We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's like visiitng a friends Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holidae House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 15 Bethel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2009

My Husband and I recently stayed At Austin's Holidae House for a NewYears get away. The accomadations were comfortable and the owners are Great! we had a wonderful reccomondation from Laurence the owner to the Victoria House for dinner wich was wonderful !! the experience was relaxing to say the least and really nice people to meet

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chewy059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (555)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

482 - 488 of 555 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2008

We spent a weekend in Bethel as part of our fall getaway in 2007 and I must say - Marcia and Lawrence are delightful hosts. I should have written this review a long time ago, but kept putting it off as we've been moving cross-continent and I guess it pretty much leaves little space for anything else.

After 3 days in Vermont and New Hampshire we ended up in Bethel intending to make this our home base for foliage watching in Maine. What a wonderful decision that turned out to be! The innkeepers are warm, hospitable and go out of their way to make you comfortable. The food is excellent, the conversation scintillating and the atmosphere so relaxed that you forget that you are actually in an inn - it feels like you are at a good friends home....A good friend with Victorian taste that is :)

It is hard for me to review the inn in terms of an establishment for this very reason, ,the service was like hospitality, the food was fresh and home-cooked, there was no business-like behavior at all during our stay.

And Lawrence - thanks for the wonderful scones. I doubt if I'll ever have better ones, definitely not in India!

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank world2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2008

Lawence and Marsha are deeply careing persons, who created a lasting impact on us during our first and second....as well as our future stays (Elena, Mel and Violeta) by their warmth, sincerity, hospitality. Both of them have welcomed us wholeheartedly with smiles, stories, and 'a lasting "smashing'"personal welcome. Even, when we wished to contact each other by telephone, Lawrence could ALWAYS find his way to take the inn' personal telephone to the room, all the while creating the most WONDERFUL breakfasts and regaling us with his sincere peronality!!!!
They have OUR 1,000% RECCOMMENDATION!!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank melthompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2008

This is an amazing, fun,beautiful, friendly place to visit. The innkeepers are some of the most interesting folks I've met in a long while, I would whole-heartedly recommend this place to anyone but especially those that appreciate good. well made food and pleasant conversation.

Stayed: October 2008
1  Thank howdyPhx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2008

We're just back from our second stay at Austin's Holidae House and it was every bit as wonderful as the first! We were lucky enough to get the same room so we felt even more at home than the first time. The only change was a new mattress on the bed...part of an ongoing upgrade throughout the B&B we're told. We had absolutely no complaints with the old bed during our first stay but this was even more comfortable. We managed to time our visit just as the leaves were at their peak autumn color and the view around the area was just spectacular! We'd love to keep this to ourselves, but if you ever want to see a New England fall at its best this is the place to be around the second or third week in October. It's always interesting to see if a good experience holds up the second time around. In our opinion Laurence & Marcia's consistent attention to detail and to their visitors along with great hospitality and a genuine desire to make your stay a great experience will keep this place #1 for a long time!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bargeron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2008

Marcia and Laurence Austin provided the best experience out of (4) bed and breakfasts we stayed out in our two week stay in Maine. Their hospitality, the food and the overall experience at the B&B was fabulous. Thank-you Marcia and Laurence for your graciousness and fabulous homemade breakfasts! We're back in Kona, Hawaii and will miss your beautiful B&B and town. Aloha!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank LS G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2008

We could not have picked a better place to stay in Bethel. Laurence and Marcia are wonderful hosts. Nothing is too much trouble. Our room was clean and very comfortable. The breakfasts were as good as you find anywhere and chance to meet and talk with the other guests. Even items not on the menu such as poached eggs were served with a smile by Laurence.
Afternoon delights were freshly made and gave a chance to relax with a coffee before heading out for dinner. On return from dinner drinks were available in the lounge where we spent time chatting with Laurence, often ending in fits of laughter.
Nothing was too much trouble including providing assistance for one of the party who had been injured in a fall earlier in the holiday.
We hope Laurence and Marcia go from strength to strength with their venture.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank zandc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bethel hotels
0.3 mi away
The Bethel Inn Resort
1 mi away
The Jolly Drayman at The Briar Lea Inn
1.2 mi away
The Inn at the Rostay
The Inn at the Rostay
#4 of 15 in Bethel
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Victoria Inn
The Victoria Inn
#9 of 15 in Bethel
254 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chapman Inn
Chapman Inn
#7 of 15 in Bethel
187 reviews
1 mi away
Norseman Inn
Norseman Inn
#10 of 15 in Bethel
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holidae House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holidae House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 85 Main St, PO Box 475, Bethel, ME 04217-4016 (Formerly Holidae House B&B)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Bethel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Bethel
Price Range: £94 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holidae House Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your soft landing awaits with a restorative stay at the Holidae House Bed & Breakfast located in the center of quaint downtown Bethel, Maine. Fluffy and oh-so-comfortable, the white towels, comforters, sheets and draperies are of posh hotel quality and the embodiment of luxury in contemporary bath, body and bedding amenities. Sublime sleep is achieved complements of comfortable temperature controlled rooms for healthy, happy slumbers. For the ultimate in at-home coziness, the Holidae House B&B is sure to bring you many sweet dreams, timeless memories and a yearning desire to return for more. Comfy mattresses, elegant bed-dressings, beautiful silver tea trays, oriental rugs and carpets invite guests to relax in the well-appointed rooms. Each room has its own private bath, some with showers only and others with full bath tub and shower. Enjoy a delicious, home cooked gourmet breakfast during your stay with us. Start your day off with Jeanette's creations including Cream Cheese Stuffed French Toast with blueberries, strawberries and raspberries, Made From Scratch Blueberry Pancakes, Apple Cinnamon French Toast and others. We use free range organic eggs and maple syrup, both sourced locally. We also pick our own blueberries and apples and use them as long as the supply lasts. Jeanette's fresh baked breads are used in many of our breakfasts. For coffee lovers we grind beans each morning to provide you with the freshest coffee possible, and we even have decaf beans! For tea lovers we offer over 20 Twinings Teas, including black, herbal and green teas. We also have hot chocolate and spiced apple cider packets. A selection of juices is offered including orange, grapefruit and grape. Fresh fruit is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Holidae House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holidae House Bed & Breakfast Bethel, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing