We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Atmosphere” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tugboat Inn Restaurant

Tugboat Inn Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, View
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
BRIDGTON
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Nice Atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Stopped by for lunch as we had a coupon with some money off. Got lobster rolls which were average hot dog size rolls and for the price expected it to be larger. Waitress was friendly and service was fine. Would I go again, only with another coupon as it was pricey,

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    133
    65
    20
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hackensack, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Where was the lobster?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

In the lobster mac 'n cheese that is. Truly had maybe 3 pieces of lobster in it and even they were small chunks. But I will say we had a great time in the bar after dinner listening to the Holy Mackerels!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Issue
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

In a room with only 5 other occupied tables, we thought we would be offered seating with a decent view, but we had to ask for another table. The server rolled her eyes and from that point on was unfriendly. As far as the food, it was not remarkable except for being overpriced. Mussels were extremely tiny and barely qualified as appetizers. The waterfront area of Boothbay is popular and kind of a tourist trap; at times the restaurants are overwhelmed. In slower times a better effort could be made, and the entire area would benefit from having more upscale restaurants. Afterall, we-- the tourists -- are willing to spend the money for quality food and service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank IssueBiggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not so fresh crab cake”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

The crab cake came in perfectly shaped and pressed circle. The texture was dense. I asked our server if the crab was fresh and was home made. She said the crab cake "came in that way". there you have it. They were pressed and shaped elsewhere and transported into the restaurant! I was disappointed. Both the place and the our server were very nice. Just the food we had was not.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Keiko M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Service and Food were so-so”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

It was a Monday night, so our options were limited, but we were not at all impressed. Even though the dining room was almost empty, we had to wait 5 minutes for anyone to greet us and take us to a table.

My fish tasted OK, but was very dry. My husband was equally unimpressed with his.

In a town with some very good restaurants, this would not be my first recommendation.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSS59, General Manager at Tugboat Inn Restaurant, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Thank you for you recent review of our restaurant. We are sorry to hear that your experience was not quite up to par. We appreciate the feedback as it helps keep us on our toes. We hope you give us another try at some point as we are sure that a future visit would be more satisfactory.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tugboat Inn Restaurant also viewed

Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Tugboat Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing