We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Kitchen Garden Cafe at Coastal Maine Botanical Gardens
Ranked #6 of 23 Restaurants in Boothbay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Naples
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Still hungry”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

The prices were high andthe food was awful! The children ordered hotdogs, but couldn't eat them they were so tough. The sandwiches for the adults were dry on bread that was cut much too thick. The lemonade was good. But sixty plus dollars for four hotdogs and three sandwiches, most of which went into the garbage can was rather annoying.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Francia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    30
    7
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boothbay, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Love the Cafe as much as the Gardens!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

I love to walk about the gardens on a lovely day but enjoy dining in the Café as well. The menu is always new and exciting and love to try something new each time. Enjoy eating inside the pretty, multi-windowed café with gorgeous views all around as well as outside the Café. If I visit early in the day I can get a cup of coffee and a sweet to start off my visit or take a break and stop by for a delicious lunch.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Searsmont, Maine
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delicious food!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

The food is truly delicious, charming cafe setting looking out over the gardens. A delightful experience to compliment a visit to the stunning gardens.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shelagh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
842 reviews
632 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Freshly prepared food and desserts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

We enjoyed a delicious snack at the cafe. The staff was very friendly and attentive. I tried the apple crumb pie and coffee. The pie was prepared and baked there using locally grown apples. It was served warm- and it was quite tasty. My daughter had a grill cheese sandwich and a chocolate chip cookie and my husband had the naked chicken nuggets. They both enjoyed their food. The service was excellent. In addition they serve salads and soup.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gloria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
128 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Perfect place for lunch in the gardens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

While visiting the Coastal Maine Botanical Gardens on a glorious late summer day, we lunched at this lovely cafe. There are tables outside, but they were all taken, and we decided not to wait, so ate inside. The menu includes soups, salads, sandwiches, all interesting. Some things are served in a wooden basket like you bought blueberries or strawberries in before the plastic ones took over. In past visits, there was cafeteria style service. Now wait persons come to your table to take your order which is then delivered to you. A nice improvement. Lunch at this Garden Cafe compliments a lovely day in the gardens.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kitchen Garden Cafe at Coastal Maine Botanical Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Kitchen Garden Cafe at Coastal Maine Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing