We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot and needs a lot of work”
Review of Snow Cap Inn

Snow Cap Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Snow Cap Inn
Ranked #12 of 15 Bethel B&B and Inns
Winchester, MA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Hot and needs a lot of work”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

The main areas are very inviting with a gas fire place and comfy couches. I had pilled sheets on my bed. I opened the window because my room was too hot, but the window wouldn't close. The shade wouldn't open today. I had a room mate who needed a separate key but they didn't have one for her and didn't get her one the entire time for the entire weekend stay. I don't think they were fully booked so I don't know why they didn't move us to another room. We were in a group of 13 people. Some of moved to the top floor in the back and weren't disturbed by the loud party going on for some of our other guests in our group.

Room Tip: I was in room 425 which has it's own quiet wing at the top floor. Make sure that the room is not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    17
    17
    7
    6
See reviews for
12
22
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Skowhegan
Level Contributor
108 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Having never stayed here we weren't sure what t expect. The rooms are small and the heater was very noisy. Bed and pillows were OK. The room price was high for the quality of the room. They have a continental breakfast but we didn't partake.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rsskow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

I was staying at Snow Cap Inn for 3 nights. I reserved my room on Cyber Monday during special offers. After reading some reviews I got a little bit scared. When I arrived they gave me a room # 209 at the basement level. The room had 2 double beds and was very basic. It was clean and had everything that skier needs to feel happy. If you have a hi expectations then raise your spending and keep looking farther. But if you need a clean basic room just to spend a night and pay a reasonable price then this place will work for you. Shuttle service was working great! Breakfast was very good. I was very surprised by the Inn staff. All people who work there are very nice and always ready to help with any question.Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeachCoveManager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunbarton
Level Contributor
82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

When I received an email in September indicating that accomodations and lift tickets were on sale, I booked a room and believed that lift tickets for two days were included. When we arrived, the heat didn't work in the room so they had to change our room. They also told us that the price included only one day's lift ticket. When I told the not-so-charming reservations supervisor that I felt ripped off, she nastily replied "How can you feel ripped off when you only paid the discount price." The customer service representative was so discourteous that I don't think I'll ever come back to Sunday River. With so many other great ski areas in New England there is no point in putting up with discourteous staff.

Room Tip: Go elsehere
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bethel hotels

boston
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

The property was nice, clean and like an inn should be, quaint! fireplaces in the common areas ,fresh baked cookies in the morning. The only down side is that the outdoor hot tube is quite small, but if you are off season may not be bad. Very close to main ski lodge for Sunday river with easy shuttle access.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmedic12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South China, Maine
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed here the night before the Tough Mountain Challenge and arrived late in the evening only to find one of the beds in our room had blood soaked from the bedspread down to the fitted sheet. I'll let you make your own assumption as to what happened on that bed before we arrived. Needless to say we notified the front desk clerk about the issue and he said he'd be right up to our room. He stripped the bed and replaced all the bedding and was in and out in 10 minutes. I found that having to deal with this at 11:30 in the evening was not only a nuisance but just flat out disgusting. Not so much as an apology or an offer to credit or upgrade our room after he saw the grotesque mess that one of our beds was in. Ummm.....what the heck!
Housekeeping is definitely lacking in this hotel as I also found garbage in a cabinet while I was putting my bag away. Also, rooms are small so don't be expecting anything grand and spacious when you stay here. Bathroom is so tiny there isn't room for a sink in the bathroom - I thought this was just weird.
We stayed here because options are limited in this area but we needed to be there for the race in the morning - other than that I wouldn't stay here again. I would definitely try one of the other lodge hotels and pay a little more for better quality.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HollieK4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new hampshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We stayed at the Snow Cap for one night, we came to Sunday River a day early for a week long ski trip and the condo we rented was not available. The staff was very friendly and the room was clean, althought for some reason the hallway smelled of cooked broccoli..yes stinky broccoli and the smell permiated into the room. This hotel was very noisy, it appeared some of the rooms near us had LOTS of people sharing the room.
This hotel does have an awkwardly placed outdoor hot tub.It is right outside the front door and you need to run thru the lobby to get back to your room.

They do have a nice continental breakfast but it was so crowded we passed on it affraid we would miss the 1030a check out time.

This hotel was fine for the 89.00 we paid but not worth a penny more and certainly not for more than two night. It was way to loud and smelly.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank e0103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bethel hotels
3.9 mi away
The Bethel Inn Resort
2.4 mi away
The Inn at the Rostay
The Inn at the Rostay
#3 of 15 in Bethel
164 reviews
3.2 mi away
Norseman Inn
Norseman Inn
#10 of 15 in Bethel
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Jolly Drayman at The Briar Lea Inn
3.6 mi away
Holidae House Bed & Breakfast
3.8 mi away
Chapman Inn
Chapman Inn
#6 of 15 in Bethel
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snow Cap Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snow Cap Inn

Property: Snow Cap Inn
Address: Sunday River Ski Resort, Bethel, ME 04217
Region: United States > Maine > Bethel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Bethel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Snow Cap Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Snow Cap Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snow Cap Hotel Bethel
Snow Cap Inn Bethel, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing