We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Boothbay Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Hilo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We arrived for two nights just as they were opening for the season, and we've rarely been so positive about our lodging. Just an excellent inn, with very large and comfortable rooms, lots of amenities including free kayaking and biking, good food, and a superb oceanfront location. Off-season rates are really good, and our experience was first-rate.

Room Tip: Variety of rooms--some in the inn, many in various buildings with 6-8 rooms, cottages, etc. So be su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DandD95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    608
    165
    56
    17
    7
See reviews for
320
391
13
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Topsfield, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I first came to the Inn in 1993 and have come back every summer since, and when time permits, in the the spring and fall as well. It has always been a wonderful experience. Over the years changes have been made, all to the good. Buildings have been replaced with highly improved ones. The food is excellent and even though they no longer offer a meal plan, I still prefer to take all my meals at the Inn. The service is superb, the entire staff is extremely helpful and friendly, and it always so nice to see many of the same faces year after year. In recent years I have needed handicapped facilities and they are the best. The staff are always ready to assist me and I truly appreciate their caring and consideration. I'm getting on in years and plan to keep coming here as long as I can. Recently I read a novel in which the following quotation appeared - I don't know if it was the author's or someone else's. "For some the sea renews the soul. For others it's just salt water". Come to Spruce Point Inn at the entrance to the harbor, where the sea is all around you, and renew your soul.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Powinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed here on the last night of a tour of New England in the fall, and loved our brief visit. This an inn with great character but absolutely marvellous facilities. I believe some of the lodges have wood-burning stoves. Ours was a gas version- better for us and still looking just like the real thing. The weather was rainy and chilly but we were cosy and warm.
The breakfast was excellent and- more importantly- exactly the same and in the same dining room as for non-tour guests. This is not always the case when you are on a tour, but here we were welcomed as individuals by the staff.
The inn had an interesting history- JFK was one of the notable people who stayed here. We would have liked to find out more and sample more of the inn's amenities. We would certainly like to return if we are ever in New England again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LancashireTaurean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I attended the Maine Coastline photography workshop in Sept 2013, led by David Marx. The Inn was GREAT! The location is wonderful, the staff is amazing and the Inn facilities are top notch. The food was great and they catered to the needs of all guests. Our boat captain took us to Burnt Island for sunrise and since the muffins were not yet out of the oven, he dropped us off and went back to retrieve muffins and coffee. David is planning two workshops this year and I highly recommend them! If you want to learn more about photography and an idyllic setting - this is the place and he's the teacher.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronxville, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

This was our first stay in Boothbay after 15 years of Maine summer vacations. Spruce Point offers more luxury than our typical Maine stay with great dining and a spa. The property has a great location at the entrance to the harbor and you can enjoy coffee and the paper while taking in the view. Beautiful, clean and relaxed. We were very pleasantly surprised to find gluten free offerings on the menu.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CND26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We stayed at the Spruce Point Inn the second week of July, 2013. We are a family of four and stayed in the Seagul building which has a partial view of the waterfront. The room was spacious and clean and the beds were very comfortable. THe staff at this resort are very friendly and accommodating. While thee, be sure to walk the grounds and the nature trails. They have marshmellow roasts by a fire pit every evening. Kids loved it. The other reccomended activity is to take a sail excurion around the waters off Boothbay from the resorts dock. It's worth it! We ate at the pub restaraunt and the food was very good, both for dinner and breakfast. Easy commute into Boothbay.

Loved Spruce Point and hope to go back soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Uni4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
111 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Boothbay Harbor is Maine at it's best. The water, the blueberries, the fresh air....gorgeous. The Spruce Point Inn was nice-- the rooms are very big but felt "budget" to me. They were getting ready to do a renovation project when we were there so maybe the rooms have been upgraded since then. The food was good and the staff was very nice. The views are gorgeous and the town is delightful. I'd stay at Spruce Point Inn again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jlee7575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPCCapital, Owner at Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Spruce Point. I am pleased that your experience was above average in service and location.. I look forward to your return in 2014. Please contact me directly so that I may assist with your room selection.

The Inn is always restoring and updating accommodations, facilities, and amenities. I look forward to hearing which accommodation you stayed in so that I may consider additions to the ongoing "winter projects".

I am committed to receiving an excellent rating from you on your next stay.

Sincerely,
Angelo Di Giulian

adigiulian@sprucepointinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boothbay Harbor
1.4 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
435 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#7 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
461 reviews
2.2 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#5 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
353 reviews
12.7 mi away
Sebasco Harbor Resort
Sebasco Harbor Resort
#1 of 1 in Sebasco Estates
423 reviews
1.0 mi away
Brown's Wharf Inn
Brown's Wharf Inn
#3 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa

Property: Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Address: 88 Grandview Ave, PO Box 237, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-2247
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
#1 Romantic Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MAINE'S CLASSIC OCEANSIDE RESORT A Conde Nast 2016 'Top 20 Northeast Resort' and Downeast Magazine 2016 'Best Hotel/Resort in Maine', Spruce Point Inn is exactly what most guests picture when they think of an oceanside resort in Maine. For more than 125 years, the Inn has attracted travelers from across the United States and provided a refreshing backdrop for families and friends to create 'treasured oceanside memories made in Maine'. On a private 100 acre peninsula on the ocean overlooking the entrance to Boothbay Harbor and Burnt Island Lighthouse, the Spruce Point Inn is an ideal venue for memorable reunions, seaside weddings, romantic getaways and business retreats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spruce Point Hotel Boothbay Harbor
Spruce Point Resort
Spruce Point Inn Resort And Spa Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing