We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Barncastle Hotel + Restaurant
Nearby Hotels
Ramada Ellsworth(Ellsworth)(Great Value!)
US$130
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Colonial Inn(Ellsworth)
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eagle's Lodge Motel(Ellsworth)(Great Value!)
US$93
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Ellsworth - Bar Harbor(Ellsworth)(Great Value!)
US$123
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveller rating
22
26
5
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
22
26
5
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewson tapcrab cakeswood fired pizzaa nice place to staynew englandpizza optionsgranolastay there againcontinental breakfastsuitecrustmainechancesspeltcoastappetizers
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 60 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Staff is very nice
Very comfortable bed in Suite 2, but pull out couch is subpar
Continental breakfast is good
Wood fired pizza is excellent
Pool room in the back. Enjoyed a few games with some locals
Overall, a wonderful stay. Stopped back by for more pizza and pool after a 3 day stay elsewhere before driving up to Mount Desert Isle

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Refcpts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

This was by far the best trip I have ever been on. Not only was everyone friendly and very helpful, but the room passed all expectations I could have ever had. I stayed in room three. Not only was the room clean, adorable with great character, but how can you go wrong with a fabulous fire place to cuddle up and fall asleep to. I will be staying at the Barncastle everytime I make the trip up. Thanks to Cory for the suggestion to stay at this fabulous place. The Barncastle made the trip so perfect. I can not wait to return.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mainebeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Not exactly in the middle of all the activity so the inn is relatively a quiet place. We stayed in Room 5 which had a large king bed, a nice sitting room and large bathroom. The floors could use some work as well as the bathroom fixtures but all in all clean and neat. The resturant food was very good and the portions were large. Several dining areas to choose from depending on your mood. Pub, sunroom and two other dining areas of the house which I suppose were once a dining room and a palor. All in all a good value.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frederick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We stayed in room 3 recently (the turret room). It was large, and the fireplace was great. It's kind of fun just picking up a key and going to your room without a lot of formalities (the key holder was also the bartender the afternoon when we checked in). They were very helpful when we asked if the fireplace could be used, they bent over backwards to get wood, kindling and matches).

There were a few things that made this room less than perfect. It is an older building, and there is some wear and tear in the room. Not a big deal, and somewhat part of the charm. The carpet is the flat, industrial kind. Something a little more plush would have been nice. Minor, but a bit of a downer when we were staying there especially for our anniversary. As mentioned in other reviews, there is some road noise. Minor to those of us who have lived in cities and busy suburbs, but more than usual for Maine.

My biggest concern is that it is connected to Room 4. There was a family with two small children next door, and every noise and scream from the children came through clear as day. Luckily, they went to bed early, and by the time we got home from a late dinner, they were asleep. There is the possibility of unwanted noise from that connected room.

Overall, though, it was a lovely building ,and the room certainly had a lot of charm and character.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChicagoRory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We sat in the Pub, which was quaint and charming. We ordered the garlic bread as an appetizer, which was yummy. The menu has lots of delicious looking options, especially for a vegetarian. We opted for the Athenian Pizza, with artichoke hearts and Kalamata olives. The spelt dough was crunchy and chewy at the same time and the pizza tasted like heaven. They had a pretty expansive fancy beer selection and our waitress was very sweet and helpful. This looked like a really cute place to stay, too. We are sad we're only in Blue Hill for a few days because we would definitely come back and try more pizza options!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MCB0607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews