We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to town adorable cottages”
Review of Boothbay Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Boothbay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Boothbay Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boothbay
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Close to town adorable cottages”
Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

Chose this place cause it was close to down town booth bay it's just an adorable little place. The owner is very nice and even offered to open the tavern on its closed day (Monday) if we wanted a beer!! Cottages are spotless and very cute and peaceful would highly recommend you stay here!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bumbalough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    13
    5
    5
    3
See reviews for
22
15
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2012

My wife and I were planning a driving trip to the coast of Maine (from Toronto) and came to tripadvisor to find a few places along the coast to space out our stay. Boothbay Resort was our first stop of three (we later stopped in Portland, then Ogunquit, making our way south along the coast over a week).

Looking back on our trip, we both agree we would have rather stayed our entire week at Boothbay Resort and the nearby beautiful quiet town of Boothbay Harbor. The owners were all you could wish for, being extremely helpful at pointing us towards the best lobster spots in town, we even had the option of cooking our own in the Kitchenette they feature in the cabin we stayed in (Which was spotless and just what we needed). They feature a craft beer brewery right on site, and a little shop selling cheeses and such, as well as a handful of touristy local type things like shirts and shotglasses and such. There is laundry onsite for a reasonable fee (its an honor system with a coffee can for coins, you wouldn't see that in Toronto!) The local town of Boothbay Harbor has all the little touristy shops you could want, we spent hours perusing through jewellery and art and plenty of local gems, including street vendors set up in the yard of the library. There's also plenty of kayak rental places dotting the harbor for those so inclined.

Later in our trip we landed upon the beautiful beach at Ogunquit, fine sand as far as the eye can see. Ogunquit was a little too busy for us, and flocks of people seemed to pour out of the hotels and resorts to the beach every day. (and good luck finding somewhere to eat at dinner time!) But we could always find a quiet stretch on the beach to call our own, and the next time, we'll just drive the ~90 miles down the coast to the beach for a day or two and trek back to Boothbay in the evenings. (stopping in Freeport of course for all the outlet shops!) Also, next time I'll be sure to take the Cabbage Island Clambake trip, we ran out of time but it looked like fun.

We were looking to get away from the bustle of the city, and this place was just perfect. We are already planning a trip to stay again, I would recommend it to anybody I know looking for a quiet getaway on the coast.

Cheers,
Andrew & Hilary

Room Tip: Cedars Suite Cabin features a kitchenette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simsbury, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We recently stayed in the Balsams Suite which includes a jacuzzi tub. The owners were quite friendly and helpful, and check in was fast and easy. The cottage that we were staying in was extremely comfortable, clean and had a kitchen with enough dishes, etc that we could have cooked our dinner there if we'd felt like it. It was nice to have the privacy of a separate bedroom, while our son was very happy sleeping out on the futon couch. Also the jacuzzi tub was wonderful to relax in after a long day of driving, although I'd suggest adding some steps at one end for getting in and out, as I don't think people like my elderly mother would be able to take advantage of that amenity without them since the sides of the tub were rather high. While we loved bringing our dinner and breakfast back to the resort and sitting outside enjoying the atmosphere (along with great beer and root beer from the brewery), we are excited to come back in the future and see the brew pub/pizza oven in action. The space looked incredible during our "sneak peek"!

Room Tip: We were in one of the larger cottages, so the smaller cottages may be slightly different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaWezl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saco, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We have stayed here many times since the Mitchell"s purchased it. They are like going to see family; Winn and Lori and their extended family will bend over backward's to make sure you have a wonderful experience here and they and they are always making improvements! We stay here 3 or 4 times a summer and are never disappointed! All you need to bring are your clothes and essentials; everything else is provided and the beds are super comfy!! We love it here!!!

Anna & Tom

Room Tip: The newer cabins would probably be the best unless you don't care about such things. If you lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovescats123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

This was the perfect place for our family get together early this summer. Each family unit had their own cottage, or in one case the large family suite. Clean, comfortable, and convenient: appropriate descriptors. The kitchens are equipped with the essentials, even equipment for cooking and eating lobster. The Mitchell family, who own and operate the place, are friendly and helpful. We enjoyed having communal dinners on the premises, using the grills and picnic tables. The pool was warm and inviting, especially after excursions to area attractions. Kayaking and sailing were enjoyed. Barrett Park, a free Boothbay park with shady grassed areas, picnic tables, restrooms, and a rocky beach, was a favorite destination, safe for the children. The two of us (the grandparents) have stayed here for several years, and will continue to do so in the years to come.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We were looking for a pet friendly cottage and we found Boothbay Resort. The owner was extremely helpful and got us into a cottage in no time. We stayed in cottage #6. The place was spotless! The towels were even plush!! (And that's important). The beds were comfortable as well. The trip into town wasn't far from the cottage; we were there in under 10 minutes. Will stay here again if we travel to Maine.

Peace & Blessings
Swansons

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houlton, Maine
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 October 2011

What a great place to stay! We cannot wait to go back next summer! Our cabin was spotless and very homey. The owner made us feel very welcome and always greeted us with a smile on her face. I cannot imagine staying at any other place when visiting Boothbay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redsup73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boothbay
1.3 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
527 reviews
2.0 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#5 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
358 reviews
2.2 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#7 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
471 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ocean Gate Resort
Ocean Gate Resort
#1 of 3 in Southport
354 reviews
3.6 mi away
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boothbay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boothbay Resort

Property: Boothbay Resort
Address: 301 Adams Pond Rd, Boothbay, ME 04537-4334 (Formerly 1828 Vintage House and Cottages)
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boothbay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Where else can you stay and have Boothbay’s only Micro Brewery and Vintage House Wine & Cheese Shop at your cottage door!” A cottage resort located just 1 mile from Boothbay Harbor and many coastal attractions. All the comforts of home including outdoor heated pool, hot tub, Bocce court, Golf putting greens, outdoor grills. Pets are welcome in certain cabins or cottages. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Boothbay Hotel Boothbay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing