We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, quiet, nice little porches”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of White Anchor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
White Anchor Inn
Ranked #4 of 7 Boothbay B&B and Inns
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Clean, quiet, nice little porches”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

Although this motel was overall quite nice, with renovated rooms and a decent location, there were a couple of disappointments. One, the room does not have a refrigerator or a microwave. My mother and I spent a week in Maine staying at similar hotels and all of them had at least a refrigerator. This was great, because my mom and I save money on our trip by having our own food, including breakfast with milk and sandwiches, and sometimes dinner, using the microwave. Not here! Another disappointment was the fact that the wireless Internet, which is advertised, was basically nonexistent in the room. We asked about it at the desk and were told that wireless was available in the main building and only during certain hours. During our stay in Maine, we were able to watch Netflix on my mom's computer every night, but we could not do this at this place because there was no Internet. As I said, it was a good little motel but if you are specifically looking for someplace where you can stay for a while and do at least a little cooking with the microwave or keep the refrigerator or use the Internet, this isn't the place.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wdarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    23
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
9
25
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sturbridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Room was clean, grounds were nice. Our room had a small deck looking out at a broad lawn and trees. Watched the deer in the morning. Coffee was available through noon but no other foods. (they did not advertise anything else). My disappointment came with the WI-Fi. They listed Wi-Fi on their site but there was none in the room. When I asked I was told I could get it in the common room until 9pm. Who turns off the Wi-Fi or wants to leave their room.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the road are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ww01810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
96 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

Stayed 2 nights at the White Anchor and we selected it because the price was right! The place is old style but our room & bathroom were clean so it was just what we wanted.The little deck was a nice quiet place to sit and relax after a busy day of sight seeing. The Owner was very pleasant & helpful as she gave us great advice about a scenic drive out Ocean Point!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LPMaineVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, Maine
Level Contributor
201 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

We rented a room for 2 nights at the White Anchor. For the price, it was excellent. The bed comfy...the shower powerful, the little deck nice to sit on and the hostest, Marie, was fabulous and gave us some things to do and see....We highly recommend The White Anchor especially if one is on a tight budget.

Room Tip: we were in a room away from the Street....down behind the main house is a little quieter......Even t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dianaonacki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson AZ
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

Pay no attention to the negative comments about the White Anchor Inn. The new owner and her team have given the inn a fresh, clean look. Our room (#19) faced the back field - small deck with chairs - a perfect place to do a crossword puzzle and relax. The inn has the look of a vintage motel, but our room was spotless. The bed covers attractive; towels were fine. You will need to ask for a third towel, if you decide to wash your hair. The not-quite-a-closet was a bit quirky, but we were only in for one night. Bring eye shades as the morning sun appears early and the curtains are sheer. (For breakfast or lunch: River's End Cafe, just up the road, and the food is excellent.)

Room Tip: Check on WiFi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SusanETucsonAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

The picture that are shown on the web of this hotel are not what you are going to find when you pull in. Rather then the offset rooms shown, this is a typical 1950's style driveup motel. The grounds need up keeping.. They are really looking neglected, I did not see any gardens as advertised, the screens in the screen door is torn all these things take away from the fact that the manager was super pleasent, the room was very clean. We stayed for three nights. The suite consisted of one room with a dresser, a closet that wasn't more then 9inches wide with 2 hangers. A kitchen cart that held a fridge and microwave, a patio table with two chairs and one queen bed. There was no place to put my clothes or shoes. The bathroom was spotless. The manager offered to return our money so we could stay elseware, but there were no rooms availible in any of the other hotels. If you are in Maine for a fishing or hunting trek, then this would be the place for you..a romantic getaway, no. Plus when we went to leave on the final day, we found out that there is no soda or ice machines...again many apologies, but we had to buy ice for the cooler.... There is also no swimming pool, gym, or hot continental breakfast...

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen331966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merrimack, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

We have been to Boothbay Harbor many times and recognize that it is difficult to find inexpensve lodging in the height of the summer tourist season. This inn had received very positive reviews and we gave it a shot since we were only staying one night to visit the Maine Coastal Botanical Gardens and the Boothbay Railway Museum which are just down the road.

We paid $79 plus tax for a standard room with two double beds. The owner found our reservation quickly and checked us in quickly as well. We were pleased to learn that all rooms were non-smoking. We were somewhat surprised to find that ice was not available. She said that the machine was broken and had been removed. Most places would get it fixed or buy a new one. We have never been to a motel without ice. I thought that she might offer me a tray of ice from the office refrigerator, but instead was directed to a country store a mile away! The inn is quite basic with no pool or exercise room.

As others have stated, the room was very clean. It had fresh paint and my wife was impressed with the clean and colorful bed spreads and pillows. It had two double beds and one of the beds constantly leanedl off of the oversized queen frame and my wife almost fell out of bed.

The room had a flat screened television with a variety of cable channels. It had a very small deck overlocking a meadow on which we enjoyed some refreshments (sans ice)! The free breakfast was quite minimal consisting of coffee, apple juice, milk and a handful of pre-packaged pastries. Some fresh fruit would have been nice.

We would not stay for a week's vacation, but it is a good deal for one or two nights.

Room Tip: Buy a bag of ice and don't expect too much at breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boothbay
4.5 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#5 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
3.7 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
4.5 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#6 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
4.6 mi away
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
#8 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
6.1 mi away
Sheepscot Harbour Village Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Anchor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Anchor Inn

Property: White Anchor Inn
Address: Rt. 27 / 609 Wiscasset Rd, Boothbay, ME 04537
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Boothbay
Hotel Class:2 star — White Anchor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your White Anchor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing