We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An eclectic stay in Bethel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holidae House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 15 Bethel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
175 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“An eclectic stay in Bethel”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed here for one night after reading the excellent reviews on Trip Advisor. This place is an eclectic mix styles which may not suit everyone! We stayed in a lovely room with an old-fashioned feel (it even had a painted ceiling!) but the owners are very welcoming and friendly (Lawrence if a fellow Brit).

You can make your own tea and coffee in the lounge area downstairs. There is also a small tray with drinks such as port, sherry or whisky for an after-dinner drink (all free). Lawrence also made fresh chocolate chip cookies which he left out for guests in the lounge (very yummy!).

Our room was large with an en suite bathroom (shower), large wardrobe but no tv. It also has an air conditioning/heating unit. It is located centrally in Bethel and a short walking distance from the restaurants. There is enough parking space although it is tight when the B&B is full. There is a supermarket directly across the road.

My wife didn't sleep too well as she heard what she called 'ghost trains' but what she actually meant was that she heard the trains tooting their horns at 2am as the train tracks are not far from the B&B and echoed around the town. Spooky!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mexicofriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    481
    45
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
100
313
34
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

we stayed here for 3 nights in a wonderful room with a brilliant breakfast. The owners were charm personified. Bethel itself is a lovely, small spot and this small hotel is just perfect. Every aspect, from the warm welcome to the farewell was just great. The free drinks in the evening, in the lounge were very much appreciated. The verandah was a nice spot to while away an hour or so after a long walk in the spectacular countryside surrounding Bethel.
Brilliant all round.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David499564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodsville, New Hampshire, Usa
1 review
Reviewed 23 October 2013

An excellent overnight stop. Warm, comfortable, welcoming, and a great breakfast. Liked the obliging nature of the proprietor, but had a slight struggle to access the wifi. Did manage to, though, eventually.

Room Tip: We were in Rm 6 and was very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Lawrence and Marcia make this charming home a wonderful place to stay in Bethel. This beautifully decorated home has marvelous character and warmth that are surpassed only by it's hosts! They offer a wide selections of teas and even evening nightcaps if you choose. The fantastic and hearty breakfast are made to order. Lawrence makes a fabulous french toast you must try and they serve fresh eggs and homemade jams! They made our three day stay simply delightful and very cozy. We enjoyed visiting with Lawrence and Marcia and getting to know them and the other guests. They made wonderful recommendations where to visit local places and to eat. It's first class English hospitality with genuine warmth that will make you leave with a smile on your face and in your heart- you will be so happy you choose this B&B to stay at!

Room Tip: We had a room on the lower floor in the front of the house. Charming room with a lot of elegant det...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim N Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We chose Austin's Holidae House after reading so many wonderful reviews and we weren't disappointed. This B&B has "old world charm", comfortable and welcoming. The owners were gracious, helpful and accommodating. Our corner room was well appointed, with quality lines and towels. They suggested a local restaurant for dinner, which we very much enjoyed. A complimentary "nightcap" in the living room while chatting with the owner was delightful. Breakfast was delicious; homemade jam, free range eggs, home made cinnamon french toast w/local maple syrup and endless coffee. I would recommend this B&B to anyone wishing to stay at a lovely B&B in the Bethel area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 645RonS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
92 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We were lucky to get the last room here for a Friday night in Oct. We were welcomed warmly and shown around the house. Our room was small, but adequate. Nice and quiet too. It was within short walking distance to restaurants. The breakfast was very good. Just a very nice place to stay and priced reasonably. Free booze too if you so desire!

Room Tip: If you prefer a large room just ask if one is available. Owners are very accomodating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoseC49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacific Coast Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our short stay at this absolutely charming B&B which has a touch of English class, is warm and welcoming, and is well located. Breakfast was fantastic, the best we've had on our trip, and was made specially early for us! Highly recommend this lovely place!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boenie-56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethel
20.1 mi away
Mt Madison Inn & Suites
18.3 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Resort
0.3 mi away
The Bethel Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Inn at the Rostay
The Inn at the Rostay
#3 of 15 in Bethel
164 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Jolly Drayman at The Briar Lea Inn
0.1 mi away
The Victoria Inn
The Victoria Inn
#8 of 15 in Bethel
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holidae House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holidae House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Holidae House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 85 Main St, PO Box 475, Bethel, ME 04217-4016 (Formerly Holidae House B&B)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Bethel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Bethel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holidae House Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your soft landing awaits with a restorative stay at the Holidae House Bed & Breakfast located in the center of quaint downtown Bethel, Maine. Fluffy and oh-so-comfortable, the white towels, comforters, sheets and draperies are of posh hotel quality and the embodiment of luxury in contemporary bath, body and bedding amenities. Sublime sleep is achieved complements of comfortable temperature controlled rooms for healthy, happy slumbers. For the ultimate in at-home coziness, the Holidae House B&B is sure to bring you many sweet dreams, timeless memories and a yearning desire to return for more. Comfy mattresses, elegant bed-dressings, beautiful silver tea trays, oriental rugs and carpets invite guests to relax in the well-appointed rooms. Each room has its own private bath, some with showers only and others with full bath tub and shower. Enjoy a delicious, home cooked gourmet breakfast during your stay with us. Start your day off with Jeanette's creations including Cream Cheese Stuffed French Toast with blueberries, strawberries and raspberries, Made From Scratch Blueberry Pancakes, Apple Cinnamon French Toast and others. We use free range organic eggs and maple syrup, both sourced locally. We also pick our own blueberries and apples and use them as long as the supply lasts. Jeanette's fresh baked breads are used in many of our breakfasts. For coffee lovers we grind beans each morning to provide you with the freshest coffee possible, and we even have decaf beans! For tea lovers we offer over 20 Twinings Teas, including black, herbal and green teas. We also have hot chocolate and spiced apple cider packets. A selection of juices is offered including orange, grapefruit and grape. Fresh fruit is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Holidae House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holidae House Bed & Breakfast Bethel, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing