We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay”
Review of Blue Hill Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blue Hill
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blue Hill Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Blue Hill B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 12 September 2008

My husband surprised me with a visit to the Blue Hill Inn and it was everything we wanted for a special weekend away.

From the moment we walked through the door, we were greeted with a smile by everyone and experienced delightful service from all the staff. Our room was delightful, with the most comfortable comforter and pillows I've ever known, which felt like sleeping on a cloud, and the wood burning fireplace warmed up the chilly evening with a romantic touch.

After exploring the town, my husband took a nap and I lay in the hammock in the inn's garden and read a book from their bookcase, then we visited the lobby parlour for cocktails and hors d'oeuvres before going out for dinner (the most delicious brie en croute ever!).

Wherever we turned there was a friendly face and a smile. The owner, Sara, was always present and we found her to be a wonderful and very hands-on owner who mingles with her guests and tends to their comfort.

Breakfast fare is simply delicious and almost worth the five hour drive from home to start the day with the chef's wonderful bread pudding, pancakes and other goodies.

We will certainly return the the Blue Hill Inn when we come back to this beautiful part of the world.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2008

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights over Labour Day weekend and absolutely loved it. The Inn has real olde worlde charm and is beautifully furnished. Great breakfasts and evening hors d'oeuvres and complimentary coffee available all day. The bed linens are crisp and our bed was very comfortable. Vases of flowers are around along with other little touches. Sarah, the owner/inn keeper could not have been more helpful suggesting local trails and restaurants - all excellent. A good base for driving to the Acadia NP and Castine. etc.. Blue Hill itself is lovely and unspoilt. If you stay while the Blue Hill Fair is on, do go its great fun!! Thank you to Sarah and her staff. A great find!!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank fbusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2008

Authenticity is one of the nicest things about this very nice inn. It's the kind of old Federal Period building that almost speaks to you if you listen. The architecture is a bit quirky with a few odd angles and old pine floors. The gracious, connected drawing rooms have the air of being a place where many interesting conversations have occurred. In fact, we had one ourselves with a fellow guest, a fascinating woman who teaches human rights law in Milan, Italy. International travelers have always found their way to this seafaring coast, and that tradition continues.

The historical ambiance of the Blue Hill Inn does not mean that you are in any way deprived of creature comforts. The beds are very comfortable, and the breakfasts in the spacious and relaxing new dining room are delicious. The staff is charming, intelligent, and very welcoming. We particularly appreciated the thoughtfully chosen books and well appointed desk in our rooms and the internet connection downstairs.

To see more of how Maine once was and, in a few rare places, still is, I recommend driving or bicyling around Cape Rosier, a nearby rural peninsula. We saw a schooner in full sail crossing the bay there, quite a breathtaking sight. You won't find better seafood anywhere than at the Bagaduce Lunch, an unpretentious (but James Beard Award winnning) takeout place, where you can eat at picnic tables at the waters edge.

The Blue Hill Inn offers a window on real Maine. We were lucky to stay there.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Kathryn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2007

We carefully read through many Trip Advisor comments looking for that special place to stay in Maine to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. We wanted to be in a place without strip malls, tourists, and general hullabaloo. We found it in Blue Hill, which is a lovely elegant small town in the general vicinity of Acadia National Park . . . but not so small that it doesn't have one extraordinary restaurant, an artisanal bread bakery, a good wine store, and a few things to do. What's nice about this particular Inn is that it is located in the town itself, which means you can walk down the street to get your morning newspaper or to a restaurant for lunch or dinner.

As of July 2007, the Blue Hill Inn came under new management. The current innkeeper and her staff are young, energetic, caring, thoughtful, and talented. Our breakfasts in the dining room were terrific, with lots of options, all homemade. At cocktail time the hor d'oeuvres were delicious with herbs from the Inn's garden, free non-alcoholic beverages, and wine and spirits available for purchase.

We stayed at the Cape House, which is a small cottage that is part of the Inn but independent from the Inn itself. It was absolutely immaculate, a point well worth mentioning, and everything was in good working order. For us, the high ceilings, full kitchen, and privacy were well worth the extra cost, And falling asleep in the large four-poster bed in the flickering firelight was incredibly romantic. There is also a private deck with a venerable willow tree growing through it. The deck is a tad slippery in the rain, but in dry weather it's a great place to relax, with the soft willow branches providing both shade and privacy.

The Inn itself is absolutely charming. Built in the 1840's it has small low-ceilinged rooms, and is decorated to the period, with antiques, bright wallpapers, and lace galore. If you are very tall or want lots of privacy, you might opt for the more modern Cape House. If you want to experience the way people really lived in our nation's past, choose one of the rooms in the Inn itself. A few have working fireplaces. All have private baths.

We visited in the late fall so have no idea what Blue Hill is like in the summertime. But from walking the main street from one end to the other, it is clear that this community has not succumbed to brand-name stores and mass marketing. And because the town is centrally located, it is possible to get up in the morning and drive to a different place and have a different adventure each day.

We thank the Blue Hill Inn for a most memorable visit, and we recommend it to others wanting to experience the beauty of Maine. All in all, it was a very happy anniversary for us!

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank fcsnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2007

After being treated rudely at another inn in a nearby town, we ventured over to Blue Hill hoping to find a hot shower and a warm bed. To our surprise, the Blue Hill Inn had availability and it far exceeded our expectations. There were two rooms left and Sarah showed us both rooms and allowed us to pick. We chose Room 7, a cozy retreat near the back of the house. Sarah was the most gracious host, gave us lots of information for dining, and directions the next morning for our travels. I also cannot forget to mention that breakfast was fantastic. I highly recommend staying at the Blue Hill.

Stayed: September 2007
3  Thank mjbeckett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2007

I was completely charmed by this old inn. My room was a delightful corner suite with sitting-room and bedroom. The bed room was a tad small but had everything I could possibly need, good bedside light for reading and a good shower with water pressure. The bed was a soothing cocoon with fine linens and many soft pillows.

The breakfasts were yummy. Fruit just magically appeared at my place (something I never order but should always eat!) Waffles to die for. There were wonderful snacks at cocktail time, tasty!

The staff was friendly and an inn keeper was always on hand with local info and outing ideas.

Sally McCuen Madison, OH

Stayed: August 2007
Thank sallyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Mirar las fotos por internet. Son habitacioness tranquilas y muy agradables con estilo propio y un d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Octavio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blue Hill
17.8 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
10.6 mi away
Pentagoet Inn
Pentagoet Inn
#1 of 3 in Castine
567 reviews
11.4 mi away
The Manor Inn
The Manor Inn
#3 of 3 in Castine
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Hill Inn

Address: 40 Union St, Blue Hill, ME 04614-5916
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Blue Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Blue Hill
Price Range: £103 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Blue Hill Inn, individualized guest attention is the first priority. Breakfasts are designed with guests in mind; choices range from vacation decadent to watching one’s waistline. Innkeeper Sarah Pebworth and the staff personally see to the details of each guest’s stay. Located in the center of the Blue Hill village and a block from Blue Hill Bay, the inn is on the National Register of Historic Places. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Hill Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing