We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Hotel with Million Dollar Vies” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Boothbay Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Suffern, New York, USA
Level Contributor
134 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Fabulous Hotel with Million Dollar Vies”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

This property is a total gem. The room we had was very large- had its own terrace with rocking chairs, looked out onto Boothbay Harbor- a view that can never be duplicated. The service was outstanding, restaurants have great food at very reasonable prices. Cant wait to return.

Room Tip: The main lodge rooms have lots of history and the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fd20man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    587
    159
    54
    16
    7
See reviews for
311
373
13
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

I have traveled to the Boothbay Harbor area over the course of many years and stayed in very basic accommodations. This year, we decided to stay at a resort with some more amenities. I was very disappointed in the Spruce Point Inn. It received glowing recommendations from other travelers, so I was expecting more. The check in was disorganized. The woman at the front desk was pleasant enough, though not especially welcoming. Perhaps she was new, but she did not seem to have a clear idea of check in protocols or resort information. She was basically reciting information from a script and couldn't really answer specific questions. When we finally did get to our room, it was not clean. There was garbage under the bed and there were food crumbs on the floor from previous guests. I was barefoot and stepped on something sticks--perhaps a bite of cake? The ice bucket had some crumbs or dirt in it. The shower curtain in the bathroom had some pink mold growing around the bottom. After we complained, the floor was a bit cleaner and the ice bucket was replaced. We stayed for 4 days and one of the garbage cans was never emptied.
On a more positive note, the food in all 3 restaurants was delicious and the restaurant staff could not have been more pleasant or attentive. That was the highlight of our stay.
In general, I have traveled to many destinations both in the United States and abroad. For the price, the Spruce Point Inn was not up to expected standards for cleanliness and value for the money. Be aware that there is a hefty resort fee tacked onto the room price which is already pretty pricey. If you don't plan on spending most of your time on the property to utilize the "free" amenities, you're probably better off staying someplace else.

Room Tip: One of the best parts of this resort is the view, so it's worth a little extra for the any room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPCCapital, Owner at Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for being such a loyal visitor of Boothbay Harbor and for visiting Spruce Point this time.

For future guests, the accommodation referenced in this review is the Balsam Oceanfront Lodge. It's occupied about 98% of the season and seems to be consistently referred to as immaculate.

I recognize that mistakes can be made and I am glad that we quickly resolved the waste basket, ice bucket, and crumbs for you. I am also glad you loved the Inn's restaurants. We consider the restaurants as a key amenity to a visit to the Inn.

The additional amenities that are included in the Inn's resort fee are amongst some of the best. But, perhaps they are not your style?? And, that's ok.

Angelo DiGiuilian
adigiulian@sprucepointinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We had a fabulous mini-vacation at Spruce Point Inn. My husband and I got married there in 2005, and we've been back every year. It's a wonderful resort in an amazing location. We love staying there and exploring Boothbay every summer. There are many kid activities at the inn: camp, 2 pools (one saltwater, one fresh water), a game room, kayaking, and a nice playground. The spa is great. We love it there!

Room Tip: Even the partial ocean view rooms have a very nice view, in my experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AS2289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint John, Indiana
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

This was our second stay at Spuce Point Inn and was better than the first. It is a wonderful and relaxing escape from our daily lives in Suburban Chicago. Boothbay Harbor is wonderful. The only negitive was the food at SPI. All the wonderful eateries in Boothbay Harbor more than made up for this minor shortcoming. We were charmed to find out the Kennedy family vacationed at SPI and Albert Einstein Sailed the beautiful waters of Boothbay.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are a must but $$$!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank matt1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPCCapital, Owner at Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay in Boothbay Harbor at Spruce Point. Please contact me regarding your dining experience.

Angelo DiGiulian
adigiulian@sprucepointinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Narragansett, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Summer is highlighted with our annual stay at the Spruce Point Inn. This experience is beyond any other Inn we've ever visited. This year the weather was outstanding but even in previous years when the weather was rainy the coziness of the Inn was inviting to cuddle up with a book and enjoy the views. We look forward to our visit no matter what weather conditions. "Best part of the summer".

Room Tip: West facing rooms are always our favorite. Most beautiful susets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dleighton44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We enjoyed our stay at SPI. The location is beautiful and the main inn and the cabins were nice and clean. The people were also nice and attentive. The pool area is small but nice, a little noisy when there are a lot of kids but we still enjoyed it. The sunsets from this location are beautiful. We ate dinner at Bogie's and it was good. Overall, we would recommend SPI to our friends for a relaxing weekend and for families with kids as there are a lot of activities for kids and adults alike.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IdaL81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Spruce Point Inn with our two toddlers in cottage room Starboard C. Overall it was a pleasant experience. The main lodge common areas are lovely and relaxing and the grounds are nicely maintained. We enjoyed staying in a place where we could get some pretty good food as a family or in shifts while we kept the kids busy. There was plenty to do on the grounds: mini hiking trails, pools, a playground with sandbox and boat play structures, and a fabulous little rec hall with a play kitchen, train set, push toys, and arcades. There was also a lot to do nearby: the Botanical Garden has a wonderful children's garden that kept our two year olds busy for two hours and they could have gone longer! The railway museum was great and had a special Thomas day. For us, the place was beautiful and the bar tender was good!

However, there were some strange oversights:
1) My biggest complaint was our mattress. It was the worst mattress I have ever experienced in a hotel. It seemed like it was 10+ years old and something you would find in a junky rental cabin rather than a nice resort. I am not sure we will go back because of this alone. First night was bad; by the third night we were cranky.
2) Our bedroom smelled like sewage. I think there may have been a venting issue in the plumbing of Starboard B.
3) One small trashcan in a cottage room with a bathroom, bedroom, living room, and kitchenette.
4) Lack of sidewalks or paths from some cabins. There was a sidewalk from our cabin into the main road running through the property. Rather than march our toddlers on the road to go up to the Inn or other amenities, we had to run them up a grassy hill.
5) Single grilling station (a nice option) but no nearby picnic tables.
6) Agree with a prior poser about the hours of the restaurant, 30-45 minutes earlier would really help for families with young kids.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TwinMomma2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPCCapital, Owner at Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Spruce Point. I am pleased that overall you had a very good stay and in particular found Boothbay Harbor and the SPI resort, appropriate for your family during early August.

I have finally been able to get into Starboard C, one of our Oceanfront Cottage Rooms. It's been occupied since your review posted.

The bed in Starboard C is new from 2011. It's a plush top. I am sorry we were not aware of this issue as we would have gladly replaced your bed with one that was more suitable for you. Perhaps one of the newest double plush beds would have been better.

Also, had we known of a smell, we could have offered an explanation and solution for you. I've not had a single comment of this nature and Starboard, as perhaps the most popular Cottage, has been occupied nearly every day of the season. I could not recreate this issue.

Housekeeping has added an additional waste basket to Starboard C, and I have copied your other great ideas to a winter projects and standards list that we will be discussing soon.

Thank you again for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Sincerely,

Angelo DiGiulian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boothbay Harbor
1.9 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
2.2 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#5 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#6 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
#8 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
12.7 mi away
Sebasco Harbor Resort
Sebasco Harbor Resort
#1 of 1 in Sebasco Estates
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa

Property: Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Address: 88 Grandview Ave, PO Box 237, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-2247
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
#1 Romantic Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Conde Nast Top 20 Northeast Resort, Spruce Point Inn is exactly what most guests picture when they think of an oceanside resort in Maine. Located about an hour drive "down east" from Portland in the seafaring village of Boothbay Harbor. For more than 100 years, the inn has attracted travelers from across the United States and has provided a refreshing backdrop for families and friends to create delightful memories. Along a stunning stretch of oceanfront on Maine's rugged coast, the Spruce Point Inn is a family resort and the ideal venue for memorable reunions, seaside weddings, romantic getaways and business retreats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spruce Point Hotel Boothbay Harbor
Spruce Point Resort
Spruce Point Inn Resort And Spa Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing