend this place

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pete056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaurenceandMarcia, Owner at Holidae House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

First, we again apologize for our error, which indeed we did not notice until the afternoon of your arrival. We had you for one of our larger rooms, and didn't see the notation that you wanted 2 beds. By that time we had already booked a couple with children into the room with two beds, and yes you were moved into one of our other larger rooms, but with only the queen bed. We know how important getting a good night's rest is when you travel and we regret that you did not enjoy your time with us. Had you said something we would have tried to find you alternate accommodations. We never want our guests to be unhappy, and we do apologize.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

This was a great place to stay - a beautiful location in Maine and the owners could not have been more welcoming. Free night caps were available and there were splendid breakfasts too - the home made French toast (owner's own recipe) is highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

What a gem, what a location, what wonderful decor, but most of all, such gracious hosts.
Our only problem, our stay with Laurence and Marcia was too short.

Our hosts offered so many little extas to make our stay complete. Free bottled water available along with cookies, fresh fruit and a large tea chest, games, cross word puzzles and a comfortable room to sit and relax or visit with fellow guests.

And then there was the breakfast! Several choices of homemade hot breakfast items, along with many types of cereal, all served with juices and flavourful coffee.

The room we had was decorated in the Victorian style and probably the finest guest room we have ever stayed in. Laurence and Marcia have displayed many fine antiques in this beautiful old guest home located right in the centre of the village.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheTweedles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

Charming room and building. The hosts were were so nice. Excellent breakfast! The eggs were so fresh they were from their own chickens which made us miss the ones we used to have. Our daughter loved her homemade cinnamon french toast! Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisawoloss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

My son and I recently met up with my best friend and her family at Austin's Holidae House. We came from Los Angeles and they came from Halifax. We were a challenge as guests with three kids under the age of 8 between us. Laurence and Marcia were completely unfazed by our various quirky demands and, indeed, were lovely and gracious. I felt like they were family. In fact, my son cried his sweet little eyes out when it was time to leave. The location of the Inn is ideal and sitting on the porch watching the rain was a highlight. If you want to get away from it all in a sophisticated and homey setting, this is the place for you and Laurence and Marcia are the perfect knowledgeable hosts.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank santamonicatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bethel hotels
0.3 mi away
The Bethel Inn Resort
1 mi away
The Jolly Drayman at The Briar Lea Inn
1.2 mi away
The Inn at the Rostay
The Inn at the Rostay
#4 of 16 in Bethel
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Victoria Inn
The Victoria Inn
#9 of 16 in Bethel
255 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chapman Inn
Chapman Inn
#7 of 16 in Bethel
187 reviews
1 mi away
Norseman Inn
Norseman Inn
#10 of 16 in Bethel
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holidae House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holidae House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 85 Main St, PO Box 475, Bethel, ME 04217-4016 (Formerly Holidae House B&B)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Bethel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Bethel
Price Range: £93 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holidae House Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your soft landing awaits with a restorative stay at the Holidae House Bed & Breakfast located in the center of quaint downtown Bethel, Maine. Fluffy and oh-so-comfortable, the white towels, comforters, sheets and draperies are of posh hotel quality and the embodiment of luxury in contemporary bath, body and bedding amenities. Sublime sleep is achieved complements of comfortable temperature controlled rooms for healthy, happy slumbers. For the ultimate in at-home coziness, the Holidae House B&B is sure to bring you many sweet dreams, timeless memories and a yearning desire to return for more. Comfy mattresses, elegant bed-dressings, beautiful silver tea trays, oriental rugs and carpets invite guests to relax in the well-appointed rooms. Each room has its own private bath, some with showers only and others with full bath tub and shower. Enjoy a delicious, home cooked gourmet breakfast during your stay with us. Start your day off with Jeanette's creations including Cream Cheese Stuffed French Toast with blueberries, strawberries and raspberries, Made From Scratch Blueberry Pancakes, Apple Cinnamon French Toast and others. We use free range organic eggs and maple syrup, both sourced locally. We also pick our own blueberries and apples and use them as long as the supply lasts. Jeanette's fresh baked breads are used in many of our breakfasts. For coffee lovers we grind beans each morning to provide you with the freshest coffee possible, and we even have decaf beans! For tea lovers we offer over 20 Twinings Teas, including black, herbal and green teas. We also have hot chocolate and spiced apple cider packets. A selection of juices is offered including orange, grapefruit and grape. Fresh fruit is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Holidae House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holidae House Bed & Breakfast Bethel, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing