We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit Blue Hill”
Review of Blue Hill Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blue Hill
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blue Hill Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Blue Hill B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sewickley, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Visit Blue Hill”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This is a great place to stay to explore Blue Hill and the surrounding area. Sarah is a great innkeeper. She sat down with us the first night and helped us to create a perfect itinerary for the next 2 days. We hiked blue hill mountain, kayaked in Castine, biked in Deer Isle and took a hike to the beach in Stonington followed by a great dinner at Aragosta. In addition, the inn serves a delicious breakfast in the morning. The beds are very comfortable. Sarah was always there to greet us after dinner and ask about our day.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurenM43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    11
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
29
79
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tracy, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We had the greatest vacation in Maine and we couldn't have chosen a more perfect place to stay for 3 of those nights than The Blue Hill Inn. We were pampered. Our room was large and had every amenity we could ask for. The appetizers in the evening were always a pleasant surprise and absolutely delicious. We tried something different every morning for breakfast, it was all great, even the edible flowers! We just can't say enough about this Inn, the food, the staff, the overall accommodation, all excellent! We hope to visit Blue Hill again, good restaurants, pottery, a hike up Blue Hill Mountain, and Acadia National Park is nearby.

Room Tip: We were very pleased with Room 10, but I'm sure they're all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Sarah and her staff did an excellent job making our stay enjoyable. Breakfast was awesome. Rooms are extremely clean and comfortable. Walking distance to great BBQ / Brewery
We were touring on bicycles so they had room in the garage to store our bikes and gear.

Great place!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank F B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We were warmly greeted by Sarah the innkeeper as soon as we pulled up front.We had 5 rooms booked and the suite for a family weekend. Each room was more beautiful than the other with perfect touches everywhere.The suite is terrific with a working fireplace, a full kitchen and the most comfortable bed and luxurios linens. The entire staff was so friendly and made us feel right at home.We had the most delicious blueberry pancakes servered with warm syrup...eggs right from the inn keepers own chickens..flavor like you have never has. We cannot wait to return to the BLUE Hill Inn again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Priscilla R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Everything was just lovely during our stay. The hosts of the Inn were amazing and truly cared about every last detail as well as meeting our personal needs to insure a perfect stay! I would love to visit Blue Hill again to see more of the sites and would definitely choose to be a repeat quest at The Blue Hill Inn!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We have stayed in the finest hotels all over the world and they all had one thing in common, great service and more importantly, the ability to make us feel special. The Blue Hill Inn had that in spades. Even the fact that our room was fully made up immediately after we came back from breakfast. Very few places are that attentive. As high octane New Yorkers we need that strong cup of coffee to start our morning. World over very few establishments get that right. The Blue Hill Inn was no exception, but unlike many of the others, they were determined to improve and immediately brewed us a stronger pot. In our parting they also promised espresso on our next visit (which will be soon). The morning breakfast was very tasty and thoughtfully put together. Sarah, the owner, was personable, polite, respectful, and throughly wonderful. The Inn was decorated like an old Inn, artfully true to it origins. What a great place to stay when visiting a great part of our country.

Room Tip: Ask them, tell them your needs and they will set you up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JadedNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaftsbury, VT
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We arrived late in the evening and were pleasantly surprised to find the kitchen stocked with breakfast foods including gluten free options for my wife. Fresh fruit on the kitchen table, fresh organic bread, and farm fresh eggs.

The suite was filled with antiques. The bathroom was spotless. The innkeeper went above and beyond to make sure our stay was pleasant. She provided glow sticks for the last night festivities as well as a copy of the itinerary for the evening.

Power was out for an hour or so the day of checkout. The innkeeper called us and told us to take our time checking out there was no rush. This attention to detail and the excellent communication made the stay extremely pleasant.

My wife and I will be heading back this summer to sample one the main inn rooms and to experience the breakfasts that are legendary.

Highly recommend that anyone in the area stay at the Blue Hill Inn as you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blue Hill
12.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor
18.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
19.1 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
10.4 mi away
Pentagoet Inn
Pentagoet Inn
#1 of 3 in Castine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
11.0 mi away
Open Hearth Inn
Open Hearth Inn
#1 of 2 in Trenton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Hill Inn

Property: Blue Hill Inn
Address: 40 Union St, Blue Hill, ME 04614-5916
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Blue Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Blue Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Blue Hill Inn, individualized guest attention is the first priority. Breakfasts are designed with guests in mind; choices range from vacation decadent to watching one’s waistline. Innkeeper Sarah Pebworth and the staff personally see to the details of each guest’s stay. Located in the center of the Blue Hill village and a block from Blue Hill Bay, the inn is on the National Register of Historic Places. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Hill Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing