We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional hospitality, delicious food and a wonderful setting!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holidae House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 15 Bethel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Exceptional hospitality, delicious food and a wonderful setting!”
Reviewed 21 July 2009

It is a classically appointed B & B in the Victorian style and everything about it surpasses expectations. Laurence and Marsha the owners and hosts made us very welcome. Laurence is English and is the personification of the English virtue of service, as well as being an excellent cook.
We had packed up and were about to load the car when I discovered that somehow I had bent the key to may car and couldn't open it. I called AAA and they were unable to help. Laurence then volunteered to drive me around looking for the tools that might fix my key. In the end he drove me out of town to his friend's farm and he was able to straighten my key. Laurence went far beyond his responsbility, he was the perfect host, taking care of our needs.

We left for one day outing and returned to the Inn for a second night, which was even better than the first. The town is quite picturesque and there are great hiking trails nearby.

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank StillJourneying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    485
    45
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
100
315
34
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2009

Carpe Diem worked for us. The hosts were gracious. I had recently been diagnosed with celiac disease and I was still working to figure out the diet. Lawrence worked to provide me with the most amazing pancakes and also assisted us with gluten-free dining arrangements which were perfect. We enjoyed the conversation, loved our quaint room, and would love to return. B & B's make me nervous since you really don't know what you are going to find. The reviews on tripadvisor really helped us make our decision which is why we wanted to post a review also.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucindals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethel, Maine
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2009

Our time at Austin's Holidae House was a true delight. The service is exceptional with working with us to meet our needs and the needs of my son's family. We received a personal touch which is lacking in many accommodations these days. We were greeted and cared for warmly and the breakfast was grand, a "proper" breakfast with homemade delights, including homemade spreads, baked goods, and farm fresh eggs. Also, the Holidae House is very convenient being quaintly nestled in the heart of Bethel Village. Pleasant stay, good food, and courteous service, that's the Holidae House. Would we stay again? You bet!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lhawk51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gray, Maine
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2009

This Bed and Breakfast is wonderful. We celebrate our anniversary here every year. This is our 4th year and we plan on many more. Laurence and Marcia are so friendly, they make you feel right at home. You are served a fantastic breakfast with many choices and several of the things are home made. The room we had was beautiful with the Victorian furniture, stained glass windows in the bathroom and the jacuzzi tub was so nice. It is located right on Main Street in Bethel, so you are close to just about everything you need or want. We love to sit on the porch at night and enjoy the peace and quiet of life in a small Maine town. We love this place and we would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dandy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, VT
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2009

The Holidae House was one of (if not the BEST) inn's I've ever stayed in. My husband and two-year old daughter were welcomed with open arms by the Inn's owners, Marcia and Laurence. I'm always nervous when traveling with a toddler, but as parents and grandparents themselves, they know it's not easy. The Inn was so charming and beautiful - you keep noticing little details, an old photo on the wall or the beautiful guilded ceiling in the dining room. I kept telling my husband how relaxed I was over our visit (4th of July). Breakfast was incredible - I don't think I've eaten so much in a long time. Laurence stated he wasn't professionally trained as a chef, but you wouldn't know it by his French Toast. This was a great stay and we plan on returning in August. On another note, I work at Burton Snowboards and can see that this would be the perfect retreat during the ski/snowboard season.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davish19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
1 review
Reviewed 7 June 2009

This was my second stay in the Holidae House and as good as the first in every way. Lawrence is the consummate host and provided us with one of the more tasty breakfasts I can remember. The rooms are very comfortable and elegant in their Victorian decor. I am looking forward to staying at the Holidae house many more times.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank empressrex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2009

I've stayed twice at Holidae house and both visits were lovely. The first caused me to book my second for a family gathering of 8. The living room has games and after-dinner drinks that we thoroughly enjoyed. Not the fanciest b&b I've ever stayed in but by far the most loving and enjoyable. Laurence is the consumate host with chocolates, afternoon tea and conversation. Breakfast is a delight -- there are several main choices and such treats as fresh rhubarb compote, homemade jellies, apricot scones and delectible croissants. Eggs any way you want them, french toast and pancakes -- you name it and they make it. This may not look like the most polished place in town but it is the best b&b I've experienced.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NOLAhero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethel
20.1 mi away
Mt Madison Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
The Bethel Inn Resort
1.2 mi away
The Inn at the Rostay
The Inn at the Rostay
#3 of 15 in Bethel
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Victoria Inn
The Victoria Inn
#8 of 15 in Bethel
243 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Jolly Drayman at The Briar Lea Inn
0.2 mi away
Chapman Inn
Chapman Inn
#7 of 15 in Bethel
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holidae House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holidae House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Holidae House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 85 Main St, PO Box 475, Bethel, ME 04217-4016 (Formerly Holidae House B&B)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Bethel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Bethel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holidae House Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your soft landing awaits with a restorative stay at the Holidae House Bed & Breakfast located in the center of quaint downtown Bethel, Maine. Fluffy and oh-so-comfortable, the white towels, comforters, sheets and draperies are of posh hotel quality and the embodiment of luxury in contemporary bath, body and bedding amenities. Sublime sleep is achieved complements of comfortable temperature controlled rooms for healthy, happy slumbers. For the ultimate in at-home coziness, the Holidae House B&B is sure to bring you many sweet dreams, timeless memories and a yearning desire to return for more. Comfy mattresses, elegant bed-dressings, beautiful silver tea trays, oriental rugs and carpets invite guests to relax in the well-appointed rooms. Each room has its own private bath, some with showers only and others with full bath tub and shower. Enjoy a delicious, home cooked gourmet breakfast during your stay with us. Start your day off with Jeanette's creations including Cream Cheese Stuffed French Toast with blueberries, strawberries and raspberries, Made From Scratch Blueberry Pancakes, Apple Cinnamon French Toast and others. We use free range organic eggs and maple syrup, both sourced locally. We also pick our own blueberries and apples and use them as long as the supply lasts. Jeanette's fresh baked breads are used in many of our breakfasts. For coffee lovers we grind beans each morning to provide you with the freshest coffee possible, and we even have decaf beans! For tea lovers we offer over 20 Twinings Teas, including black, herbal and green teas. We also have hot chocolate and spiced apple cider packets. A selection of juices is offered including orange, grapefruit and grape. Fresh fruit is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Holidae House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holidae House Bed & Breakfast Bethel, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing