We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Harriet H. "What a great Clambake!"”
Review of Cabbage Island

Cabbage Island
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Marlboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Harriet H. "What a great Clambake!"”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We had never heard of the Cabbage Island Clambake, until friends suggested it. They were right in their reviews, wonderful excursion! You must stand outside the boat to hear about the history of the area, as inside the speakers were garbled. Wonderful one hour ride to the island with many photo opps. As you disembark you are greeted by the Moore brothers and young members of their family who make you feel welcome. We noticed people running and followed them to the area where the food was being prepared. At this spot we found an abundance of picnic tables spread out on a grassy area overlooking the water. We sat with other friendly couples, many who had visited before. Very organized. First we received drinks and after 15min. the chowder was served. We had enough time to talk and digest our chowder before the main meal. A horn sounds and everyone lines up near the pit to receive their trays of food. What an abundance....one dozen clams, 2 whole lobsters, baked potatoe, corn on the cob, grilled onion, hard boiled egg, butter and water(to wash off clams). The lobster meat was sweet and succulent! Hard to believe that after all that, you are served a ginormous piece of blueberry cake. We took our desert to go! Plenty of time to discover the beauty of the island. The family has property and lives on the island in season. A must do when visiting Maine.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank kvetch29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    275
    40
    12
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Delaware
Level Contributor
85 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Cabbage Island Clambake - Wow”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

A must while you're in Boothbay. We've been home a week now and we're still talking about the Cabbage Island Clambake. Amazing staff, super organized, and generous amount of food: two lobsters; onion; chowder; hard boiled egg; clams; blueberry cake. We didn't eat for the rest of the day. The hosts make you feel like you're part of the family. Make a reservation - by phone or stop by the booth. Note: cash only.
Don't miss this. Appropriate for all ages. The outbound trip takes a roundabout route so you can take in the scenery. We loved it and thank the hosts for a perfect day. Make sure you talk to the owner. The family mingles with everyone. The encourage you to explore.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Delaware806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“THE BEST!!”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

great trip by boat, informative, great staff, beautiful island to explore or play and the food...WOW..I didn't need to eat the rest of the day...do this trip well worth every penny

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank kimrosencrans1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The boat ride out is relaxing, the meal is excellent. There is nothing like it. A definite must do for anyone in the area

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nancy_B506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Island excursion - clam/lobster bake”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Went on the clam/lobster bake excursion - great family time. Service and food were wonderful. Beautiful island with lots of activities

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank susan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cabbage Island also viewed

Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Cabbage Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing