We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better to be the squeaker than the squeakee”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn Biddeford / Portland
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Biddeford
Reviewed 12 March 2013

As I went to bed, I couldn't decide whether to rate this budget motel 3 or 4 stars. It certainly is inexpensive; using Americas Best Value discount card (get one online for immediate use) the room was $50.00 including taxes. The room was large and clean, the bed was comfortable, the ice machine and fridge worked, wi-fi signal was good, the check-in was fine, and although the motel is close to the road, road noise was almost imperceptible.

Then 6:00 AM came, and the folks upstairs began to move around their room. I have the feeling every floorboard in their room was loose, because no matter where they were, there was the squeak. Then it would quiet down, I'd start to nod off, then SQUEAKKKK. This kept up until 7:30 AM, by which time my restful night had become teeth-clenching day.

The room was 102, next to the office. I have no idea whether this problem is limited to the room I was in, or occurs in all the downstairs rooms. If it happens in all the rooms, I'd rate the downstairs rooms 2 stars. If the rooms upstairs are similar to the room I was in, I rate them 4 stars as budget hotel rooms.

Room Tip: Go upstairs, of course.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AdirondackBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
There are newer reviews for Americas Best Value Inn Biddeford / Portland
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2013

I stayed here for an extended period of time on my last trip because of the price, I've now stayed here 7 times over the last 7 months, averaging once a month for several days or more. Like another reviewer, my room didn't have a microwave but the owner brought one to my room when I inquired, that's great service. Also, I noticed another reviewer complaining about the hotel being oversold, my recommendation to that person and others is never book through a reseller like they described, always go directly to the Americas Best Value Inn main web site. I swear I am not an employee or owner, this hotel just does a great job at making you comfortable at the best price around, and I travel extensively, so I give credit only where it is well deserved. The owners live on-sight so they are always around and glad to help if you need something.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PineTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

We were expecting little from the website and reviews. Me the manager and he was very helpful.. good wifi.... warned us about an upcoming blizzard in our home area. Room was clean ... strong wifi signal... good heating system... very cold cold and evening..... nice shower and warm water... clean.. we had reserved for a three day stay but by that evening we knew it would be very bad to commute home and Saturday when we were due to leave looked no better.
Talked to the manager on Thursday morning and informed him we had to head home .. he agreed.. cancelled our longer stay and just charged for the evening..

This made for very loyal and happy customers.

Room Tip: no restaurant or pool that we are aware of...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

After finding other hotels exorbitantly overpriced, we selected this hotel & were pleasantly surprised. We were cordially received at the reception desk, the room was very clean & included a fridge. Location was great - not far from restaurants & shopping, etc. Only coffee offered in the morning, however. AAA/CAA card honoured. Would readily stay here again. Great value & price.

Room Tip: If many pieces of luggage, suggest ground floor as no elevator.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Please understand this is a discount, no-frills hotel. That said, it is a great deal. The owner Raz lives on-site and is very attentive to any concerns (internet was down, Raz immediately determined a housekeeper accidentally unplugged the router in a storage room). The room I stayed in was extremely clean and everything was brand new: the bed and bedding, the furniture, and carpet. I've stayed several times in the last few months because it's such a good deal. My only recommendation to future lodgers is to request a room away from a smoking room, and not above a smoking room. Maine gets cold in the winter and smokers don't want to go outside, so I'm sure Raz has smoking rooms for business reasons. For the money, you can't go wrong.

Room Tip: Don't stay next to or above a smoking room, otherwise the rooms I've stayed in were clean an...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PineTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

The guy at the desk is so nice and will do anything for you. Although there is only Coffee in the morning, you DO get a fridge in the room, and a soda machine and ice machine. The Wifi always works, and it is clean and cozy. Just would LOVE a microwave in the room. I imagine I could bring one next time. I think I will. Also, this is right between OOB and Kennebunk. Perfect. I will always stay here. They accept AAA for $10 off. The room was $88 plus tax during the week with AAA discount. Likey likey. Ha.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bamargeracom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abvibiddeford, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn Biddeford / Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2012

Thank you for taking your time to tell us about your pleasant stay. We take much pride in our property and like to treat our guests like family. We do have microwaves in some rooms all you need to do is ask ahead of time. We thank you again for the kind words and can't wait to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We stayed here just overnight, but the front desk clerk was nice, the room was very clean and nice for the low, low price of the motel. And it wasn't that far from a few restaurants or the highway. We were very well pleased with the room and the overall appearance and staff.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abvibiddeford, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn Biddeford / Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2012

Thank you for your positive review! We know you are busy and it takes time to post your thoughts, but we do appreciate it. We take alot of pride to make our property welcoming and clean and we are happy that you enjoyed it. WE are always maintaining and cleaning! We look forward to seeing you again!

Again, thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Biddeford
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Biddeford
3.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn Saco
Rodeway Inn Saco
#6 of 10 in Saco
49 reviews
3.5 mi away
Exit 5 Motel and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Saco / Biddeford
10.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland
3.0 mi away
Ramada Saco/Old Orchard Beach Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn Biddeford / Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Biddeford / Portland

Address: 2 Pomerleau St, Biddeford, ME 04005-9457
Region: United States > Maine > Biddeford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Biddeford
Price Range: £47 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn Biddeford / Portland 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the 2 Diamond AAA Approved Americas Best Value Inn of Biddeford, Maine located just south of Portland. We are conveniently located a 1/2 mile from Interstate 95 at Exit 32 on State Road 111. Our Property is just minutes from Maine's beautiful Atlantic coastline and a few miles from many of New England's historical sights and towns. We offer 19 pleasantly furnished guestrooms with all the comforts of home. Come stay with us here in Biddeford and experience Maine's Coast in the true New England spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Biddeford / Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn Biddeford / Portland Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing