We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Very Positive Stay”

Barncastle Hotel + Restaurant
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Blue Hill
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Barncastle Hotel + Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Blue Hill
Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Very Positive Stay”
Reviewed 9 June 2009

Laurie escorted us up to room #4 appointed with a very comfortable King bed. Barncastle Hotel is housed in a large Victorian home which includes a restaurant on the main floor. We arrived late and heard no noise from the downstairs spaces. Our morning breakfast generously included yoghurt, fruit, baked goods, egg and bacon breakfast sandwiches and hot beverages. We had a very positive experience here.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank lewiejay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    22
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
9
31
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
d.c.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2009

I think the barncastle is one of the most beautiful b&b's ive stayed in. They are friendly but not in your face which is what I detest about a lot of B&B's. The restaurant is also quite good and I have made it a point to eat there three times in two short stays! (pizza is the best) good location and the rooms are very clean yet homey. No flowery old fashioned b&b stuff, just beautifully simple decor . good wireless as well.
breakfast includes warm blueberry muffins. yum

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank D_c_Travelsalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, DE
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2008

I should have paid attention and noticed that the two reviews on this property were in 2007. We chose to stay at this hotel because of the reviews, but things were very different for us.

We arrived in the middle of the afternoon. To get through the front door, we had to interrupt the group of folks smoking cigarettes on the porch (the designated smoking area). Inside there was no one to greet us. We never did meet the owners, or the owners substitutes. We stood in the lobby, and although there were wait staff for the restaurant and pub walking past us, we were never addressed. We finally found a small window at the side of the room, and on the counter was a key, with our name on a small slip of white paper.

We took the key and proceeded to try to find the room. When we found the room (above the billiard room), there were about 20 black flies buzzing in the skylight. We picked up magazines and started killing them.

Every time we went out the door to carry in our things, we had to walk through the smokers. No one from the staff ever acknowledged us.

That evening the temperature outside was 38 degrees. The room had no heat. We turned up the thermostat, but it didn't respond. My husband finally went downstairs to find someone who would help us find the heat. After a while, he found a person who went and got a space heater to put beside the bed. It barely kept the temperature at 60 degrees. In the morning my husband carried the space heater into the bathroom, and took a shower. The room was cold, and there was no water pressure. He said it reminded him of showers he had taken at winter Scout camp in his youth!

When we went downstairs in the morning there was a very limited and unimpressive breakfast set out on a table. There was also a piece of red construction paper with a sign saying to contact the owners if we needed help, and a flashlight and a phone!

This may have been the end of the season, but we paid in-season rates, and we definitely felt cheated. Since no one connected with the operation ever materialized (we had paid by credit card over the internet), I felt I had to write this review, to give an up-to-date opinion.

Although they have a beautiful web site, with photos that are very impressive, we won't be staying at this facility again.

  • Liked — The room
  • Disliked — The lack of attention by the staff
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maggie524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bartlesville, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2007

After four days of hard vacationing, we were looking forward to relaxing when we got to Blue Hill and the Barncastle. We were not disappointed. Elegant interior, spacious room, and great food in the accompanying restaurant. What a relief to not have to experience the flowered wallpaper and period antiques you find in other Victorian B & B's! Our room (#5) had microwave, fridge, coffeemaker, cable TV, sitting room with full size couch and King size bed. The bathroom was 12 x 12 with the first claw tub in Blue Hill, plus a seperate shower. The restaurant specializes in pizza and is quite popular with the locals. However, we tried the spinach and goat cheese salad, crabcakes, and clam chowder - all excellent. The bar serves Guiness on tap, but also made me a great peach martini. All in all we would definitely stay here again and again.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Guntherhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2007

My husband and I just spent an amazing anniversary weekend at this hotel. It looked beautiful on the website, and is even better in reality!

The newly renovated historic "castle", has tons of character and charm. Many of the original features are still in place, like tin ceilings and "Blue Hill's oldest bathtub". At the same time, it has been updated in a modern style which is warm, inviting and totally unpretentious (we found the new owners, Lori & Isaac Robbins, to be the same!). The hotel also has an on-site restaurant & pub with delicious wood-fired pizza and a cozy atmosphere.

We stayed in "Suite 3" , which was stunning. It has a huge soaker tub, an incredibly comfortable bed, and a flat screen tv. I also appreciated all the little in-room touches like fresh flowers & organic coffee.

I can't say enough good things about this place - if you are planning a trip to Maine, put it on your list!

  • Liked — Lots of character, with modern amenities
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelElf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blue Hill
12.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor
19.2 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge
18.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,619 reviews
15.1 mi away
Bucksport Motor Inn
Bucksport Motor Inn
#1 of 2 in Bucksport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
10.3 mi away
Pentagoet Inn
Pentagoet Inn
#1 of 3 in Castine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barncastle Hotel + Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barncastle Hotel + Restaurant

Property: Barncastle Hotel + Restaurant
Address: 125 South St, Blue Hill, ME 04614-6112
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Blue Hill
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Blue Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Barncastle Hotel Blue Hill
Barncastle Hotel + Restaurant Blue Hill, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing