We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great disappoint”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Boothbay Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
maryland
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great disappoint”
Reviewed 25 July 2012 via mobile

Yes the view is spectacular but at $400 a night that doesn't go far. So many problems. Was extremely disappointed. Our room was not equipped with hair dryer,enough towels...etc. it was annoying as the front desk did not always pick up the phone. The cleaning staff barely does the minimum. We had a pizza box that sat next to trash can for three days till we tossed ourselves. Not once did they wipe down the bathrooms ink or dust off the tops of furniture. Yes it's a green hotel but they never changed our sheets. The restaurant, Bogey's is a disaster. Be ause it was so convenient we tried it twice. How do you mess up a hamburg. The staff at Boogey's was delightful. The haddock over risotto. Fish was dried and risotto sticky and real salty. Yes it's beautiful, yes the pool on the bay is great but it is way way overpriced and there is just not that special feeling you get at a top notch resort.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank goodbyegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPCCapital, Owner at Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Dear Guest,

I am very sorry that you were not pleased with your experience at Spruce Point. Please contact me directly. We have worked very hard to achieve high guest satisfaction and enjoy a repeat guest ratio of over 80%. However, from time to time, mistakes will be made. Your satisfaction is very important. I look forward hearing from you and to the opportunity to retain you as a valued customer.

adigiulian@sprucepointinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

895 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    638
    170
    58
    21
    8
See reviews for
336
410
14
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Highland Mills, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2012

I've been to Maine over 30 times on vacation. We finally found the perfect place to be...the Spruce Point Inn in Boothbay Harbor. I'll be going back there many more times. The owner even walks the property and talks to guests. Their managers are superb, and can assist with any needs you may have. I could'nt ask for a more relaxing, enjoyable and worth-while vacation spot. You have GOT to try this place!

Room Tip: Be carefull about renting rooms without A/C. Maine is generally cool, so not all rooms have air cond...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

My husband and I both enjoyed hot stone massage and petite facials. Our therapists were excellent. We left feeling wonderful.

A couple of notes--I wish that when we called to make our appointments, there had been instructions about where to find the spa and where to park. It would also help if there were more signage on the property. It is a very large, sprawling inn and the spa is only one small building of it. Since we did not stay at the inn, we had a hard time finding where to park. Also, once we changed into robes, I wish we had been directed straight to the waiting area. My husband (especially) and I both felt uncomfortable stepping back into the reception area wearing robes. Minor details in comparison to how wonderful we felt, but may be helpful for someone else to know.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SheilaQuinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Coral, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

This place has fantastic views, kayaks, bicycles, outdoor activities galore. We booked a charter boat ride with Hay-Val Charters and it was the best part of our stay at Spruce Point Inn. He picked us up at the dock so we didn't have to go into town. He took us where we wanted to go not where he thought we should Why I didn't give this Inn a 5 star had more to do with our particular room than the resort as a whole. The room was not well portrayed in their pictures, maintenance on this room was lacking and internet service within the main hotel was very hit and miss. We reported the conditions but never saw any improvement while we stayed our 3 days. Others in our party had very nice rooms.

Room Tip: We picked the upper story of the Inn to get great views but after seeing the stairs ( no elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CapeSkan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPCCapital, Owner at Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We have taken extraordinary steps to photograph all of our accommodations. I am sorry that you felt the 3 images for the Crow's nest in the
Main Inn did not do it justice. The Crows Nest is the most popular room in the
Main Inn with near 100% guest satisfaction. I am simply at a loss as to how we could
more accurately portray this room. There are 3 images --- a cozy bathroom, the bedroom,
and a fabulous view from a private porch. Please contact me so that we may discuss
how we may serve you better on your next visit.

adigiulian@sprucepointinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We spent three nights in the middle of June, just before peak season really took off. Our room was very comfortable although it got a little too warm after we showered ... opening the sliding glass door to the balcony helped greatly. The view to the harbor was great. The weather was quite cool (low 60's) but the warm sun compensated and it was extremely comfortable for any outdoor activity. A non-smoking property but smoking on the balcony was permissible.
Spent some time sitting outside the main building under an umbrella, amazingly, I was the only one there. Everybody else probably was doing something active, I just wanted to soak up the sunshine and the view. Breakfast was very good, seating wasn't crowded, service was attentive and friendly. The young people working at the Inn as well as in town were all just great.
We walked to town several times, it was actually closer to 2 miles, not 1. Great way to see the homes and restaurants along the way. We ate at the Lobster Dock twice and enjoyed it very much.
The only complaint I could make was in the bar; the friendly bartender was so busy talking to a couple from New York, she never came back and took my order for an appetizer I told her I wanted to order to take back to our room. Oh well, just left a little more room for dinner.
Good location for driving to local attractions besides the town; took about an hour to get to Bath where we visited the Maritime Museum (highly recommended if you're interested in history and the sea).

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DON300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mashpee, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2012

The Spruce Point Inn is a truly a first class property with great amenities, a warm feel and is family-oriented. The inn turned out to be a truly hidden treasure. The owners and the staff go out of their way to make your trip enjoyable. Not only where they nice, they all clearly get that the point is to make the guests welcome and they accomplished that task magnificently! There is an absolutely beautiful view of the harbor, along with 2 great pools, games, bike rides, kayaking, fishing, and shuttles to town. We dined at Bogies for dinner one night, and the food was outstanding and the service great. The manager made it a point to come and talk with us, she was a truly wonderful young women. On our way back to our room we stopped at the S'Mores Station. This is exactly what it sounds like. A camp fire that had helpful staff members assisting the guests making the camp treats. The young staff, with their own guitars, played music and sang with everyone! Would I return? Absolutely I cannot wait! I wish we had more time to take advantage of all the amenities.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manlius, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Spruce Point Inn is the greatest spot to go for a relaxing and enjoyable vacation. They handled our group of 17 professionally and with a great deal of kindness.Their views from the cottage are fantastic and the beautiful setting of the Inn and their grounds lends itself to one of the most ideal vacation sites. Wonderful and gracious staff certainly helps and that statement applies to all including the owners Dana and Joe who made themselves available to all their guest. It is child friendly,it is a great getaway for couples and for old people like us. Please go for the vacation of a lifetime and remember it is in the great state of Maine and Boothbay and Spruce Point Inn are two of the reasons Maine is great..

Room Tip: we had a cottage but all appear to be wonderful it is what you personally want from this experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boothbay Harbor
1.4 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
453 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#6 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
487 reviews
2.2 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#5 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
367 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ocean Gate Resort
Ocean Gate Resort
#1 of 3 in Southport
364 reviews
1.4 mi away
Boothbay Harbor Oceanside Golf Resort
Boothbay Harbor Oceanside Golf R...
#8 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa

Property: Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Address: 88 Grandview Ave, PO Box 237, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-2247
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
#1 Family Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MAINE'S CLASSIC OCEANSIDE RESORT A Conde Nast 2016 'Top 20 Northeast Resort' and Downeast Magazine 2016 'Best Hotel/Resort in Maine', Spruce Point Inn is exactly what most guests picture when they think of an oceanside resort in Maine. For more than 125 years, the Inn has attracted travelers from across the United States and provided a refreshing backdrop for families and friends to create 'treasured oceanside memories made in Maine'. On a private 100 acre peninsula on the ocean overlooking the entrance to Boothbay Harbor and Burnt Island Lighthouse, the Spruce Point Inn is an ideal venue for memorable reunions, seaside weddings, romantic getaways and business retreats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spruce Point Hotel Boothbay Harbor
Spruce Point Resort
Spruce Point Inn Resort And Spa Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing