We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, not so great room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Boothbay Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2011

First the good. The property is fantastic. A short walk down to the harbor, with access to boats, canoes, and plenty of place to sit and enjoy the beautiful property. The room was very clean.

The not so good, the room was lacking in the little things. A trash can in the room (there was only one in the bathroom) would be nice, as would a place for a suitcase. The bed was awful, springy, and firm...I woke up with a sore back, and not well rested. The worst part about Beach Cove was the noise. Paper thin walls made every door slam (and there were quite a few), and every person walking past your room can be heard. Unfortunately, I think it would have been more peaceful to sleep down by the water.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roadtrip76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (385)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

305 - 311 of 385 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2011

As others have said, this place is off the beaten bath from Boothbay Harbor. Would be a short bike ride and a VERY brisk walk to town

The view from our deck was awesome.

The only drawback was that the pillows and bed are not very comfortable

We will be back

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Manchvegas_03103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

My husband I stayed here for 3 mid-week nights in August and have said we would come back for sure. The rooms are nothing fancy but that was what we expected. Rooms are simple but exceptionally clean. The beds are OK, not great but not horrible. The hotel overlooks a beautiful lake that is very clean. I did go for a quick swim one morning and the water was perfectly refreshing. Unfortunately we missed out on getting a view from the water with one of the canoes because we just didn't have enough time. Warm and delicious rolls and muffins await in the office every morning along w/apples, oranges, OJ and fresh, hot coffee. The view from the rooms is nice to wake up to with a cup of hot Joe too.

Kudos to the owners, who we did meet and they are both very nice.
This place is a gem. Nice to be a stones throw away from downtown Boothbay and get more from your money with the grounds, breakfast and the lake. Can't wait to go back.

The view from the rooms is nicv

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bourgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

This is no fancy hotel - rooms are more like motel rooms, as others have noted. But they are clean and well-maintained, and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The price is relatively affordable for the area, and it is situated on a beautiful lake. The hotel provides canoes & rowboats, also a small barbecue area down by the lake, as well as several chairs to just sit and relax. We were there over labor day weekend, and the place was full, but we found it to be quiet and not overly crowded for relaxing.

For those with kids, this is an ideal place to stay - not only for the lake, but for the small pool.

And finally, as others have noted, it's a quick drive into town to go out to dinner etc etc. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stonecollector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We took a different tack on this trip to Boothbay. Rather than the harbor we chose a hotel overlooking a "lake" , actually just a finger of the harbor but the difference was amazing. Beach Cove is located on a dead end street away from the bustle of Boothbay Harbor and its tourist district, but close enough to walk if you're energetic.

Along with lakefront views, the hotel offered guests use of rowboats and canoes to explore the peaceful lake environment. Another plus, homemade muffins and cinnammon rolls each morning. Staff was very freindly and accommodating.

On the down side, there was some noise to be heard from adjoining units but it was tolerable. I found the bed too firm and initially had some difficulty falling asleep. Minor problems when you consider the location; convenient to town but quiet and remote. Would certainly stay again!

Room Tip: King balcony rooms are the way to go! Morning coffee and evening cocktails on the private balcony w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NickD64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Our family of 4 stayed 2 nights in this wonderful place. It is a bit removed from the main part of Booth Bay Harbor but this adds to its charm. With a car the main town is only a short drive away. We received a very warm welcome at reception and even though we arrived early we were quickly shown to our room. We were given one on the 2nd floor with great direct views of the water. The room was larger than most hotels we have stayed in and had a nice rear veranda for outside dining and taking in the view. The in-ground pool was very clean and kept at a very comfortable temperature. Plenty of on-site parking is available at the fron of the property. A rear rolling lawn falls towards the water where there is a very small sandy beach and a small pontoon (a little slippery) which you can fish off, and where I was lucky to catch my first two fish in America from - two very healthy looking brook trout. You do need a fishing licence though, which you can get from a fishing tackle shop about 10 minutes away. We also took advantage of the complimentary canoes and had a great time exploring the waterway whilst getting some exercise as well. Breakfast was also included. It wasn't huge but what they had was all very nice. The locality of Booth Bay Harbor was one of our favourite spots. The historic fishing village, the quieter more laid back atmosphere and of course the delicious lobsters make it a must visit destination. Hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aussietez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

This hotel is in a quiet cove, about a mile from town. All rooms overlook the cove and it's just a short stroll down the hill to swimming, canoes or relaxing in the comfy chairs by the water. We even took a bottle of wine and sat by the water one afternoon ton enjoy the peaceful setting.

The rooms were clean and decent sized. Both beds were comfortable, each with access to the bathroom. All furniture was new and the rooms had been recently remodeled. The bathroom had also been updated. One drawback was that we only had one sink in the room, which was in the bathroom. There was a kitchen area with a fridge, microwave and counter space with a coffee maker, but no sink. It did appear as if this area had recently been renovated so perhaps additional plumbing was not an option. I don't know if other rooms have this type of setup.

The staff was helpful with in-town dining and parking suggestions and providing directions to a grocery store and laundromat as they do not have facilities here. What we learned quickly here was to simply ask if we needed something. There is no information sheet in the room, so you pretty much have to ask the staff if you need something. This wasn't a problem for us and they were very accommodating.

We would certainly stay here again. The rooms were bright and comfortable and the location was perfect. Just outside of town, on a quiet street and very relaxing.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KentuckyGirlAtHeart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boothbay Harbor
1 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
548 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#7 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
516 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ocean Gate Resort
Ocean Gate Resort
#1 of 3 in Southport
376 reviews
1.9 mi away
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
941 reviews
1 mi away
Boothbay Harbor Inn
Boothbay Harbor Inn
#8 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Cove Waterfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Cove Waterfront Inn

Address: 48 Lakeview Rd, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-1788
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
#4 Family Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range: £72 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Beach Cove Waterfront Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront Inn with water view balcony rooms. Private beach with pier.Salt Water Heated pool. Newly renovated with all new rooms and furniture. FREE boats and canoes for our guests. Complimentary continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Beach Cove Waterfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Beach Cove
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing