We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great find”

The Mill Stream Deli, Bakery & B.B.Q.
Cuisines: American, Soups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Cleveland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

A bakery and BBQ what more could you ask for? Plus the service was great. Bacon scones, spinach pinwheels, strawberry shortcake with local berries and deviled eggs were a few of the goodies.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank MakeupMamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    8
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blue Hill, Maine
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“highly recommend!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

after our first visit here months ago we were instantly hooked. amazing homemade soups and breads, fresh local veggies, and wonderful smoked meats. and the breakfast menu is the best in the area hands down. great family atmosphere and incredibly affordable. highly recommend!!

Helpful?
1 Thank 207chase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maine
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“won't go back, got very sick”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

My husband and I ate here with our 2 small children, Our first interaction with one of the owners went like this: I asked my daughter what she would like for lunch today, the owner piped in "we don't have hotdogs here." I simply replied excuse me? she then repeated her statement. I said ok, that's good my kids don't eat hot dogs. Our food tasted ok, but I was VERY sick for 4 days after eating the chicken salad. We should have left after she was so rude to us, but we wanted to try out a "local deli".

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tandjMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linluv2u, Owner at The Mill Stream Deli, Bakery & B.B.Q., responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Hello tandjMaine's,
We the owners of The Mill Steam Deli, Bakery and BBQ. We want to respond to your review of our restaurant. We have taken the past two weeks to talk with our regular customers, particularly those who ate here the week of April 7, - 14 of 2014. Since we could not remember the exact day you & your family were in for lunch.
We find it strange( actually hard to believe), that you were VERY sick for 4 days after eating here- when NO ONE ELSE we spoke with was, we have asked over 40 people, especially those who ate our chicken and curried chicken salads during the week of 4/7/14-4/14/14.
We also find it VERY STRANGE you, as a local with kids did not call us directly and or the health department with this important complaint and information.
It is EVEN MORE STRANGE you stated our salad made you sick when we take such care and so many CORRECT sanitation steps when we prepare ANY poultry- we have a separate table & location in our kitchen for poultry and meats. We cook all poultry to an internal temperature of 185 degrees. We “quick” cool our roasted meats, the person who cleans the roasted chicken wears single use gloves and the final step is we taste our food EVERY DAY, EVERY ITEM- NO EXCEPTION. We also keep a roasting, smoking calendar to keep track of when we roast or smoke meats & how much we sell in how many days.
If you would like a full refund for you meal, please come in and we will gladly refund every cent.
We stand behind our food quality 100%.
Tim and Linda Bingham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Try this once and we guarantee you'll return!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Try this place once and we guarantee you'll return! We stopped by for lunch one day in late October. The sandwiches were amazing, but even more fun was talking to the owners. This deli/bakery is really a labor of love -- and it shows. They are committed to using local produce and seem to make everything from scratch. My fav was the "Raw Salad," which I discovered in the fridge. They chop kale, spinach, cabbage and carrot into very thin strips, then offer an incredible miso, lemon, ginger dressing, topped with pumpkin seeds. Not only was it amazing, it was super healthy. (So healthy you can splurge on some of their fab bakery items -- sans guilt!)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DianeinDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
254 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch choices + dessert choices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

We happened upon this Deli while search town for a bookstore. Misty day found us looking for warm beverage and lunch. We had the Mill Veggie Burger (moist, so tasty, and not overly filling), Mill Grill Cheese (not your plain grill cheese had that extra plus), side of cold slaw (lightly coated finely cut cabbage), and Capt'n Eli's Root Beer ( new to us being from out of state). For dessert the seasonal Pumpkin Carmel Pound Cake, thick and rich with lots of pumpkin and pumpkin pie spices. Left completely satisfied and ready for a nap, all for about $20.00 for two. Worth the stop!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Mill Stream Deli, Bakery & B.B.Q. also viewed

Blue Hill, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Blue Hill, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Blue Hill, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Blue Hill, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Blue Hill, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Blue Hill, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing