We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Wedding Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Boothbay Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2012

The Spruce Point Inn and Resort is the quintessential coastal Maine destination. This was the perfect choice for our son's wedding weekend. He and his fiancé wanted a casual, comfortable venue with activities where their friends from different parts of the country could meet and enjoy volleyball, kayaking, bike riding and jaunts into the quaint downtown Boothbay Harbor. They had a beautiful Sept. day with their ceremony and cocktail hour outside before enjoying their reception in the Pemiquid Room. Our guests came away from the weekend with very warm feelings. The staff was extremely accommodating and professional with every detail attended to. Cindy Mastrella was just wonderful to work with. After looking at many other sites before and after the wedding, there's no question Spruce Point was the right pick!!

Room Tip: We stayed in a room directly across from the pool with a beautiful view of the harbor, a nice locati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (942)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

735 - 741 of 942 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2012

We recently stayed 2 nights at Spruce Point Inn. The staff was friendly and helpful. We stayed in the Balsam Lodge and the view of the Bay was spectacular. Many immenities (free washer & dryer to use!!!), hiking on the grounds, outdoor pools (one right on the Bay!). Also looks like a lot of fun things if visiting in the Summer (S'more station and outdoor fire pit etc). We were there in September and the Fall folliage, eating lobster from the dock of a place right down the street, the cute town of Booth Bay....so many things to do close by the Inn! Highly recommend as a family get away and although we live on the West Coast we anxiously await another visit in the future...with our grandchildren.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shannon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

My Wife and I stayed at the Spruce Point Inn on October 6th for one night celebrating our 25th anniversary. From check in to departure, the accommodations, staff and service far exceeded our expectations!! Traveling about 230 nights a year for work and staying in upscale hotels and resorts around the country, I have never come across a staff so dedicated to making our stay so enjoyable. The service and accommodations were excellent not to mention the views of the harbor form our suite!!

This is THE PLACE TO STAY when in Boothbay Harbor. While not having the time to take advantage of the spa services offered, we did enjoy the fine dining and pub during our stay. The food was outstanding and the drinks mixed just right!! We will certainly return to the Spruce Point Inn on our next visit to Maine!!!

Room Tip: Ask for the Oceanview king with spa tub, great accommodations!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarylandJohnsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

I'm conflicted. I went thinking it would be a nice, upscale hotel with a good view. Actually, it is an amazing view with a rustic cabin feel to the room. We stayed in the Captain's Quarters. It's a large room. The furniture is early American from the 1950's. The bathroom has a linoleum floor with an old tub and plastic surround. I must say it was all very clean with is hugely important. Still, there was no way I would take a bath there. The floors look cool, but they are squeaky and creaky and you hear your neighbors walking on their creaky floors and opening their dresser drawers. There was a big storm the night we were there and something on the balcony was banging in the wind all night. However; it has the most amazing view which was just a feast for the eyes. We ate at the restaurant 'Bogies' on site. Good food and good service. I don't think we would stay here again, but in Boothbay Harbor (from what I could tell) this is the best place in town. If you have any mobility issues this would be a tough place for you to get around. I would probably have given it a higher rating if I would have been expecting a rustic, cabin type room. I felt a little bit like I was at camp when I wanted to feel like I was at a nice hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank k&k007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPCCapital, Owner at Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry we were unaware that you probably preferred one of our Modern Lodge rooms instead of The Inn. We would have been pleased to have changed your room if requested. The photos on our website for Captains Quarters show all the areas of the room and bath….and the actual view. You must not have looked at the photos. Please contact me as I would be happy to extend our Modern Lodge room to you in the future. I think you would find the bathrooms in the Modern Lodge rooms perhaps more to your liking. Many offer large soaking tubs and or whirlpools, a separate shower, and are finished in porcelain or marble. The guest room furnishings are more contemporary as well.

From our website “Modern Lodge Rooms at Spruce Point Inn add further diversity to the mix of our Maine accommodations. These guest rooms are located in seven modern Lodges, which include: Bluebird, Lark, Seagull, Evergreen, Puffin, Loon, and Seabreeze…..Perhaps the most hotel-like of the guest rooms, these rooms offer ample room to relax and the benefits of an extended-stay experience -- sitting area, gas fireplace, historical resort photography, Queen sleeper sofas in many rooms, air-conditioning, plush-top beds with triple sheeting in luxurious linens, private covered porches with traditional Adirondack or rocking chairs and woodland, partial, ocean, or oceanfront views. Enjoy an array of in-room amenities including an LCD flat-screen television, an iPod docking station, complementary wireless access, a refrigerator with Poland Spring water, and Keurig coffee-maker with an assortment of Green Mountain coffee and teas.”

For future guests interested in the Captains Quarters, please visit the website under Lodging/The Inn/Captains Quarters. You will see in the photos that Captains Quarters is a gorgeous room with historic Moosehead furnishings, a private porch with spectacular view, and a cozy pine-paneled bathroom. The unique linoleum on the floor in the bathroom was installed in 2005. The original hardwood floors in the guest room were restored in 2011. As this guest suggests --- the floors are pretty cool. This said, the Inn is 100 years old and does retain the creaks, ambiance, and patina you would expect. For guests who enjoy something historic, fresh and unique, The Inn rooms should be a consideration for you. And, the view simply does not get any better.

adigiulian@sprucepointinn.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

great place to stay, but i am a cigar smoker and they have a totally non smoking policy on the property. they have a wonderful view of the sound and light house with andriandeck chairs with a great seating area but won't allow any smoking of any kind :(. it was awesome to visualize though! The cottage was really cool, had the kitchen and living area, would have been great to share with someone!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Classixm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

We recently had a most memorable meal at The Spruce Point Inn. We dined in "88" and had some truly wonderful dishes. There were six of us so we were able to taste a variety of items. The forks were flying!
Some of the favorite appetizers we tried were grit cake with mushroom ragout(outstanding), crab cake(great), and scallops(perfect). For dinner you can't miss the butternut squash ravioli, or for the meat lovers the lamp chops or steak. The desserts were very, very good-creme brulee, chocolate cake but the best of the best was pumpkin cheesecake with a chocolate dipping sauce. Wishing I had a piece right now!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luv2travelCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

This resort is an exceptionally beautiful spot. The sunsets looking out over the water were stunning! We loved the trails and the game facilities. Even the laundry was convenient and helpful as we included our stay there during a 2 week Maine adventure. Food in the restaurants was good. The major disappointment was from noise from occupants above us and the "dated" decor. The glass in the patio door was so cloudy that we thought it was dirty! Thankfully the weather was so good we could have the door open! A little less noise and the stay would have been good! Updated room decor and it would have been excellent. The people who served us were excellent!

Room Tip: Try the Main lodge if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPCCapital, Owner at Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Spruce Point and for allowing us to be part of your 2 week Maine adventure. I am so pleased that you enjoyed the location, amenities, dining, and service at the Inn and gave us high marks. I am sorry that you felt the guest room was average. I am hopeful that you filled out our email survey we sent you. If you did not fill out our survey, please feel free to contact me at the email address below so we may discuss how we can best meet your décor expectations in the future. Let me take a moment to speak to the lodging.

For those considering a future stay at Spruce Point, the lodge mentioned in this review is the Balsam Lodge. A description and photography on the modern lodge rooms can be found on the Inn’s website under lodging/Modern Lodge Rooms/Oceanview. Image 5, 6, 7, and 8 – are the Balsam Lodge room.

These oceanview rooms were updated in 2011 with a coastal palette to include interior painting, new carpeting, beds and bedding, historic resort photography, and guest room amenities . From the Inn’s website “Perhaps the most hotel-like of the guest rooms, these rooms offer ample room to relax and the benefits of an extended-stay experience -- sitting area, gas fireplace, historical resort photography, Queen sleeper sofas in many rooms, air-conditioning, plush-top beds with triple sheeting in luxurious linens, private covered porches with traditional Adirondack or rocking chairs and woodland, partial, ocean, or oceanfront views. Enjoy an array of in-room amenities including an LCD flat-screen television, an iPod docking station, complimentary wireless access, a refrigerator with Poland Spring water, and Keurig coffee-maker with an assortment of Green Mountain coffee and teas.”

The Modern Lodge rooms in the Balsam Lodge have a wonderful private porch that you access from a double French door. I checked the glass on the doors and you are correct, there are 2 panes that need to be replaced because of condensation on the interior of the double pane glass. It is on our list for the winter projects. Thank you.

There is no question that a noisy neighbor can affect enjoyment. I am sorry that this occurred but glad that it was not the physical space that caused the issue. We would have been pleased to move you to The Inn, if that is what you preferred. I am sorry we missed this opportunity.

Again, thank you. Let’s please connect so that I may assist you on your return stay.

adigiulian@sprucepointinn.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boothbay Harbor
1.4 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
470 reviews
2.2 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
548 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#7 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#5 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
385 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ocean Gate Resort
Ocean Gate Resort
#1 of 3 in Southport
376 reviews
1.4 mi away
Boothbay Harbor Oceanside Golf Resort
Boothbay Harbor Oceanside Golf R...
#6 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa

Address: 88 Grandview Ave, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-2247
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
#1 Family Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range: £144 - £354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MAINE'S CLASSIC OCEANSIDE RESORT A Condé Nast 'Top 20 Northeast Resort' and Downeast Magazine 'Best Hotel/Resort in Maine', Spruce Point Inn is exactly what most guests picture when they think of an oceanside resort in Maine. For more than 125 years, the Inn has attracted travelers from across the United States and provided a refreshing backdrop for families and friends to create 'treasured oceanside memories made in Maine'. On a private 100 acre peninsula on the ocean overlooking the entrance to Boothbay Harbor and Burnt Island Lighthouse, the Spruce Point Inn is an ideal venue for memorable reunions, seaside weddings, romantic getaways and business retreats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spruce Point Hotel Boothbay Harbor
Spruce Point Resort
Spruce Point Inn Resort And Spa Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing