We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“like family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Boothbay Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“like family”
Reviewed 17 January 2012

I am so excited. I just made my reservation for next fall. We've been going to Cap'n Fish's for a few years now. They know who you are when you call and they remember which room you like!
The rooms are always very clean and the staff is very friendly. If you leave the chambermaid a note, she makes sure you have exactly what you want. The rooms are average size and the beds are extremely comfortable. They offer discounts on the Whale Watch and other boat trips. You can also get discount tickets to the Botanical Gardens. Almost everything is within walking distance (except Botanical Gardens and Aquarium). Be sure to ask about scenic drives of the area. Last fall we went to Pemaquid Point Lighthouse. What a treat! The front desk will give you directions and a map.
This is one place that makes you want to come back!

Room Tip: Waterfront rooms have best view and include a refrigerator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    113
    19
    9
    4
See reviews for
76
131
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Linden, NJ
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

My husband and I have always had a wonderful experience at Cap N' Fish. The people that work there and own it are like family and always make sure your stay is the best. The motel has the best view of the water. You can always catch a beautiful sunset from their docks. It's just an all around great place to be, and it's affordable!!

Room Tip: Second Floor water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bootski55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monmouth, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We Got married August 27th 2011..the weekend of Irene.. My husband and i were planning on going to Jamacia.. Unfortunately we had to wait till Feb 2012.. I have always wanted to go back to boothbay as I had been when I was younger. I called Captain Fish's Motel and they were very accommodating. When we got to the motel the staff was very kind and courteous. We had a wonderful room and the hotel is right on the water. We were walking distance to many wonderful restaurants. The stay was a great way to spend our honeymoon! I would highly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michele0131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

We got off to a bad start here....we arrived early and went in to reception to check if we could leave the car in the carpark while we walked down into the harbor area. The receptionist told us she would check if our room was ready but was interupted by another member of staff..(maybe manager/supervisor..not in uniform but wearing a multi-coloured jacket) who told us the room was not ready...she didn't even ask which room we had been allocated...and that check in was not until 4pm. We had received no details of check in time at the time of booking. The receptionist then said the room may be ready early and to come back 'after lunch'. Multi-colour jacket then interupted again and said 'maybe 2pm, maybe earlier'. So off we went to explore and returned after lunch at 1.30.
Multi-colour jacket was very rude on our return, telling us the room was not ready and she denied saying that it may be ready at 2pm, maybe earlier. She actually shouted at us!! Anyway, when my husband confronted her and told her that she HAD said 2pm or earlier she checked and surprise, surpris the room was ready after all....
I was dissappointed with the room....it was a bit shabby and typical of a well used motel. The title of this accommodation is "Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn...but it isn't an INN its a MOTEL. We had a harbour view...side-ways-ish. Next door is a lobster cooking factory which makes for a fishy smell most of the time.
To crown this experience I had a small spider drop on me in the bathroom on the first day but took no notice...it was only on our last day I looked up and saw dozens and dozens of tiny spiders on the ceiling, round the light fittings and in the corners of the room. I can only hope that they were full sized and not the very small babies of a much larger mother. I did report it but they had not been removed by the time we checked out..lets hope they have gone now.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gelkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
capn_fishs_hotel, Manager at Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn, responded to this review, 29 October 2011
Thankyou for taking time to review us on Trip Advisor. You are correct, we did get off to a bad start. When you arrived shortly after 11:00 A.M., the clerk that greeted you said that check in was not until 3p.m., but she would check to see if the room was ready. I interjected that none of the rooms were ready yet because we had a full house the prior evening and that guests had until 11:00 to check out. (The only time we have rooms ready before noon is when we have vacancies the prior evening). I then said that the room would probably not be ready until about 2pm. You returned at 1:15 and asked if the room was ready. I checked the board and said that it had not been called in as ready yet. Your husband then exclaimed that you had been waiting two hours to check in and that I promised the room would be ready by 2:00. My reply was "Yes, and it is only 1:15". I apologize for that, I should have found a more professional response. I then went to check the room to see if it was ready. The maid was working in the room and I explained to her that this was your second time to the desk and asked how much longer she would be. She said that she would hurry and would finish in "two minutes." I then returned to the desk and told you the room was ready. We have had many, many compliments on this particular chambermaid. I can only assume that she missed the spider-web because she was hurried. My fault, I should not have rushed her. As far as the web not being taken care of after you reported it, I'm not sure what happened there. When a guest calls the desk to report something, it is recorded on our maintenance log and then either maintenance or housekeeping is sent to correct the problem. I did not see this on the maintenance log, so I aplogize for our oversight. I am sorry that we got off to a bad start. I hope that the rest of your holiday was enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We were recommended by a friend of mine who alway stays here when they come to boothbay, with no reservations we took a chance Ideal location just park ur car and dont come back to use it untill u leave, the rm we had was ok #24 very clean two double beds there was some water stain and some mold on the ceiling and the coffee maker was not working which was not a big deal. they serve a great breakfast only at there restaurant, lg portions with 3 types of home made breads, the staff was very friendly and very helpful,not having seen other rooms I cant compare, for one nite it was fine. we did have a view of the harbor that also overlooked the parking lot still it was very nice

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Cap's Fish's is an excellent choice for a trip to Boothbay. We had room 45, which is a corner room on 2nd floor that has an excellent view of Boothbay Harbor. The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. We had a fridge and table & chairs. Wi-Fi is provided and we had excellent service from our room. We walked to downtown via the walking bridge and then had dinner at The Lobster Dock which is just up the street. The continental breakfast is simple, but sufficient. We would definitely consider staying here again if ever in the area.

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank DebInTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Cap'n Fish's is a very good, convenient location close to the walking bridge to go to downtown Boothbay. It's about a 10 minute walk. The continental breakfast is only coffee, donuts and cereal, but there is a very good restaurant right there next to the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jc435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boothbay Harbor hotels
1.1 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#5 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#6 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rocktide Inn
Rocktide Inn
#9 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.2 mi away
Boothbay Harbor Inn
Boothbay Harbor Inn
#7 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn

Property: Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
Address: 65 Atlantic Ave, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-2131
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
#5 Romantic Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
#9 Family Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn offers comfortable, clean accommodations at a very reasonable price. Many rooms have a water view. All rooms are air conditioned and offer free wi-fi, Flat screen cable tv, in room coffee makers, Refrigerators hairdryers, irons/ironing boards. The lobby offers complimentary coffee all day and a continental breakfast from 7-10:30 daily. Our on site Cafe serves breakfast, lunch and dinner in season. Hotel guests receive discounts on Caap'n Fish's Whale Watch, Puffin Watch and Sightseeing Cruises. The view is spectacular! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HRS and Hotel.de so you can book your Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cap`n Fish`s Waterfront Hotel Boothbay Harbor
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing