We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous B&B in beautiful Maine”
Review of Blue Hill Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blue Hill
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blue Hill Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Blue Hill B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Each room is different in this intimate little gem in the heart of Blue Hill. Every morning breakfast started with fresh fruit, a small pastry (date scone, blueberry muffin) and a choice of 5 dishes. All were fabulous, as was the friendly service and delightful, attentive owner.

Will definitely repeat!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2013

The service here is exceptional and outstanding! We stayed here on a 9 day trip up on the coast of Maine. That's really all I need to say. Sarah, the owner, is lovely. She sits with you, talks to you, brings you a welcome beverage and sweet treat. The staff at breakfast is so attentive, kind, quick. Breakfast is delicious. They are very professional. We had a loft room or maybe kind of a converted attic room and it was great with comfortable beds and linens and nice toiletries. Neat antiques too. Our children loved having their own little area and they loved the painted wooden chickens Sarah gave to them-so cute. Thank you, Sarah. We loved Blue Hill and how quiet it was. You feel like you are away from the rest of the tourist here. We went to a pretty park on the point there which had nice playground equipment. The pottery place there was so kind-they let our 5 year old create on the pottery wheel and insisted on shipping her item to us free of charge, which we should get at Christmas time. We ate the Barncastle and food was good.

Room Tip: (Sorry I can't clear the ratings above on pool or fitness center. I don't believe the inn ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HonestlyNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

My sister and friend and I stayed last week and loved our visit. We were in 3rd floor suite which worked put beautifully with all her special touches from lotions, shampoo, shower gel all for Blue Hill. The breakfast was so tasteful and we loved that all local farms were wonderful, blueberry pancakes, the bacon was outstanding and oh the banana bread was delicious.they need to have cookbook. We will be back

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

My mother and I stayed at The Blue Hill Inn for one night on July 3-4, 2013 as part of a 2-week trip in New Hampshire and Maine. We simply loved it! The Blue Hill Inn is quaint and charming and incredibly well- maintained. The public rooms are beautiful as is the lovely garden. We loved our sleeping room with all of its elegant touches and could go on and on about the incredible customer service. When we arrived the assistant innkeeper insisted on making us dinner reservations and we loved her recommendation of The Boat Yard Grill, which was a very unique and delicious casual local hangout. The breakfast the next morning was fantastic. Everything was made to order and served in an elegant and bright breakfast room. The innkeeper, Sarah, was as friendly and helpful as all of the previous reviews claimed. She spent a lot of time visiting with my mother and I, cheerfully answering questions and telling us about the history of her almost 100-year old inn. My only negative comment was that I felt their website was a little misleading about the "Afternoon Refreshments" (there were just some small squares of brownies out) and the "Innkeepers Reception" from 6-7 PM (there was just 2 tiny plates out - one with 6 little cucumber slices on it with some red pepper spread on it, and the other with a few slices of smoked salmon on it). But we did truly love our stay at the Blue Hill Inn and it was a real highlight of our vacation!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shira K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

My wife and I stayed here July 16-19th. We were in the Cape Studio which is detached from the main Inn, but right next door. The studio gave us a small kitchen and sitting area. Out stay there was delightful and we highly recommend the Inn. Sarah, the Innkeeper, is one of the nicest people you'll ever meet. She arranged for us to meet an author in town whose articles I particularly enjoy. The breakfasts at the Inn are absolutely wonderful. There is a nice variety to choose from, and the quality is superb! The wait staff in the dining room was most friendly and accommodating. Please note, this is a Maine Inn, and not a commercial hotel. The Inn dates from the late 1800's. The Inn is centrally located, and the town is a short walk away.

Room Tip: The Cape studio offers more room, but is pricier than an Inn room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Service, location and atmosphere are quite good. Worth a stay! Breakfast were tasty, and enjoyed the baked treats during the day and light appetizers in the evening. Doug was an informed and polite host. Room was nicely and comfortably furnished, slightly noisy with guests above and below us, but is an old wooden house.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stefku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

The room was a little small ( though there were many room sizes) and there was no TV in the room HOWEVER the service was excellent the bed bed was amazingly cozy. We truly enjoyed the little touches that gave it such a personal feel like gourmet chocolates on the bed, daily baked goods and hors d'oeuvres, and a staff that truly love and excel at what they do, even if you aren't even sure what it is you want. All the other reviews are no joke-sarah is the queen of b and b's. And I don't usually like b and b's!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flickercm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blue Hill
17.8 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
16.7 mi away
Homeport Inn
Homeport Inn
#2 of 4 in Searsport
82 reviews
10.6 mi away
Pentagoet Inn
Pentagoet Inn
#1 of 3 in Castine
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
The Manor Inn
The Manor Inn
#3 of 3 in Castine
88 reviews
6.1 mi away
Wave Walker Bed and Breakfast
11.4 mi away
Twilite Motel
Twilite Motel
#4 of 10 in Ellsworth
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Hill Inn

Address: 40 Union St, Blue Hill, ME 04614-5916
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Blue Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Blue Hill
Price Range: £104 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Blue Hill Inn, individualized guest attention is the first priority. Breakfasts are designed with guests in mind; choices range from vacation decadent to watching one’s waistline. Innkeeper Sarah Pebworth and the staff personally see to the details of each guest’s stay. Located in the center of the Blue Hill village and a block from Blue Hill Bay, the inn is on the National Register of Historic Places. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Hill Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing