We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved It!!”

Boothbay Railway Village
Ranked #2 of 13 things to do in Boothbay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: We invite you to travel back in time to vintage Vacationland with us. Nowhere else in New England can you ride the rails behind an vintage steam or diesel locomotive surrounded by historic Maine buildings preserved in a recreated village, and view a collection of 60 antique autos. When you visit the Museum you'll learn about how technologies like steam engines and the automobile changed life along the coast of Maine between 1850 and 1950. In addition to the opportunity to ride in a vintage coach behind a vintage locomotive, the Museum also occasionally offers rides in one of our Ford Model Ts. Two of our most popular attractions are the resident goats who delight visitors of all ages with their antics. From a display of hundreds of salt & pepper shakers to a collection of engines that powered everything from small boats to whole factories, there truly is something for everyone in your family here. Throughout the season a wide variety of special events are hosted on the Village Green from vintage ball games to car shows and family festivals. The Museum is also a unique location for wedding ceremonies and receptions.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Baby buggy parking, Activities for young children
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

just a wonderful place to visit.went for the Fall Festival and had a great time.The Antique Auto Museum they have is worth the price of admission!! one of the best auto museums ever..

Thank Foobitt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRV_Margaret, Manager at Boothbay Railway Village, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

We're blushing! Thanks so much for writing a review. We do have a pretty cool collection of cars from the 1902 Rambler to the 1962 Rolls Royce - each one tells a story!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 132 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

The admission was a bit steep but it was a nice place. The steam train ride was short but fun. The antique car museum was amazing and the village was interesting. Lots of open space for just hanging out and they allow leashed dogs on the property. Over all it was nice.

1  Thank Mrsevilbeetles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRV_Margaret, Manager at Boothbay Railway Village, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

We're glad to know you enjoyed your visit. We were a little surprised you thought our admission price was expensive. Our adult fee is just $10 and kids $5. Most other area museums and attractions range in price from $12 - $15 or even more. The Museum is a non-profit organization and annual admission revenues cover less than 1/3 of our actual operating costs (and we're a bunch of very frugal New Englanders!) Perhaps it will help to know that your visit and the revenues from all of our visitors help preserve our collections for future generations. Thanks again for visiting and for posting your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

I really like this place and have been visiting it for almost two decades. The two-footer steam train makes a circuit then another one, and on the second one stops at the top. There is a great car museum "A 1902 Rambler to a 1962 Rolls", some really wonderful cars. There is an early 1900s Oldsmobile, Packards, Model Ts including Station Wagons, a 1946 "Jeepster" to serve the post-war civilian market, etc. When you leave the auto museum there is a model railroad display next door, one of those multi-track small village constructions about four feet off the floor (the type you wished you had had in your basement when you were 10!). There are period displays scattered throughout the ground which you walk down and among to get back to the main station. On your way out be sure to stop at the Gift Store, books and gifts for old trains and cars and plenty of items for the children. This year there were "Thomas the Tank Engine" days the ninth through the eleventh of August if I remember correctly, check the website before you come for details. They have "Thomas" at the head or three or four of the two-footer cars with the regular steam locomotive behind (I don't know if it was a 'pusher' or not). They also have extra games and attractions for the children but it is busy and packed so plan to get there early for best results.

1  Thank BaysideConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRV_Margaret, Manager at Boothbay Railway Village, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Thanks so much for posting your review and for being such a loyal visitor. The Museum will turn 50 next year so we know there are lots of stories about two and three generations growing up visiting and watching the Village grow and change. We have some new programs in mind for next summer, we hope you'll be back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Riding around on a partly cloudy, rainy day with the sun not making any promising appearances we decided not to go to the gardens and came upon the railway village.
We stopped and were told that some of it is inside and some outside decided to give it a tour.
We sure were wishing we had our grandchildren with us as it was a day with Thomas!
We were not disappointed. They had entertainment, singing, photos to be taken with Thomas and other characters, and tattoos. Even though we did not know these characters it was fun watching the children that were there interacting with them.
The rain came and went , and thankfully stopped altogether. This gave time for the roads to dry up and the walking easier. The buildings were very interesting and filled with some fun finds, such as the shaker house. A house filled with a collection of salt and pepper shakers (cute).
Thomas the engine was rolling around the tracks carrying people around the grounds. Very nice to see Thomas having photos taken with some very happy fans.
One building housed some very beautiful antique cars. One car was touchable, and the children , as well as the adults were thrilled to sit and drive and touch this oldie but goodie.
One entire building was filled with train sets. Great for any train fanatic.
Rooms with antique fire trucks , old engines buildings still used as town halls and voting places.
This was more than a railroad visit, it was interesting and historically fascinating.
A barrel train ride was full every time we saw it.
A pretty cool place.

Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRV_Margaret, Manager at Boothbay Railway Village, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Thank you so much for choosing to visit the Railway Village and for taking the time to post a review. There certainly are a lot of things to do in our region and we're glad that you visited us! We know that when we host Thomas it pretty much takes over the entire campus. We're so glad that you enjoyed the festive atmosphere - we think it's an awful good time too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

This Railway Village is great anytime, BUT if you can spend a day with Thomas the Train...well, thats just as good as it gets! Saturday August 10th was such a day. Papa with his two year old grandson, along with Nana and Daddy spent the day at the Boothbay Railway Village with all the Thomas attractions. A twenty minute train ride on Thomas (all aboard, including grown ups), the kids Barrel train ride, family hay ride, Imagination Station making colored sand wrist-lets, and coloring. Food vendors. lemonade stand, BBQ, picnic, and all the best for a great day. The Kids would yell out "THOMAS" everytime the whistle blew. He is so loved by the kids, and to see the happy faces is just about as good as it gets! if you ever get a chance to spend the day with Thomas, do it, its a memorable experience for all ages.

Thank ben795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRV_Margaret, Manager at Boothbay Railway Village, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

We're so glad you had a great time at "Day Out With Thomas." We appreciate that you took the time to post a review and we look forward to seeing you again next year when Thomas rolls back into Boothbay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Boothbay Railway Village also viewed

Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Boothbay Railway Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing