We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Blue Hill Inn
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Barncastle Hotel + Restaurant(Blue Hill)(Great Value!)
US$161
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramada Ellsworth(Ellsworth)(Great Value!)
US$131
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Colonial Inn(Ellsworth)
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eagle's Lodge Motel(Ellsworth)(Great Value!)
US$93
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Ellsworth - Bar Harbor(Ellsworth)(Great Value!)
US$130
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$148
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (147)
Filter reviews
147 results
Traveller rating
134
11
0
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
134
11
0
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bblueberry pancakescocktail houreach afternoonevery amenitymoment we walked in the doorbeautiful mainethe entire staffnext morningfull kitchencomfy bedthose placeslocal ingredientsbeautiful roombreakfast itemsa lovely stayacadia national park
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 147 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2012

My husband and I spent three nights in September at The Blue Hill Inn. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The Inn is charming, the rooms very comfortable and the food was delicious. Sara and Sebastian made our visit even more enjoyable with their attentive help. Thank you Sara and Sebastian! The location was perfect for visiting Acadia National Park and Deer Isle. I highly recommend The Blue Hill Inn and look forward to future visits.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vanessa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

This is a charming old inn with an excellent restaurant for both dinner and an outstanding breakfast. In addition, the Inn puts out beverages and cookies all day and night ,and hors d'ouevres between 6.00 and 7.30pm. The rooms vary but most have reasonable size bathrooms and good beds, the only complaint being the thiness of the walls. The staff are charming and very helpful.

Good location in a quiet village which includes an outstanding restaurant, Arborvine, and close to a lot of beautiful places including Acadia National Park and Bar Harbor. Also a reasonable drive to Bangor or Camden.

Room Tip: Room 4 on second floor if possible. Large and good bathroom
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank woolyFTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Absolutely loved the food. An evening for four - all self-appointed foodies and restaurant critics. We were incredibly, happily surprised to find a terrific rose champagne selection on the wine menu (Billecart-Salmom) - seriously, try to find a good (or any, for that matter, rose on a Peninsula menu).

The food was terrific - fresh, delicately and thoughtfully prepared, farm-fresh and creative. Lobster ravioli and halibut dishes far exceeded expectations. Desserts were on par and on point.

We are a group that eats out frequently all over the Peninsula and our first experience with The Blue Hill Inn resulted in much interest in repeating a wonderful evening.

Thank you Sarah and Devyn!

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Sangria78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

My husband and I came over from Belgium for our honeymoon, after finding this little hotel/bed and breakfast on line and reading the rave reviews and checking out the great photos. This sort of thing is always a bit of a leap in the dark, but email contact with Sarah was excellent so we booked, paid and sat back to wait a few months for our holiday to come round. As you can imagine, through the long wet Belgian spring and non-existant summer we held out high hopes for our trip. We weren't disappointed!

The place is a delight - the price:quality ratio is excellent. The hotel is charming with the communal rooms actually being rooms you could really hole up in if the weather was bad (one has a log fire); the staff were so friendly and helpful nothing being too much trouble; food was great - they have a very good chef for their evening meals in their restaurant and the breccies were perfect with the size of portions being to your choice, so no wasted food. They offer lovely canapés in the evening and homemade cookies with coffee or tea throughout the day - just one example of their attention to detail. The bedroom we had was light and airy and very attractive and the bed super comfy.

We stayed nine nights and on the last we had to move into another bedroom because our room was reserved by another couple. This was discussed well in advance and other bedrooms which could have been taken for the full nine nights were proposed, but I had set my heart on the one that we had for the first eight nights. So for the last night we were in a room with a working fireplace, which was lovely as both my husband and I really miss the log fire we had in our last home.

The surrounding area has much to offer - you are an hour away from nice little fishing towns on the N1 and 45 from Acadia national park and Bar Harbour. The area immediately around Blue Hill is also well worth exploring. Lots of quiet coves and a couple of accessible little beaches where the moon rise is just exceptional. We found one with a lobster jetty into the bay which made for one of out best memories.

All in all, worth every penny and our stay has given us a life time of splendid memories. Thanks to Sarah, Kip and the team. I managed to resist the temptation to hide in the hotel and live on purloined cookies, but man it was tough leaving!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

My friend and I stayed at four B&Bs on the Maine coast, including the beautiful federal style Blue Hill Inn. Our room was lovely, clean and comfortable. Sarah was away the evening we arrived, but her staff was professional and attentive to our needs. Coffee, tea and cookies were available when we arrived. The hors d'oeuvres were so delicious and plentiful, we almost spoiled our appetite for dinner there.....but glad we didn't because it was fabulous! The beds were comfortable for sleeping and although our room faced the street, all was quiet and we slept soundly. Breakfast was delightful. There were two main choices, but they made a special omelet for my friend because she doesn't like peppers. Sarah came by and chatted with us.....giving us great advice and information for the rest of our trip. The Blue Hill Inn is one of the special memories of our trip.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Svetlana09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews