We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very pleasant place to stay”
Review of Blue Hill Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blue Hill
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blue Hill Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Blue Hill B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 8 August 2010

We stayed in the studio for 3 nights in August 2010, it was as described in the web site -- comfortable, clean and very pleasant. The owner and staff were very helpful and the breakfast was good and varied. On our day of departure we left early, we easily made arrangements to have breakfast before the serving time.

When we return to BH we will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamie019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2010

The innkeeper knew all the best hiking trails and day trips and was eager to offer maps and helpful tips. This, on top of lovely rooms with fine pillow-topped beds and attentive service at reasonable prices made this an ideal place to stay in this gorgeous part of Maine.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BJaneH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2010

Owner went out of her way to help us find out about local history - way above and beyond.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mindybutler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2010

This lovely Inn offers the traveler a pleasant respite and a wonderful introduction to coastal Maine. As other reviewers have mentioned, Innkeeper Sarah keeps a generous flow of tasty treats and useful travel tips to help her guests enjoy their visits fully. Sarah's warmth and hospitality is reflected in the competent staff. Breakfasts are delicious, ample and most beautifully presented. The Inn is located within walking distance of some fine dining options. There are attractive sitting areas both inside the historic building and outside in the garden. The Blue Hill Inn is a gem and Sarah makes the experience there outstanding.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calendarmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2010

My wife and I stayed here in June. We are still talking about the lovely room with a real wood burning fire that we put to use on a couple of cool nights.

Sarah is delightful and gracious. Her new assistant, Mesa, was equally charming and helpful. This old inn has real historical character and there are always delicious refreshments on hand for the guests. We enjoyed the breakfasts and appreciated the ingredients sourced from local artisanal suppliers. Delightful and delicious! Stay in the charming town of Blue Hill and explore the nearby coast. You will enjoy yourselves. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuggageWithWheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2009

coming into the very quiet town of Blue Hill we were totally suprised by the luxurious, friendly, warm stay. Our room was magnificent and well furnished. The decor was colonial period but totally uncluttered. The service was wonderful and extremely caring and attentive. Afternoon and early evening snacks were adventuresome and delicious. We were involved in a taste test of 1st time baked goods. The outside lounging area was comfortable.

Our hostess and her staff were knowledgable and extremely friendly. The only negative was the very slow service for breakfast. However our breakfast hostess was very apologetic.

We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank howard_dorothy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2009

Blue Hill Inn was everything we hoped for and more. The Cape House was so wonderfully relaxing with it's high, king sized bed, full kitchen if you wanted, separate TV area and the most peaceful deck. We stayed for 4 nights for a friend's wedding weekend and could have stayed much, much longer. The breakfasts were plentiful, varied and gourmet! Sarah, the innkeeper, is the most wonderful hostess...anything you need! We will be back to enjoy the charm of the Blue Hill Inn!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XXXXXXXXXXXXXX27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blue Hill
17.8 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
10.6 mi away
Pentagoet Inn
Pentagoet Inn
#1 of 3 in Castine
567 reviews
11.4 mi away
The Manor Inn
The Manor Inn
#3 of 3 in Castine
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Hill Inn

Address: 40 Union St, Blue Hill, ME 04614-5916
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Blue Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Blue Hill
Price Range: £103 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Blue Hill Inn, individualized guest attention is the first priority. Breakfasts are designed with guests in mind; choices range from vacation decadent to watching one’s waistline. Innkeeper Sarah Pebworth and the staff personally see to the details of each guest’s stay. Located in the center of the Blue Hill village and a block from Blue Hill Bay, the inn is on the National Register of Historic Places. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Hill Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing