We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holidae House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 16 Bethel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We can't say enough good things about the surroundings and the people. The décor was quite Victorian and carefully chosen. Everything was comfortable. Laurence, the owner, was truly cordial and interesting. It's not everyday that you get to meet someone with an English accent, yet at home in America. He gave us some great tips on where to eat and where to ski. The breakfasts were expansive, filling and very well prepared.
We hope to go back again and again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richard_andrew_swift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (555)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 555 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2014

We have stayed at other hotels and B&B's in the Bethel area and were really getting a bit discouraged. A friend had told me about Austin's Holidae House, and we tried it. The room was spacious and beautiful, with lovey furniture. I was impressed with how clean and tidy it was kept - not the slightest spec of dust on any lamp, decoration, table, or fabric in the heavily ornate room (I couldn't even do this at home). Private in room bath with jacuzzi, tele, cozy reading nook off street parking, and easy walk to everywhere. Our host Laurence, was a lovely English gentleman, purveying upon us all those little extra touches, a selection of night caps, chocolates, organizing the perfect time for your homemade breakfast the next day...the toast rack was my personal favorite. Love this place! I have already made my next reservation.

Room Tip: Front right corner room..."The Blue Room" (not sure of its name)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We spent 16 days in Maine and I must say that the best Bed and Breakfast we encountered was at Austin’s. Laurence, the owner, was a splendid host, a perfect English gentleman. The best breakfast and everything was just wonderful. Bethel is beautiful. It is a must go!!

Room Tip: Must call a couple of months in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chaswarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Holidae House for a few nights and we quite enjoyed it. While we were referred to as "the young couple" by the other guests that were all significantly older than us, we didn't mind. The house is old and has its quirks but it also has a feeling of significance. Breakfast was yummy and the hosts were warm and sociable. This isn't the place to stay if you just want to sit in your room and watch TV as the TVs are quite small...but why would you want to do that anyway?

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for only one night, as we were skiing at Sunday River for two days and the location was very close by--about 10 minutes. We are a young couple and were a bit wary about staying at a bed & breakfast (we are used to hotels), but this place fulfilled out expectations by a million! When we walked in, we felt right at home when Lawrence greeted us and showed us around. He is such a nice man! The room was very nice, as was the whole house. When we woke up early in the morning ready to ski, Lawrence was already up cooking breakfast. We could order whatever we wanted and he made it, and there were so many coffee and tea options! The homemade granola was fantastic. It was such a perfect stay; we could not have asked for more but to stay longer!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madeline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Laurence and Marcia are fantastic! My girlfriend and I booked a last minute stay and were greeted warmly upon arrival late in the evening. Our room was very spacious and comfortable and the home is beautiful. The breakfast was unforgettable and we had a great conversation with Laurence and Marcia. I have always been a bit weary of B&B's and typically prefer hotels, however this place blew away my expectations. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

Comfortable room, great breakfast. Lacks wi fi if that's an issue. Little extras like cookies and games were nice. Inn keep was very friendly and accommodating. I'm not sure how much longer this review needs to be.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank DoughertySean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bethel hotels
0.3 mi away
The Bethel Inn Resort
1 mi away
The Jolly Drayman at The Briar Lea Inn
1.2 mi away
The Inn at the Rostay
The Inn at the Rostay
#4 of 16 in Bethel
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Victoria Inn
The Victoria Inn
#9 of 16 in Bethel
255 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chapman Inn
Chapman Inn
#7 of 16 in Bethel
187 reviews
1 mi away
Norseman Inn
Norseman Inn
#10 of 16 in Bethel
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holidae House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holidae House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 85 Main St, PO Box 475, Bethel, ME 04217-4016 (Formerly Holidae House B&B)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Bethel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Bethel
Price Range: £93 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holidae House Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your soft landing awaits with a restorative stay at the Holidae House Bed & Breakfast located in the center of quaint downtown Bethel, Maine. Fluffy and oh-so-comfortable, the white towels, comforters, sheets and draperies are of posh hotel quality and the embodiment of luxury in contemporary bath, body and bedding amenities. Sublime sleep is achieved complements of comfortable temperature controlled rooms for healthy, happy slumbers. For the ultimate in at-home coziness, the Holidae House B&B is sure to bring you many sweet dreams, timeless memories and a yearning desire to return for more. Comfy mattresses, elegant bed-dressings, beautiful silver tea trays, oriental rugs and carpets invite guests to relax in the well-appointed rooms. Each room has its own private bath, some with showers only and others with full bath tub and shower. Enjoy a delicious, home cooked gourmet breakfast during your stay with us. Start your day off with Jeanette's creations including Cream Cheese Stuffed French Toast with blueberries, strawberries and raspberries, Made From Scratch Blueberry Pancakes, Apple Cinnamon French Toast and others. We use free range organic eggs and maple syrup, both sourced locally. We also pick our own blueberries and apples and use them as long as the supply lasts. Jeanette's fresh baked breads are used in many of our breakfasts. For coffee lovers we grind beans each morning to provide you with the freshest coffee possible, and we even have decaf beans! For tea lovers we offer over 20 Twinings Teas, including black, herbal and green teas. We also have hot chocolate and spiced apple cider packets. A selection of juices is offered including orange, grapefruit and grape. Fresh fruit is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Holidae House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holidae House Bed & Breakfast Bethel, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing