We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
The Watershed Tavern at the Boothbay Craft Brewery & RV
Ranked #2 of 23 Restaurants in Boothbay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$38
Cuisines: Pizza, American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Tavern Season is May thru December. Closed January thru April. Gastro Pub attached to the Boothbay Craft Brewery serving wood-fired pizzas, burgers, bbq, seafood and farm to table fare. Daily Theme Dinners. Outside dining in spacious Biergarten during the summer, Well behaved dog's welcome & pet menu provided. RV sites available & no rig is too big. Full pull thru, 30 & 50 amp.
Westbrook, Maine
Level Contributor
224 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Good, Not Great”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stopped here recently to try something other than seafood in Boothbay. I had the White Pizza and she had the Cheese Fondue. The food was good. It wasn't spectacular, but it was solid. The service was friendly. However, the service was also slow. It seemed like they only had two waitresses and a ton of customers, and the two could not keep up. It took a long while to get the check after we were finished with our food. Overall, while this restaurant was decent, I think there are better choices in the Boothbay area.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank virginiagamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Win633, Owner at The Watershed Tavern at the Boothbay Craft Brewery & RV, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thanks for your review of our little neighborhood tavern. We understand that our dining experience being a slower pace than other restaurants is hard to get use to for some, since it has become such an instant gratification drive thru kinda world. And we indeed have had times that we were over booked and have had too long a wait for some. We have remedied that by limited the party sizes during peak times, and we always suggest reservations. We are learning. We do want people who read these reviews to understand we are not a big chain restaurant designed to pump out pre-processed food and turn tables quickly. All of our dishes are cooked to order, using the freshest ingredients from nearby farms in Maine whenever possible. We are all about that rare dining experience where neighbors, visitors, and businessmen come to meet, relax, enjoy each others company and not rush thru a meal just get moving onto the next thing on the list.
Sit, drink, smell, taste, listen, relax,... come to your senses!
Cheers!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    43
    14
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
397 reviews
292 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Take a break from lobster with some pub fare”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

If you've had your fill of lobster and have a hankering for a cold brew, this is the place for you. it would be the perfect place for a gray or rainy day, but we decided to try it for lunch even though it was a lovely sunny day. Menu offers wood-fired pizzas which we didn't try and a variety of salads, sandwiches, burgers and a few entrees, mostly fish. Several of us had and enjoyed the beer batter fried haddock and the accompanying fries, crispy and with what we think was some cumin, along with cole slaw. The latter was almost naked and would have benefited from a bit more dressing. Tartar sauce was very good and a tad spicy. One in our party sampled the seared tuna with soba noodle salad--an unusual offering for this part of Maine--and pronounced it delicious.

And the beers we tasted were great! The Flip Flop ale was light, citrusy and perfect for summer and others enjoyed the stout as well as the featured 633 ale.

So, for a change of pace, try the Watershed. There's even a kids' menu!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bi-coaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
462 reviews
295 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Really good beers, Really good food”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Watershed is relatively new. It's the restaurant section of the Boothbay Craft Brewery, which has been around only a couple of years longer. The decor is genuine, authentic, totally faux New England tavern. Boothbay is a land of fish, clam chowder, and lobster rolls. Everyone offers lobster rolls. Now, I really like a lobster roll for lunch, but sometimes enough is enough. Basta! So on a whim it was off to Watershed. Watershed has many of the usual fish dishes (no lobster rolls) but other favorites as well, like grilled sushi tuna with soba noodles, which was excellent in fact. Raw tuna may be strange - even odd - in these parts, but Watershed did it really well. In fact, all the dishes our group tried were very good. The clam chowder (you can't escape chowder; innovation does have a limit after all) earned raves. And the beer was outstanding - try the "633." I wish I lived closer so I could pick up a "grumbler" of beer and enjoy it at home. Do try this place when you are in town. It could be a bit hard to find if you are a Boothbay navigational novice, but persistence will pay off and you'll have a great meal.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SanFranciscoGuy634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west palm
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A MUST TRY in the Boothbay Region! ”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

We have watched and loved the progress the Mitchell's have made over the years. The brewery has expanded to keep up with the demand of their delicious brews. Our personal favorites are the RIPPA and new this year Flip Flop! The food and the atmosphere are amazing and everything is made to order. The Panini sandwiches are great, the pizza creative, & the specials to die for. If you are in the Boothbay Region is a must stop.

Helpful?
1 Thank lily9531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, GA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice Lunch Spot”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We went to Watershed on our way to the Botanical Garden after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor. It was good. I had the Rippa Mussels and my friend had the Pear and Blue Cheese salad, they were both good. We shared a french fry that was also good. I had a small beer (forget the name) that was also good and I liked that they offered the 1/2 pint - just the right amount to taste. We ate outside on a gorgeous day. The menu looks great and we will go back to explore it more.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank CCJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Watershed Tavern at the Boothbay Craft Brewery & RV also viewed

Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to The Watershed Tavern at the Boothbay Craft Brewery & RV? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing