We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Role Model for B&Bs - Extraordinary!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holidae House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 16 Bethel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 October 2008

This B&B is fantastic!

Located in the centre of Bethel, the Austin Holidae House is a beautiful and cozy place. We (German couple, 30 and 32) spent four nights in room 1 (second floor). The room is nicely decorated and has a big comfortable bed and a small bathroom.

The breakfast is absolutely amazing. Every morning, Laurence or Marcia asked us what we wanted for breakfast - plain pancakes, pancakes with blueberries, French Toast, scrambled eggs, bacon or no bacon - you name it. There was granola, fresh fruit, cereals, freshly baked goods, home-made jam, Coffee, Tea, juice... Everything tasted wonderful.

On our three-weeks trip through New England we have stayed in a few B&Bs which are almost as nice as the Austin's Holidae House - but none that is run by such extraordinary amiable and friendly hosts. Let us give you an example or two: One morning at breakfast we asked Marcia for Cranberry juice. There was none, so later that day we got our own bottle. When we asked Laurence if we could put it in the fridge in the kitchen, he said "Of course, but let me show you something." He then led me to the fridge and showed me the bottle of Cranberry juice he had just bought - it was the best the Bethel supermarket had on sale.

Not to mention the small choice of chocolates we found everyday when returnig to our room in the afternoon...

To sum things up, Austin's Holide House is a rolemodel for B&Bs, and Marcia and Laurence are the nicest hosts you can imagine.

Cathrin + Jens

Stayed: August 2008
1  Thank Scrabble_and_Sambuca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (557)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

493 - 499 of 557 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2008

The owners were delightful. The breakfast was the best we had all week. The only drawback was a single bed set up in a room with a queen bed for a third person that was very uncomfortable.
Other than that - it was great.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank CindyKayeOklahoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2008

This wonderfully restored Bed & Breakfast, in the heart of Bethel Village, has all the comfort and charm you could ever want in a B&B. The owners are wonderful, outgoing, and catered to my every need. I was in Bethel on business, but found my stay with them to be relaxing and comfortable in every way. I'd love to return for a vacation! Thank you, Laurence and Marcia for being great hosts!!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank NoMeatPlease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2008

We stayed at the Holidae House B&B during a rainy week in August. The hospitality from the British innkeeper was totally delightful. We felt perfectly comfortable using the dining area and sitting areas as if we owned the place. This is the first B&B we visited in Maine that served a full "order as you wish" breakfast which included eggs, pancakes, sausage, yogurt, fruit, etc etc. We recommend this beautifully decorated and preserved historical inn with its lovely rooms to anyone who would like a truly hospitable and charming experience.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank qqqwwwReno_NV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2008

We have just returned from a trip to ME, NH, and VT. Without a doubt, the high point (in lodging) of our trip was Austin's.
Many people have high expectations for a B&B, but few find one that is every thing you expect.
From the moment we arrived, Laurence welcomed us with his charm and wit. He's also quite the baker, as a fresh batch of cookies, warm from the oven, were served up within minutes of our arrival. Our room was a VIctorian wonderland. I was originally concerned it was just off the main room/parlor, but there was no noise problem at all. My wife enjoyed the jetted tub. We both enjoyed the complimentary apertifs.
Breakfast was superb. Be sure you try his homemade granola before the eggs, bacon, etc. Best breakfast around. I'm sure there are other fine inns in Bethel but, should we return there, we will undoubtedly stay at the Holidae house.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank CABozeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2008

I have traveled to Bethel -- off and on -- for nearly 20 years for NTL conferences and meetings. I've stayed quite off the beaten path at times and at other times in some of Bethel's largest properties. However, nothing was as magical as my recent stay at Austin's Holidae House B&B. The innkeepers, Marcia and Laurence, are delightful. I had the good fortune of staying in their B&B for a little over a week, and from day one, they made me feel like a long-lost friend had returned home. Each day, Laurence and Marcia were attentive to my needs, preparing a cooked to order breakfast. There were many local goodies and treats, including the first harvest of the wild Maine blueberries. They assisted me with reservations of all sorts, and really went out of their way to be both candid and hospitable -- so uncommon in today's rushed travel world. The rooms were always clean with ample supplies. The location was perfect, easily accessible to meetings, restaurants, and jogging/hiking paths. And, Laurence, thanks for having bicycles available at the ready for quick outdoor trips. My future stays in Bethel will always be with Laurence and Marcia at Austin's Holidae House B&B.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank CA_Travels_Around
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2008

Laurence and Marcia made us feel at home during our three night stay. Breakfast was made to order, fresh and delicious. Laurence even asked us if there was anything he didn't have that he could get for us for the next day. Fresh baked cookies were a wonderful afternoon snack. Rooms are beautiful, clean and comfortable. The location is exceptional, on Main Street and close to many restaurants and shopping. We plan to come back every year.

Stayed: August 2008
1  Thank cgle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethel
0.3 mi away
The Bethel Inn Resort
1 mi away
The Jolly Drayman at The Briar Lea Inn
0.1 mi away
The Victoria Inn
The Victoria Inn
#9 of 16 in Bethel
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Inn at the Rostay
The Inn at the Rostay
#4 of 16 in Bethel
173 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chapman Inn
Chapman Inn
#8 of 16 in Bethel
190 reviews
19.8 mi away
Top Notch Inn
Top Notch Inn
#1 of 7 in Gorham
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holidae House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holidae House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 85 Main St, PO Box 475, Bethel, ME 04217-4016 (Formerly Holidae House B&B)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Bethel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Bethel
Price Range: £104 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holidae House Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your soft landing awaits with a restorative stay at the Holidae House Bed & Breakfast located in the center of quaint downtown Bethel, Maine. Fluffy and oh-so-comfortable, the white towels, comforters, sheets and draperies are of posh hotel quality and the embodiment of luxury in contemporary bath, body and bedding amenities. Sublime sleep is achieved complements of comfortable temperature controlled rooms for healthy, happy slumbers. For the ultimate in at-home coziness, the Holidae House B&B is sure to bring you many sweet dreams, timeless memories and a yearning desire to return for more. Comfy mattresses, elegant bed-dressings, beautiful silver tea trays, oriental rugs and carpets invite guests to relax in the well-appointed rooms. Each room has its own private bath, some with showers only and others with full bath tub and shower. Enjoy a delicious, home cooked gourmet breakfast during your stay with us. Start your day off with Jeanette's creations including Cream Cheese Stuffed French Toast with blueberries, strawberries and raspberries, Made From Scratch Blueberry Pancakes, Apple Cinnamon French Toast and others. We use free range organic eggs and maple syrup, both sourced locally. We also pick our own blueberries and apples and use them as long as the supply lasts. Jeanette's fresh baked breads are used in many of our breakfasts. For coffee lovers we grind beans each morning to provide you with the freshest coffee possible, and we even have decaf beans! For tea lovers we offer over 20 Twinings Teas, including black, herbal and green teas. We also have hot chocolate and spiced apple cider packets. A selection of juices is offered including orange, grapefruit and grape. Fresh fruit is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Holidae House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holidae House Bed & Breakfast Bethel, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing