We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A different view of Boothbay Harbor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Boothbay Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We took a different tack on this trip to Boothbay. Rather than the harbor we chose a hotel overlooking a "lake" , actually just a finger of the harbor but the difference was amazing. Beach Cove is located on a dead end street away from the bustle of Boothbay Harbor and its tourist district, but close enough to walk if you're energetic.

Along with lakefront views, the hotel offered guests use of rowboats and canoes to explore the peaceful lake environment. Another plus, homemade muffins and cinnammon rolls each morning. Staff was very freindly and accommodating.

On the down side, there was some noise to be heard from adjoining units but it was tolerable. I found the bed too firm and initially had some difficulty falling asleep. Minor problems when you consider the location; convenient to town but quiet and remote. Would certainly stay again!

Room Tip: King balcony rooms are the way to go! Morning coffee and evening cocktails on the private balcony w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NickD64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (385)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

309 - 315 of 385 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2011

Our family of 4 stayed 2 nights in this wonderful place. It is a bit removed from the main part of Booth Bay Harbor but this adds to its charm. With a car the main town is only a short drive away. We received a very warm welcome at reception and even though we arrived early we were quickly shown to our room. We were given one on the 2nd floor with great direct views of the water. The room was larger than most hotels we have stayed in and had a nice rear veranda for outside dining and taking in the view. The in-ground pool was very clean and kept at a very comfortable temperature. Plenty of on-site parking is available at the fron of the property. A rear rolling lawn falls towards the water where there is a very small sandy beach and a small pontoon (a little slippery) which you can fish off, and where I was lucky to catch my first two fish in America from - two very healthy looking brook trout. You do need a fishing licence though, which you can get from a fishing tackle shop about 10 minutes away. We also took advantage of the complimentary canoes and had a great time exploring the waterway whilst getting some exercise as well. Breakfast was also included. It wasn't huge but what they had was all very nice. The locality of Booth Bay Harbor was one of our favourite spots. The historic fishing village, the quieter more laid back atmosphere and of course the delicious lobsters make it a must visit destination. Hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aussietez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

This hotel is in a quiet cove, about a mile from town. All rooms overlook the cove and it's just a short stroll down the hill to swimming, canoes or relaxing in the comfy chairs by the water. We even took a bottle of wine and sat by the water one afternoon ton enjoy the peaceful setting.

The rooms were clean and decent sized. Both beds were comfortable, each with access to the bathroom. All furniture was new and the rooms had been recently remodeled. The bathroom had also been updated. One drawback was that we only had one sink in the room, which was in the bathroom. There was a kitchen area with a fridge, microwave and counter space with a coffee maker, but no sink. It did appear as if this area had recently been renovated so perhaps additional plumbing was not an option. I don't know if other rooms have this type of setup.

The staff was helpful with in-town dining and parking suggestions and providing directions to a grocery store and laundromat as they do not have facilities here. What we learned quickly here was to simply ask if we needed something. There is no information sheet in the room, so you pretty much have to ask the staff if you need something. This wasn't a problem for us and they were very accommodating.

We would certainly stay here again. The rooms were bright and comfortable and the location was perfect. Just outside of town, on a quiet street and very relaxing.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KentuckyGirlAtHeart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

My wife and I recently stayed 3 nights in a balcony view room. Larissa the innkeeper was very nice and helpful. The Lake is very nice as was the canoeing. We enjoyed staying out of town since Boothbay Harbor downtown is a zoo in August. Great view from our balcony and the breakfast was nice. Nearby Southport Island and Robinson's seafood reastaurant are great.

Next time I'd spend the extra $20 and stay in a 2nd floor upstairs deluxe balcony room for the extra space, which would come in helpful on a rainy day.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FLAmeliaIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We stayed at Beach Cove on our family vacation and were satisfied with our evening there. We had no complaints, but I believe your level of satisfaction will depend on your vacation goal. The hotel is located with a water view of the cove and is quiet and clean. It is not modernized, and the bathroom was dated and very small. The continental breakfast was provided right on time but is fairly basic. It met our needs but don't expect a wide selection or a sit down area like you find in the chain hotels. We took our food to the picnic area or you can take it to your balcony, but there is no place to eat in a sit down dining area. Good points at Beach Cove are that it is quiet and away from the bustle of town but is still just moments from it. The staff was polite and responsive to our requests, and if we had planned for more days at this location, I believe our group would have enjoyed the picnic area, grill, and boats which were available. We were only there overnight so we didn't spend time on any of those activities. I would recommend staying at Beach Cove if you want a place that is clean and quiet with what would be considered mainly basic accommodations. If you are looking for a quiet place to read, relax, and enjoy nature, I think you will like Beach Cove. If you like more modern accommodations with more space, you will probably be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thebusyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We had just a few nights to relax and were drawn to photos of the lake. The lake is more beautiful than the photos, the wildlife is amazing--we sat in the canoe watching a bald eagle hunt. The Beachcove is a very short drive to the center of Boothbay Harbor for lunches and dinners, the resort puts our a great assortment of pastries, coffees, etc. each morning. Our room was clean, large, relaxing and had that fantastic view of the lake! The owners were friendly, helpful and clearly concerned with presenting their establishment at its best. We'll go back when we can!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tollinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

This was our first visit to Maine, and we chose to stay at the Beach Cove. Our room was quite large, and was very clean, however, we did find that the beds were a bit uncomfortable and the towels were not plush/absorbent. We had a great view of the lake, and the property was very quiet which was nice. The owners were very friendly and helpful when it came to making recommendations on where to eat, visit, etc. Not sure if it is customary in Maine to pay for the balance of your stay upon arrival, however, we are used to paying for the balance of any stay wherever we go on the last day so we found it odd that we had to pay in full when we checked in. As for the continental breakfast, this is served at the check in/registration office, so you basically have to get your food on a plastic tray and bring it to your room. This was also unexpected as we are used to breakfast being served in a breakfast room so a bit disappointed with that, as well as that there were only muffins that we personally found a bit dry, and store bought danish and mini cinnamon rolls offered along with juice and coffee/tea. Don't expect any milk - just liquid creamer for your coffee. Perhaps we had higher expectations, but considering that this hotel had been re-done a few years ago, we thought some more attention would have been paid to the details. Again - very nice and friendly owners, room was big and clean, property was quiet but we were not blown away by our room. Next time we come to Boothbay, we will likely rent a house or look at other hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank ecav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boothbay Harbor
1 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
548 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#7 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
516 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ocean Gate Resort
Ocean Gate Resort
#1 of 3 in Southport
376 reviews
1.9 mi away
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
942 reviews
1 mi away
Boothbay Harbor Inn
Boothbay Harbor Inn
#8 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Cove Waterfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Cove Waterfront Inn

Address: 48 Lakeview Rd, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-1788
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
#4 Family Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range: £71 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Beach Cove Waterfront Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront Inn with water view balcony rooms. Private beach with pier.Salt Water Heated pool. Newly renovated with all new rooms and furniture. FREE boats and canoes for our guests. Complimentary continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Beach Cove Waterfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Beach Cove
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing