We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holidae House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 15 Bethel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We visited the place for one night in our trip through NE USA. It was a very pleasant and nice stay where you feel at home and enjoy the great old English style. The owner is very friiendly and helpful to get around in Bethel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ron910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (555)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 555 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

This place is a combines the best qualities of an English country house hotel and a New England bed and breakfast. It's almost like visiting someone's home. We were there for two nights and really enjoyed ourselves.

Room Tip: Rooms 4 and 7 are on the front side so there is a little traffic noise but Bethel is a pretty sleepy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Laurence was just the most delightful host whom engaged in conversation with us and made us feel right at home :) the room was spacious and beautifully decorated. The best part of our stay was the breakfast the next morning!!! Laurence cooked the finest French toast and scrambled eggs to perfection. If you're looking for a quiet, relaxing place to rest your weary head and savor a scrumptious breakfast in the morning.... Look no further :)

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaurenceandMarcia, Owner at Holidae House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thank you for submitting your review. We want our guests to have the true B&B experience, and of course breakfast is half of the experience! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Bethel, situated near the Maine-New Hampshire border offers easy access to outdoor activities. We came for hiking and hoped that the B and B would be a great place to rest after a day with nature. It did not disappoint. The rooms are simple and well appointed with comfortable beds and plenty of towels. There is a spacious living room with comfortable seating. Tea (more varieties than imaginable), coffee and cold water are always available. There is a small refrigerator available for guests to use - and just ask the hosts and a freezer is available for use too.
Breakfasts are outstanding - come just for Laurence's French Toast.
Recommendations about local dining were reliable.
Like many similar places, our room could have used more options for hanging wet towels and the like. A light over the sink (in the bedroom area) and a larger mirror would be a good addition.

Room Tip: The upper rooms are accessible only by stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYC10025NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaurenceandMarcia, Owner at Holidae House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. Your descriptions were great! Some of the suggestions that you made cannot easily be accommodated in an historic building, but we will see what we can do. We are glad that you enjoyed yourselves. Do come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We've stayed here before and we were happy to stop in again. Lawrence is a charming host who grills up a most perfect slice of french toast. We stayed here as a rest-stop on our way both to and from the coast. We do like the roomier bathroom of Room 2 over Room 7. The one missing piece is a blowdryer. I'm sure they would have supplied one had I asked, but I decided to be a lazybones instead.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irishlazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaurenceandMarcia, Owner at Holidae House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

It is always so nice when we have guests who come back to stay with us. We enjoy getting to know you and hope you return again. Thanks for the good review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Austin's Holidae House B&B turned out to be a wonderful place to stay on our way up to Bar Harbor Maine. Laurence, the owner, greeted us on our arrival, and showed us to a wonderful room with private bath. He led us to a great restaurant a block away where we had the best seafood chowder. At night there was complimentary Port and other 'after dinner' drinks available. Having received a great night sleep we were treated to a great homemade breakfast of eggs, bacon, scones, muffins, coffee, tea, and juices. It was a wonderful stay, and we would definately stay there again. Marcia and Laurence, the owners, are spectacular!

Room Tip: ask for a quiet one near the door
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank peterjc2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaurenceandMarcia, Owner at Holidae House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you so much for the great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Laurence is a delight and wonderful host. He makes you feel welcome and will do anything to make sure you have a good stay. The breakfasts are amazing (farm fresh eggs, homemade baked goods), rooms are clean and comfy. He goes the extra mile, telling you the best places in town to eat or visit. His recommendations are always top notch. His true hospitality made this the best stay and made us repeat customers for sure.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bethel hotels
0.3 mi away
The Bethel Inn Resort
1 mi away
The Jolly Drayman at The Briar Lea Inn
1.2 mi away
The Inn at the Rostay
The Inn at the Rostay
#4 of 15 in Bethel
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Victoria Inn
The Victoria Inn
#9 of 15 in Bethel
254 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chapman Inn
Chapman Inn
#7 of 15 in Bethel
187 reviews
1 mi away
Norseman Inn
Norseman Inn
#10 of 15 in Bethel
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holidae House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holidae House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 85 Main St, PO Box 475, Bethel, ME 04217-4016 (Formerly Holidae House B&B)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Bethel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Bethel
Price Range: £93 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holidae House Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your soft landing awaits with a restorative stay at the Holidae House Bed & Breakfast located in the center of quaint downtown Bethel, Maine. Fluffy and oh-so-comfortable, the white towels, comforters, sheets and draperies are of posh hotel quality and the embodiment of luxury in contemporary bath, body and bedding amenities. Sublime sleep is achieved complements of comfortable temperature controlled rooms for healthy, happy slumbers. For the ultimate in at-home coziness, the Holidae House B&B is sure to bring you many sweet dreams, timeless memories and a yearning desire to return for more. Comfy mattresses, elegant bed-dressings, beautiful silver tea trays, oriental rugs and carpets invite guests to relax in the well-appointed rooms. Each room has its own private bath, some with showers only and others with full bath tub and shower. Enjoy a delicious, home cooked gourmet breakfast during your stay with us. Start your day off with Jeanette's creations including Cream Cheese Stuffed French Toast with blueberries, strawberries and raspberries, Made From Scratch Blueberry Pancakes, Apple Cinnamon French Toast and others. We use free range organic eggs and maple syrup, both sourced locally. We also pick our own blueberries and apples and use them as long as the supply lasts. Jeanette's fresh baked breads are used in many of our breakfasts. For coffee lovers we grind beans each morning to provide you with the freshest coffee possible, and we even have decaf beans! For tea lovers we offer over 20 Twinings Teas, including black, herbal and green teas. We also have hot chocolate and spiced apple cider packets. A selection of juices is offered including orange, grapefruit and grape. Fresh fruit is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Holidae House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holidae House Bed & Breakfast Bethel, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing