We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gracious hosts” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holidae House Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holidae House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 15 Bethel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boxford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gracious hosts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Lovely B&B experience that one hopes for: an historic house with antique furnishings, gracious host and hostess and a wonderful cooked-to-order breakfast, and a good night's rest in a comfortable bed.

Room Tip: Room #6 is lovely with plenty of room for 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LRoxanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    474
    45
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
100
307
33
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Rockport, Maine
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

I stayed here with my son in June of 2013. It was a nice place to stay for a night. We were looking at colleges and stayed here along the way. It was pleasant and charming. The food was very good. The bathroom was worn and could have used a bit of repair. The beds were comfortable enough. I wouldn't recommend this to families with young children, but for teenagers or adults, this was fine. The host was quite friendly and helpful.
I think that the rating was somewhere between average and very good. Some things were average, some very good. No complaints.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ASLOV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaurenceandMarcia, Owner at Holidae House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for your review. Although you were with us over six months ago, we do remember you. We are glad you found your stay a good one. Our Inn is over 100 years old and has been updated and renovated over the years. The decor is of course not modern, as the Inn is not modern. That is one of the things that our guests enjoy and should be expected. Each room has a private bath, as you know. We pride our selves on keeping our rooms clean, welcoming and comfortable. We do often have families stay with us, with children from babies to young adults, like your son. We truly enjoy having them with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

We had a lovely one night stay here - a very charming older house with well appointed rooms. A comfortable bed, complimentary drinks and cookies in the living room upon our arrival and a splendid hosts. Laurence and Marcia are the most gracious, welcoming hosts you could imagine. The breakfast was truly english and we enjoyed it thoroughly - we will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank apt5004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

We had a lovely stay. We we were welcomed by Laurence and enjoyed his warm hospitality. We arrived at the end of a long day and there was brandy and tea available in the cozy sitting room. The breakfast was delicious and the conservations was lively. I look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Familytravel773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biddeford, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

We can't say enough good things about the surroundings and the people. The décor was quite Victorian and carefully chosen. Everything was comfortable. Laurence, the owner, was truly cordial and interesting. It's not everyday that you get to meet someone with an English accent, yet at home in America. He gave us some great tips on where to eat and where to ski. The breakfasts were expansive, filling and very well prepared.
We hope to go back again and again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richard_andrew_swift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camden, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

We have stayed at other hotels and B&B's in the Bethel area and were really getting a bit discouraged. A friend had told me about Austin's Holidae House, and we tried it. The room was spacious and beautiful, with lovey furniture. I was impressed with how clean and tidy it was kept - not the slightest spec of dust on any lamp, decoration, table, or fabric in the heavily ornate room (I couldn't even do this at home). Private in room bath with jacuzzi, tele, cozy reading nook off street parking, and easy walk to everywhere. Our host Laurence, was a lovely English gentleman, purveying upon us all those little extra touches, a selection of night caps, chocolates, organizing the perfect time for your homemade breakfast the next day...the toast rack was my personal favorite. Love this place! I have already made my next reservation.

Room Tip: Front right corner room..."The Blue Room" (not sure of its name)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

We spent 16 days in Maine and I must say that the best Bed and Breakfast we encountered was at Austin’s. Laurence, the owner, was a splendid host, a perfect English gentleman. The best breakfast and everything was just wonderful. Bethel is beautiful. It is a must go!!

Room Tip: Must call a couple of months in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chaswarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethel
18.3 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Resort
0.3 mi away
The Bethel Inn Resort
0.1 mi away
The Victoria Inn
The Victoria Inn
#8 of 15 in Bethel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Inn at the Rostay
The Inn at the Rostay
#3 of 15 in Bethel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.4 mi away
Norseman Inn
Norseman Inn
#10 of 15 in Bethel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chapman Inn
Chapman Inn
#5 of 15 in Bethel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holidae House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holidae House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Holidae House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 85 Main St, PO Box 475, Bethel, ME 04217-4016 (Formerly Holidae House B&B)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Bethel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Bethel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holidae House Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your soft landing awaits with a restorative stay at the Holidae House Bed & Breakfast located in the center of quaint downtown Bethel, Maine. Fluffy and oh-so-comfortable, the white towels, comforters, sheets and draperies are of posh hotel quality and the embodiment of luxury in contemporary bath, body and bedding amenities. Sublime sleep is achieved complements of comfortable temperature controlled rooms for healthy, happy slumbers. For the ultimate in at-home coziness, the Holidae House B&B is sure to bring you many sweet dreams, timeless memories and a yearning desire to return for more. Comfy mattresses, elegant bed-dressings, beautiful silver tea trays, oriental rugs and carpets invite guests to relax in the well-appointed rooms. Each room has its own private bath, some with showers only and others with full bath tub and shower. Enjoy a delicious, home cooked gourmet breakfast during your stay with us. Start your day off with Jeanette's creations including Cream Cheese Stuffed French Toast with blueberries, strawberries and raspberries, Made From Scratch Blueberry Pancakes, Apple Cinnamon French Toast and others. We use free range organic eggs and maple syrup, both sourced locally. We also pick our own blueberries and apples and use them as long as the supply lasts. Jeanette's fresh baked breads are used in many of our breakfasts. For coffee lovers we grind beans each morning to provide you with the freshest coffee possible, and we even have decaf beans! For tea lovers we offer over 20 Twinings Teas, including black, herbal and green teas. We also have hot chocolate and spiced apple cider packets. A selection of juices is offered including orange, grapefruit and grape. Fresh fruit is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Holidae House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holidae House Bed & Breakfast Bethel, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing