We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely cottages close to many attractions”
Review of Boothbay Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Boothbay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Boothbay Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boothbay
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Lovely cottages close to many attractions”
Reviewed 23 July 2008

We found the Boothbay Resort through a dog friendly travel website and spent two nights touring the midcoast region of Maine, using our cottage as a base. The room was immaculate and met our needs exactly with a king bed and a sleeper sofa. They even included a "dog sheet" for the sofa. We loved the room and the grounds which include a "dog park" for taking care of your dog's hygienic needs. The kitchenette was functional and even included a lobster pot. It would be very easy to prepare a few meals in the room. There is only one problem... Though the cottages are not close to the road, there is a lot of road noise. This trailed off at late night but was very noticeable at other times. This is a great place to stay with young kids.

  • Liked — Dog friendly. Immaculate rooms. Lovely grounds.
  • Disliked — Road noise.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank chinawells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    13
    5
    5
    3
See reviews for
22
15
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
nj
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2008

Our family stayed in a 2 bedroom cottage for five nights. The kids loved the pool area and there was also a playground we walked to from the cottage. The continetal breakfast was a make your own waffle station every morning.. the kids didn't seem to mind but I did not enjoy them and ended up purchasing food from a nearby supermarket.
The cottage was clean, the owners were friendly and the location was ideal for getting into Boothbay Harbor (about 1 mile.)
I am a picky traveler, but my husband said that the accomodations were very updated compared to most Maine hotels.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jamhog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
win252, Owner at Boothbay Resort, responded to this review, 17 March 2011
Thanks for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to give us your opinion of our small family cottage resort. We have a new website so you can see our many changes since your visit July of 2008. We hope you can visit us again soon. Thanks again, the Mitchell's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania Furnace, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2007

This is a great place for couples or families. In our case, we had our two children w/ us (ages 4 and 8). We stayed in a 2BR cottage, and the kids were able to go outside every morning (afternoon, and evening) and play frisbee and baseball on the lawn. Other really great amentities included the extraordinary beer room, where my beer-aficiniado/snob husband was able to bring back to the cottage different beers du jour of his choosing. Cheeses and other delights were also available. There was a really great breakfast served each morning in the breakfast room (muffins, cereal, granola, fruit, yogurt, coffee, teas, etc.), and WI-FI, too. Our double bed did feel smaller than our king at home (duh) - but we hear that there are plans on the way to make a deluxe cottage or two additionally, with jacuzzi and the works (hopefully okay for families to stay in, too). What a lovely place!

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank veetha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
win252, Owner at Boothbay Resort, responded to this review, 17 March 2011
Hello Veetha family. We so appreciate your review. So much has changed since you stayed with us back in August of '07. We do have all of our 5 cottages finished, and yes, the Balsams Suite #8 is deluxe with a king bed and a very large bathroom with your very own jacuzzi spa tub. Hope you can come visit us again this year. It's been a while since we have seen you. Our pool is now Solar heated. We installed this a couple of years ago. Hope all is well and we hear from you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west palm
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2007

OK People!!! This is not your Mom and Pop place anymore. The new owners, Win & Lori Mitchell, (and their great boys!) have turned what used to be very nice cottages we have always stayed at into a destination vacation!! Eveything is totally redone, they have added new cottages, upgraded the entire look of the property(Win told me 6 acres), the kids love the pool, and best of all....Have put in a specialty wine and Extreme Beer Room!!!
The beer room is listed on the website beeradvocate.com. If you have trouble finding it go to 1828vintagehouse.com and they should have a link.
Don't miss this place.... It is a winner!!!!

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
Thank lily9531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boothbay
2.0 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#5 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
1.3 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#6 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
#8 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
3.6 mi away
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
#1 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boothbay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boothbay Resort

Property: Boothbay Resort
Address: 301 Adams Pond Rd, Boothbay, ME 04537-4334 (Formerly 1828 Vintage House and Cottages)
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boothbay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Where else can you stay and have Boothbay’s only Micro Brewery and Vintage House Wine & Cheese Shop at your cottage door!” A cottage resort located just 1 mile from Boothbay Harbor and many coastal attractions. All the comforts of home including outdoor heated pool, hot tub, Bocce court, Golf putting greens, outdoor grills. Pets are welcome in certain cabins or cottages. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Boothbay Hotel Boothbay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing